Does FL law stand behind Status 83.49 (3) which says Landlord may claim a security deposit after sending a certified mail?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 28, 2023
You have a case for failure to comply with 83.49(3) but landlords having fewer than 5 individual dwelling units are not required to advise where...
Can I be evicted from my house that I'm renting because the landlord decided to sell ?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 28, 2023
You can not be required to vacate the premises simply because the owner wants to sell the property--unless there is a provision in a written lease...
What are my chances of getting evicted for non payment of rent if I pay the court within the five day period
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 27, 2023
Unfortunately, the chances are EXCELLENT that you will be evicted. The payment of money to the Clerk only allows you to present a defense. You...
What can I do about an old credit card debt if they are going to take judgment against me & my husband and his name is not on ?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 27, 2023
Many signs that it is a scam: 1) a phone call not a letter; 2) threatening to take one's primary residence [which is prohibited in Florida]; 3)...
What is length of time for landlord to give tenant on a month to month lease, to move out?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 27, 2023
Unless you have a WRITTEN lease requiring more notice, the state law of 30 days is all that is required. The 60 days notice you received is more...
What are the risks if I withhold rent?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 27, 2023
If you withhold rent you are likely to have an eviction filed against you, which will haunt you for a long, long time if a potential new landlord...
Can i get a copy of my parenting plan?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 26, 2023
Yes, you can, several ways, through the Clerk's office. You can go in person, or, by registering with the Clerk's office, you can obtain the...
How long after a car repo can I be sued for?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 22, 2023
Has all the earmarkings of a SCAM. You are correct that in Florida the statute of limitations is 5 years from the date of a default on a written...
Statute of limitations for debt which state will apply if I moved ?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 22, 2023
Ordinarily, I agree with Mr. Selik's responses, but, unfortunately, not today.
He is partly correct--moving does not affect a statute of...
Can a person be charged a late fee after giving a deposit?
Jeffrey's answer
|
Answered on July 22, 2023
The financing document will state whether or not a late fee can be charged. There is no statute that prohibits late fees.