Archived
Am I able to obtain a public defender while I appear in court for 2nd DUI and driving on a suspended license?
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
You are entitled to a public defender if two things are true: (1) you face possible jail time, and (2) you cannot afford to hire an attorney. If...
I have a CDL are the dui laws different for me when driving my personal vehicle
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
In most states, the lower BAC applies only when driving a commercial vehicle. However, the DUI laws are certainly different for CDL holders as you...
Archived
23 year old drug abuse conviction in Ohio. Class e felony
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
Was this a federal case or a state case? The feds have lettered classes for felonies with Class E being the lowest felony. The state law in Ohio...
Archived
I got charged with a misdemeanor in Michigan for driving without license, I have no record and am only 16. Will I go to jail?
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
That is extremely unlikely. I do suggest you get an attorney though as you may be facing some serious consequences related your ability to get a...
Archived
I am applying for US Citizenship
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
This really isn't worth the risk of doing it on your own. You should get an immigration attorney.
Does the diversion program drug test for unrelated drug purposes?
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
It's always a possibility, but as it is up to the probation officer, we can't tell you. Best to get clean now.
Archived
Is it legal for a court to try a defendant for homicide when the death certificates indicates that the death was accidental?
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
In general, voluntary intoxication is not accepted as a defense against the state of mind element of an offense. Also, not all homicide offenses...
How long can you be held on a capias warrant in columbus ohio?
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
When a person is arrested on a probation violation, the PO has 3 days to inform his or her superior so that the court can be made aware of the...
Archived
Will an aggravated menacing from getting a CCW permit? Same question for 2006
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
The Sheriff's department has broad discretion in issuing those permits, an agg. men charge could certainly be an issue. Apply and answer all the...
Archived
I just received my second OVI in 7 years. What punishment am i looking at? Any suggestions on what I should do?
Matthew's answer
|
Answered on June 18, 2015
You're lucky in one sense. The enhancement period is 6 years, so the minimums won't go up. The actual sentence, however may increase. You should...
Ad
Transform legal challenges into solutions.
Connect now to review your situation.
The Avvo Rating explained
The Avvo Rating explained