Christine Elizabeth Pejot’s Answers

Christine Elizabeth Pejot

Land O Lakes attorney.

Contributor Level 9
  1. How do you handle a lying minor witness and what is the chance this gets thrown out of court?

    Answered about 6 years ago.

    1. Craig A. Epifanio
    2. Christine Elizabeth Pejot
    2 lawyer answers

    The outcome of your case depends upon several variables, many of which are revealed when given the opportunity to review the evidence, including witness statements. If you are charged with a felony, your attorney would likely schedule key witnesses for deposition. This gives the attorney the opportunity to directly confront each witness with questions about the case. Oftentimes, many facts come out in depostion, paving the way for a reasonable resolution of the charge(s) against you. If...

  2. My husband was attacked by my ex in FL. What steps should we take now?

    Answered about 6 years ago.

    1. Dominick Christopher Russo
    2. Christine Elizabeth Pejot
    3. Ronald Anthony Sarno
    3 lawyer answers

    You should contact the Tarpon Springs Police Deparment to report the incident. If you or your husband fear that your ex may attempt another attack, you also have the option to seek an injunction (restraining order) in civil court. A temporary restraining order would be issued, then your case would be set before a judge who will determine if and/or how long the restraining order will take effect.

  3. Blackmail

    Answered about 6 years ago.

    1. Don Waggoner
    2. Christine Elizabeth Pejot
    2 lawyer answers

    Report your issue to the Pasco County Sheriff's office.

  4. Is it legal in Florida to only cut some employees pay and not all employees?

    Answered about 6 years ago.

    1. Christine Elizabeth Pejot
    2. Donna Marie Ballman
    2 lawyer answers

    Pay cuts are generally considered legitimate business decisions, unless the affected employees were targeted because they belong to a protected class under state or federal law. If the employees are members of a protected class under state or federal law, such as gender, then there may be a claim for unlawuful discrimination. If an employee believes that he or she has been unlawfully discriminated against, the employee may file a charge of discrimination with the Equal Employment Opportunity...

  5. My employer cut my pay from $ 8 per hour to $ 6.50.. what can i do. i

    Answered about 6 years ago.

    1. Christine Elizabeth Pejot
    1 lawyer answer

    Effective January 1, 2009, the Florida minimum wage is $7.21 per hour. Failure to pay at that rate would be a violation of state law. Also, the rate stated in your question does not meet federal minimum wage requirements, currently set at $6.55/hour. With respect to overtime, generally, any hours worked over 40, subject to limited exceptions, must be paid at a rate one and one half the regular pay rate. The size of the employer is not relevant. Regarding a change in pay rate, an...