Skip to main content
Patrick Joseph Cronin

Patrick Cronin’s Answers

40 total

  • Do I need a personal injury attorney

    Went through taco bell drive thru ordered my daughter nachos and u can guess it she started screaming I quickly wiped the spilled nacho cheese of her thigh and saw blister went directly to an urgent care she received second degree burns and refuse...

    Patrick’s Answer

    Yes, your daughter has a claim for her injuries and damages resulting from this burn. This is based on the information you provided. Hopefully, Taco Bell's insurer or risk department will contact you to attempt to resolve this claim. If not, you may need to hire an attorney depending upon how your daughter recovers and how extensive her medical bills become.

    See question 
  • Financial responsibility law in WA applies to only uninsured or it applies to under insured as well?

    Just wondering if one's driving license can be suspended if he/she is under insured or it applies only to uninsured drivers?

    Patrick’s Answer

    No. You just need to have the minimum liability limits set forth in RCW 46.29.

    See question 
  • Do I need to pay PIP for auto accident injury?

    I had an auto accident and it was other driver's fault. i have $my own PIP insurance about $10,000 i want to know if i use my PIP insurance then do i need to pay back when i get a settlement from fault insurance company? or i don't have to pay ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    The answers here should all be helpful to you. You should request a copy of your insurance policy with all endorsements and then schedule an appointment with an attorney to review this question. The attorney can read your policy and give you the proper advice.

    See question 
  • Can i be sued in small claims court to an accident by the owner of the truck and not the driver who was underage

    The Mother is suing and will not turn into her insurance. Says she doesn't want her insurance going up. I am not sure he was even on her insurance. The amount she is suing for will totally replace the truck when the damage to my care was worse.

    Patrick’s Answer

    If the mother is the owner of the vehicle, then she can sue you in small claims court for property damages to her vehicle.

    See question 
  • UM setoff under Washington law.

    I had a car accident and I have UM. The UM carrier paid me my policy limit of $10,000. Does UM create a setoff against other UM recoveries? My family has another UM policy that has not paid me yet.

    Patrick’s Answer

    There is not enough detail in your question to help you. But, the way underinsured/uninsured insurance policies work in Washington is that the UIM/UM insurer is entitled to set off the amount of the liability insurance of the at fault party against any UIM/UM recovery up to the policy limits. The way this works is that if the at fault party did not have insurance, then there is no offset. However, if that person had any liability insurance (the minimum required in Washington is $25,000 for bodily injury) then that amount is credited against your total provable damages. Washington requires insurers to offer UIM insurance in the amount of the liability insurance limits. So, the minimum UM/UIM insurance policy in Washington is $25,000. If you received $10,000 from your UM/UIM insurer, then that sounds to me like they have evaluated your claim as limited to that amount. Your question involves many more factors, such as an offset fro personal injury protection benefits and the ability of your own insurer to agree not to "stack" policies limits with another insurer. If you have more questions you should contact a lawyer for advice.

    See question 
  • I met an accident in Bellevue as pedestrian while a Car hit me. I need some info before filing a case.

    I met an accident in Bellevue three weeks before while crossing the road. I was pedestrian and one Car hit me. After the accident, i got hospitalized and discharged after one day. I had some head injuries and fracture in right ankle. I a...

    Patrick’s Answer

    If you were actually within a marked crosswalk when you were struck, the law favors you. There can be issues of your own comparative fault if you had reason to know that the vehicle that hit you was not going to stop and if you then failed to protect yourself in some manner. The sum of the advice on this topic by lawyers is for you to meet with a lawyer experienced in this type of case sooner, rather than later. Please note that If the there was insurance on the vehicle that hit you with personal injury protection coverage, then you would have insurance that would pay for your medical bills regardless of any allegations of fault by you. I would be happy to discuss this and other issues with you.

    See question 
  • I was in a car accident in December of 2012 in Oregon and my lawyer recently dropped me and now I need more help.

    My husband and I were in a car accident where we were hit by a semi truck. I am done with my treatment now, but recently my Lawyer I had dropped me and left me to scramble. I need to know what my options are and what I need to do with or without...

    Patrick’s Answer

    You should immediately seek to hire another attorney. You should also request that your prior attorney give you a complete copy of your file and your original documents. Please be aware that if this accident occurred in Washington State, then you have 3 years from the date of the accident to commence a lawsuit. If you do not do that, your claim will be barred by the law.

    See question 
  • I would like to know if you think I have a valid claim for a slip and fall accident.

    I was leaving a motorsports store there are two steps at the entry way top step appears to be of normal riser approximately 7 inches the second step was about 3 inches at one end and 1 and one half at the other end no hand rails or caution signs. ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    You may have a claim for negligence against the business. The business owes duties to its customers to keep the condition of the premises in a reasonably safe condition or to warn customers about dangerous conditions if it is expected the customer will not discover the condition. So, you probably have a valid claim. Liability will need to be established by an expert who can testify that the conditions were dangerous. This is relatively complicated enough that you should hire an attorney if you are going to pursue a claim. If this occurred in Washington stare, then you have three years from the date of the incident to commence a formal legal action (lawsuit) against the business. If you do not commence a legal action within three years, you will legally be barred from doing so. If you haven't doe so already, you should notify the business about what happened and attempt to find out if they are insured and if so, the name of their insurer. Then you can contact the insurer to report the incident and make a claim..

    See question 
  • How is deminished car value determined?

    I was in an accident that was not my fault and I have a car that is brand new (less than 5 months old). AllState has agreed to pay but they haven't made an offer yet but it's expected to be tomorrow. Help!

    Patrick’s Answer

    The best way to establish your claim for diminished value is to get a written estimate/opinion of value from one or more new car dealers. Ask them to calculate the value of this car with the repaired damages as compared to the same vehicle with no repaired damages. Then, provide that to AllState as part of your claim.

    See question 
  • A foot doctor cast my broken ankle crooked what can i do about it.

    I fell broke my ankle the smallest bone in my ankle was broken in stead of doing surgery he cast my ankle crooked it healed crooked causing me to walk to the side and be in pain. I have spoke to my primary doctor about having it re-broken to ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    You should definitely meet with one or more attorneys in your area about your potential claim. Based on what you state in your post, you have a claim for medical malpractice in Washington. That claim is subject to a 3 year statute or limitations, which means you must commence a lawsuit within 3 years from the date the doctor cast your ankle. There are exceptions to the 3 year statute that you can discuss with an attorney. You should meet with a Seattle area attorney who practices in the area of medical malpractice as soon as possible.

    See question