Skip to main content

Jason E Thompson

Criminal defense Attorney at Salem, OR

5.0   16 reviews

Licensed for 21 years

About Jason

Learn Jason’s areas of practice.

Having to defend yourself in an investigation or courtroom is one of the most stressful things that I see individuals have to endure on a regular basis.  Although I recognize I typically only represent one individual, I never lose sight that my representation of that one individual will affect others - - including parents, children, and loved ones.  I never lose sight of the individual, and the fact that that individual has others that care so deeply about that person's future.  

I'll never forget the first time I read To Kill a Mockingbird and the profound impact it had on me as freshman in high school.  I've seen power, I've worked with those that have power, and I've had power.  Yet, throughout all of those experiences, I would rather represent those without it.  As Clarence Darrow once said, and I ascribe to daily:

"I have lived my life, and I have fought my battles, not against the weak and the poor -- anyone can do that -- but against power, against injustice, against oppression, and I have asked no odds from them and I never shall." 

I ask for no odds, but I trust that I can help those who feel like they are helpless.  I will not change social inequalities in a courtroom; but, I can, one individual at a time, defend the powerless to the best of my ability and tip the scales of injustice back in your favor.  

Licensed for 21 years
State OR
Status Active
Acquired 2001
Updated 12/11/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Jason

Thompson Law, LLC

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  16 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Hamda J | May 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend- Honest and Exprienced Attorney
I have had the privileged of having Jason Thompson as an attorney on behalf of my brother’s case. The first day we went to his office we were confused, lost and had no idea where to start about my brothers case. My brother was facing a lot of Measure 11 sex cases and multiple other felons that could easily put him in a life sentence. However, he welcomed us with open-hands and answer all our questions. He is a man of his word, very intelligent, Honest, trustworthy, experienced, responsive, knowledgeable and very straight forward. Jason is the best attorney I have ever worked with because he will tell you the truth of exactly where you stand. THERE IS NO SUPRISES ON HIS WORK. Jason Thompson and his office staff have been beyond generous towards us as a family with their time and their thoughts towards my brother’s case. I can wholeheartedly offer my recommendation of Jason Thompson Law as a trusted source of Legal Counsel that will work hard for you. Jason and his team will put a lot of effort to your case and they are not afraid of going to trail.
Read less
Posted by Rich | March 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly diligent
The best that the Salem, Portland area has to offer! Nobody is ever found innocent but I came about as close as it gets. I was looking at a what could have been a 28 year sentence or effectively a life sentence at my age and I was acquitted... Jason is sharp! All these reviews are spot on. Thank you Jason You’re the man!
Posted by Debbie | July 13, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Attorney ever!
Jason is a top notch attorney. He's expensive but worth every penny. He protected my interests and advised me on my options. He's upfront and honest. He was always there for me. And my problem was not pursued by the court system. I could not have asked for a better Attorney. Thanks Jason!
Posted by Scott | April 19, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding, always one step ahead of the process
I hired Jason to represent me in a serious felony case. In consulting with (interviewing) numerous attorneys, I was most impressed with Mr. Thompson, and pleased by his candor and willingness to speak/work with my family as well as myself. As my legal process unfolded, I felt that I always had access to Jason and that he was always ahead of the game. There were difficult choices to make--deciding whether to fight or negotiate/plead--and I always felt as prepared as possible to evaluate my options. In my case, I ended up pleading guilty to a lesser set of charges, and received a probationary sentence that is extraordinarily light relative to the presumptive sentencing for my charges. This outcome was not the result of some magic on Mr. Thompson's part: he had me working hard and laying the groundwork for a favorable sentence in a comprehensive and systematic way from our very first meeting--long before the decision to pursue favorable sentencing rather than fight all the charges--until the conclusion of the case more than two years later. This is a good representation of what impressed me so much throughout the process. There were no surprises, no questions about what the options were, and no doubt that Jason had thought every available path through to conclusion. Mr. Thompson is not the cheapest attorney you could hire, but it is difficult to put a value on the future he helped secure for me. I could be in prison now, instead I am on probation, home with my family, and heading forward optimistically into the future. If you need representation, hire Jason, listen to him carefully, and do what he tells you to do.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experienced, effective and determined.
Jason Thompson is an incredible Criminal Defense Attorney! My case was handled extremely efficiently, and was completely dismissed before my hearing thanks to Mr. Thompson. He is very knowledgeable, professional, and always on top of things. It’s true what they say, “You get what you pay for”. I originally went with a lower priced attorney and my case was not moving, nor could I ever reach them. Once I made the correct choice in hiring Jason things quickly changed. Jason works morning, noon and night to fight for you. I wouldn’t choose another over him for a defense case. Thank you so much Jason!
Read less
Posted by Antonio J Suarez | March 14, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best criminal defense attorney.
Hello everyone, my Name is Antonio J Suarez, i recently had to support a family member on criminal charges, as Jason Thompson E Thompson was leading our defense team. I am up most great full that we found him, He did a great job fighting for what’s right, I would recommend him to anyone that may have questions or going through any type of criminal problems.
Read less
Posted by Damien | February 24, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding professionalism and performance!
Jason and his legal team excelled across the board, handling all aspects of my case in a thorough, attentive, sensitive, and confident manner. I have yet to experience such deft professionalism from any other attorney from whom I have procured legal assistance in the past. Having prior convictions already, the attorneys I interviewed before meeting Jason did not even mention innocence, they were too transfixed on how we would negotiate our plea with the least amount of prison time, having already decided that there was no other option. Jason listened to what I had to say about my situation, immediately got me working with his highly experienced private investigator, and we were on our way to eliminating and disproving the charges and theories presented by the prosecution. Jason left no stone unturned, and throughout the unfolding situation Jason was always very clear about what he would tell me: what I "needed" to hear, not so much what I "wanted" to hear. Jason, I can't thank you enough. All the charges dropped, case dismissed a day before Christmas, what better present could a guy ask for? When you need the best legal help you can get, when your situation is looking pretty bleak and there's not much hope out there, I am eternally grateful to have found Jason Thompson and been able to secure his help during the most stressful and potentially debilitating set of felonies and misdemeanors I have ever encountered in my life. The very best does not usually come with the least expense, so be prepared to pay for the outstanding services you are about to receive from Jason Thompson. For myself, this was between five and ten years of peace and freedom that I was potentially looking at throwing away incarcerated. If ever I need help again, or anyone I know does, we are definitely going to Jason Thompson, he is the best.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 12, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jd
