What are the odds of "disorderly conduct" charges getting dismissed when it was self defense and it was 2 people attacking me?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 25, 2013
I'd say you're dang lucky it was filed as a Class C disorderly and not a Class A assault. Chances are slim it will be dismissed unless you set it...
What is the punishment for being drunk and pulling out a knife in an argument and cutting someones hand?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 25, 2013
This is a second degree felony Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon. The range of punishment is 2-20 years in prison. Because of the deadly...
Archived
Will I be given jail time on the second time going to the "Initial Appearance"? (Or what should i expect to happen)
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
Only if you agree to plea to jail time. You need a defense attorney handling this. Most offer free consultations. I'd start calling around as soon...
Have any you negotiated with Walmart to drop charges for theft under 50?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
You don't negotiate with Walmart. You negotiate with the city prosecutor. If you set the case for trial, they will likely send a loss prevention...
Archived
We have 3 options for case: 1) plea deal -guilty w/ 2 yrs straight probation or 2) 5 yrs def. adjudication Or 3) jury trial ?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
Well, if he's not wanting to contest guilt at trial and he's not wanting a conviction, then deferred probation is his only option. The only reason...
Archived
I want to know if I can purchase a shotgun for home defense? If not can my wife if I'm living in the same house?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
Federal law is always going to prevent you from possessing a firearm. State law allows you to possess a firearm in your home only. I know this...
Archived
How long does the state of Texas have to indict me on a felony charge of "intoxicated assult?"
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
At least three years. The DA won't present the case to the grand jury until the blood labs are back. This can take several months. How long...
Archived
What value does stolen property have to be in Texas to be charged with a felony theft charge?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
It is up to the State to prove the value is over $1,500, which is the minimum amount for a felony. His defense attorney may be able to get the case...
Archived
How do i ask the judge to remove what im being accused of off my recored if found innocent?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
If you are found not guilty at trial or you case is dismissed outright (not upon the completion of deferred probation), you will be eligible to...
Archived
Can a guy be in violation of probation prior to start of probation, because he committed a crime in Ga. before Texas court-date?
Macy's answer
|
Answered on March 24, 2013
Offenses that occur prior to being placed on probation are not a violation of probation.
Ad
Transform legal challenges into solutions.
Connect now to review your situation.
The Avvo Rating explained
The Avvo Rating explained