Archived
Tenant landlord dispute. Where does she stand? Should we challenge this in small claims court or hire an attorney for the dis
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 03, 2013
It could be worth it for your sister to gather up her documents and go see a local attorney. If money is an issue, Thurston County has a volunteer...
Archived
What's the point of last months rent on a lease?
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 03, 2013
If you paid last month up front then you could not be evicted for failing to pay it. It would be very handy to have proof (receipts) that the last...
Archived
Will there be effect on our 3-day notice to quit issued in Sept 2013 if we issued another 3-day notice to pay & vacate this mo?
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 03, 2013
The no-argument notice here would be a 20-day notice terminating the tenancy. She has to receive this notice on or before the tenth of the month....
Archived
If there is no lease, how does a pro rated last month work?
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 02, 2013
If it was your agreement that rent was due and payable on the first, then arguably you would owe rent for the entire month of October. If your...
Archived
Is it legal in the state of Washington to charge a double security deposit with out really checking my credit.
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 02, 2013
If your landlord's father comes over again, call the police. Seriously. He has no right to show up and do anything, let alone curse you out. A...
Archived
I had a dispute with my landlord over the security deposit she collected when I moved in as I noticed on the front of my lease
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 02, 2013
Having a dispute about your deposit is not a basis to withhold rent. After you move out, you can sue this landlord for failing to follow the law...
Selected as the best answer
Archived
What is the Washington landlord tenant act regarding pet deposit. How much can the landlord charge for pet deposit.
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 02, 2013
A landlord can charge whatever amount he believes the market will bear. There is no requirement that it be reasonable. If he wanted a million...
Archived
What action do I take if money was already taken from my account and I have yet to move in to my apartment.
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 02, 2013
Your question contains some conflicting issues. If you signed a rental agreement, you did not buy the apartment, you are renting it. You cannot be...
Archived
How much notice must a landlord give a tenant to vacate on a month to month lease in wa state?
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on October 02, 2013
If the lease says either party can end the lease on 15 day's notice that is not enforceable. See RCW 59 18 230. Lease terms that are more generous...
Archived
In Washington state after being served a 3 day pay or vacate,and then files with the courts about how long tell must leave
Elizabeth's answer
|
Answered on September 30, 2013
The 3- day is the predicate notice. Three days later the landlord can file and serve the summons and complaint, and the note for hearing and the...
Ad
Transform legal challenges into solutions.
Connect now to review your situation.
The Avvo Rating explained
The Avvo Rating explained