Jason was a great lawyer, he is not afraid to go to trial and that should not worry you. He is not the cheapest lawyer but he will do what it takes. He will also tell you how it is and Will not try to make you feel good or pamper You, he is a straight shooter. I would recommend him every time in Oregon.
Posted by Graham | March 29, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Measure 11 sex case acquitted and charges dropped.
Jason and Zachary represented me on a multiple Measure 11 sex case facing a 25-50 year prison sentence. His firm came highly recommended from my then current divorce attorney. I retained him and Zach and they went straight to work. Through a thorough investigation and analysis of all the reports and evidence we put our defense together. I also decided to hire Tsongas trial consultants to help us with the case. After a 3 day trial, I was acquitted of 4 counts and the remaining 4 counts resulted in a mistrial due to a hung jury. Those remaining charges were later dismissed by the state without prejudice. Key aspects of Jason and Zachary: Straight forward No sugar coating Made no guarantees Not cheap Intelligent Fights for you Individualized work Good listeners Critical thinkers Attentive
Read less
Posted by Karl | October 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer!!! The right choice if you are in serious trouble
I hired Jason 1 year and 6 months ago to defend me in a measure 11 case. I was being investigated by the police at that time and he guided me through the investigation, eventual indictment, and subsequent trial. He was professional, and respectful to me at all times, he left no rock unturned during the investigation process, and put on an excellent defense. If it was not for Jason I would not be free today
Read less
Posted by sherry | February 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Would highly Recommend
Jason came highly recommended when I needed a criminal defense attorney. I am so thankful for what he had done in my case. He was able to get the charges dropped and my case dismissed. I appreciated that he was always in communication with me during this process. He is a very competent attorney who is always thinking ahead. When you find yourself in need of a defense attorney, you want someone who is aggressive and that is what I found in Jason. Thanks for all your hard work!
Read less
Posted by Robert | January 16, 2015
A great choice
A good person who does what he says and tells you how it is. He was highly recommend by other attorneys and lives up to his excellent reputation. He was always 10 steps ahead with the best plan possible. He may not be the cheapest and did not always tell me what I wanted to hear. I did not want the cheapest, and got straight forward answers. He put in extra time and effort to prove his worth, with great success. I am thankful to of had him represent me. Thank you Jason, Robert L
Read less
Posted by TQF | January 14, 2014
" I will do my best. I can guarantee that. I just can't guarantee any results" By Jason E. Thompson
After working with Mr. Thompson, and I finding out that he was a successful junior tennis player. With that disciplined background, I knew he would be a very tenacious attorney. Mr. Thompson is a man with passion for his work and I knew he would give his very best effort for my case.
Posted by Justin | December 17, 2013
Highly recommended
During the scariest time of my life, I was put into a situation where I required the help of a criminal defense attorney. I was referred to Jason Thompson, a criminal defense attorney in Salem, Oregon.  All of this took place on a Firday afternoon; we were quoted the cost of retaining his services and scheduled our first meeting the very next day. Although the cost of his services seemed high; we knew we needed the best and knowing what was at stake, signed a retainer and  Mr. Thompson said he would meet with his client the same weekend.  At first, all I wanted was for this nightmare to be over with as quickly as possible.  Mr. Thompson made it very clear that time and effort would be curticial.  Anytime we approached Mr. Thompson with a question regarding what to expect or the process; he did not set unrealistic expectations or sugar coat infomration for anyone’s benefit.  Through the months and many meetings, Mr. Thompson continued to prove he is the expert and even when his motions were considered a long shot; he never gave up.  These proved to help the case and Mr. Thompson continued to be very diligent and organized in his case review.  As expected, Mr. Thompson works on more than one case at a time; however, as his client, you would never know.  When he is working for you; he is focused and driven to help you achieve the best outcome for your situation. Even at a time when it feels like there is nothing more to give, Mr. Thompson does not rest, he continues to review the case and ensure all avenues are persued. Mr. Thompson is always direct; this is sometimes a hard to accept but when it came time for the case to come to an end, there were no surprises.  Overall, after all the meetings, court appearances, unknown outcomes; looking back at the attorney hired without knowing his work ethic, tusting our lives in his hands, the best possible criminal defense attorney helped provide an end to the nightmare. If I was ever asked to recommend a criminal defense attorney to anyone, it would be without reservation: Mr. Jason Thompson. The cost may be high; but when everything is at stake, you want someone you can trust! That man is Jason Thompson.
Read less
Posted by Phil | February 20, 2013
excellent attorney
He represented me recently in a case that was eventually dismissed. Because of his hard work, tenacity, and excellent legal tactics I was able to get true justice accomplished. He is an outstanding attorney worth every penny.
Posted by Jon | January 18, 2012
The Greatest Attorney
Jason Thompson is worth every penny! We hired Mr.Thompson for a measure 11 case and he went above and beyond the call of duty. My family and I were most impressed with his skills and attentiveness to our case. He is very personable and caring. He makes you feel like you are the only case he is working on. He and his staff do great work investigating and digging for facts, and in our case getting a full acquittal! My family and I highly recommend Jason Thompson for any situation you may need an attorney for.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Ferder Casebeer French & Thompson, LLP
  • 2007 - Present
  • Deputy District Attorney
  • Marion County District Attorney's Office
  • 2003 - 2003
  • Associate
  • Ferder Casebeer & French, LLP
  • 2003 - 2007
  • Deputy District Attorney
  • Multnomah County District Attorney's Office
  • 2002 - 2002
  • Clerk
  • Oregon Supreme Court
  • 2001 - 2002
View all work experience

Education

  • Willamette University College of Law
  • Doctor of Jurisprudence - JD
  • 2001
  • Willamette University Atkinson School of Management
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • 2001
  • University of California - Los Angeles
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1997

Legal Cases

  • Durbin v. Persson
  • In a post-conviction proceeding, Mr. Thompson successfully sought and obtained a reversal of Mr. Durbin's conviction based on ineffective and inadequate assistance of trial counsel.
  • State v. Jackson, Marion County Case No. 13C41223
  • Not Guilty of All 15 Counts
  • State v. Wood, 253 Or App 97 (2012)
  • Mr. Thompson successfully obtained a reversal on appeal of Mr. Wood's conviction.

Associations

  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Lifetime member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Lifetime Member
  • 2003 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Preeminent 4.7 out of 5
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2015
  • Mentor of the Year
  • Willamette University College of Law
  • 2012
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2010
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Criminal Justice Class
  • Appellate and Collateral Remedies
  • 2016

Attorney endorsements

Received (5)
Given (0)
Endorse Jason
Sex crime Attorney | Feb 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jason is simply one of the best defense lawyers in Oregon. He's hardworking, meticulous, and thoughtful. He's who'd I'd hire if my life were on the line."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 04
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Jason is a great criminal law attorney. I have been opposing counsel in many cases and always found him to be sharp, reasonable, and an excellent advocate in writing and oral argument."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jason is a very smart and skilled lawyer. We frequently talk about developments in the law and new approaches to old problems. I always find him to be knowledgeable and prepared to raise the bar high. I wholeheartedly endorse Jason."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Jason. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jason is an exceptional criminal defense attorney. I refer all my clients and friends to him for criminal defense work. He is diligent, effective, and compassionate. I recommend Jason."
This attorney hasn't created any attorney endorsements recently on Avvo.

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Salem Criminal defense Lawyer Jason E Thompson
Jason E Thompson
Criminal defense Attorney
Salem, OR
Licensed for 21 years