Skip to main content
Barbara Ann Bowden
Avvo
Pro

Barbara Bowden’s Answers

18 total


  • Is the registered owner required by law to identify the driver of their car in a camera citation situation ?

    does the court hold the registered owner responsible if the owner cannot , or will not, identify another person as driver?

    Barbara’s Answer

    There is a presumption that the registered owner was driving. It seems the court shifts the burden to the driver to show you were not the driver. There are other ways to show you were not driving.... I would get an attorney on this matter. In answer to your questions, you need not tell WHO was driving. You may have to swear under the penalty of perjury you were not driving, but I don't believe you have to identify the driver.

    See question 
  • Can I contest a speeding ticket for allegedly going 56 in a 30 MPH zone?

    Is there any way I can get this ticket reduced since it's my third traffic violation this year?

    Barbara’s Answer

    An attorney can challenge your speeding ticket. The defenses that are available apply whether you are going 2 mph over v. 26 mph over the limit. Hire an attorney who regularly handles speeding tickets and they can evaluate your case and explore options with you.

    See question 
  • I have probation payments due the 7th of the month and it falls on a sunday, if i pay the following day am i in violation?

    the courts are closed and it is in seattle municipal and i am afraid of a warrant being placed

    Barbara’s Answer

    I am sure you will be ok if you pay on Monday. Go in, in person and ask when you make your payment so there are no surprises.

    See question 
  • I just received a second DUI. My first was 6 years, 10 months ago. Am I close enough to the 7 year mark?

    My first was December 2005. I was reading online that 7 years is the time frame to be considered under the 1st offense frame. Am I close enough or is it to the date? I also did not receive any paperwork, nor was I told what my BAC was.

    Barbara’s Answer

    Incident date to incident date. Even though the mandatory minimums go up significantly for a second offense, you may be eligible for a deferred prosecution. You need to contact an attorney as soon as possible to explore options available to you. Often times, even with a second offense, there may be issues with the case and you may be able to get a reduction. An experienced dui attorney can evaluate your situation and your case with you.

    See question 
  • DUI in Idaho with a withheld judgement, live in WA but WA is also suspending my license.

    I got a withheld judgment for a Dui in the state of Idaho and my license was suspended there and I'm paying fines, now got a letter from WA DMV supending my license even though i haven't been officially convicted of the DUI. Is there anyway to av...

    Barbara’s Answer

    You may be eligible to obtain an ignition interlock license. You need to contact Department of Licensing immediately because even though you got a "withheld Judgment", it sounds as though it was reported to the State of Washington as a conviction. Call Customer Service at 360 902 3900 and find out if the DUI was reported. Then get a hold of the Idaho court or the Attorney who represented you there and find out if the conviction was to be reported. If it wasn't to be reported, Idaho needs to send a records correction to washington Department of Licensing.

    See question 
  • I have a speeding ticket (60 in a 45) with an aggressive driving , failure to signal charge. What is my best course of action?

    The motorcycle officer pulls me over, strides up to my vehicle & says, "Let me guess... you don't have a license because YOU ARE A TERRIBLE DRIVER!" I promptly hand over my license, registration & by accident, an expired proof of insurance. He th...

    Barbara’s Answer

    In all walks of life there are good and bad. Some officers are nice and professional and others are not. I would hire an attorney. There are often defenses to tickets and mistakes made by the officer. What an attorney looks for are things such as a defective radar certificate, the officer failing to include his qualifications, etc. Get yourself an attorney.

    See question 
  • Cops came to my house but did not cite or arrest me. Can they do it later?

    They received a 911 call identifying my car as drunk driving, when they came to my home, my car was running but I was in the house asleep.

    Barbara’s Answer

    It will depend on how much evidence the officers were able to obtain. It is unclear if you talked to the officer, but unless someone smelled alcohol on you or had some personal observations of intoxication, I don't think they could prove this charge. There is case law out there that says a contact based on a anonomous tip, without coroboration isn't grounds to stop. More information is needed to answer this question.

    See question 
  • Speeding ticket by photo radar in Longview, WA. American Traffic Solutions equipment used. Driver not visible any defense?

    How can I get daily, weekly, yearly totals for speeding tickets for the particular camera? How about dismissals regarding the camera? Are their city vehicle exemptions for the zone including public transit?(select enforcement). Am I able to have ...

    Barbara’s Answer

    Unfortunately as the registered owner of the vehicle, you are the presumed offender. A photo ticket however is treated as a parking ticket and does not go on your record. There are numerous defenses to these tickets and all the court seem to be handling them differently. I would find an attorney that handles photo tickets in your area and ask their opinion. If you can't afford an attorney for a $144.00 ticket, go sit in court when they do photo tickets and listen to the attorneys to find what defenses are getting these tickets dismissed.

    See question 
  • Will I receive a DUI?

    I was involved in a crash more than two months ago where my BAC was possibly below the legal limit. I received an 'inattention to driving' ticket and my license has been suspended. Should I be expecting a late DWI charge or have I gotten by with j...

    Barbara’s Answer

    If your license got suspended because of the crash, I am assuming you had a bac in excess of the legal limit. If you are over 21 that would be .08 or higher. It is unclear if this was a blood or breath case. I would get a hold of department of licensing immediately and try to figure out why you were suspended. If you have a correct address on your license, you should have been notified of the suspension. You can call customer service at department of licensing at 360 902 3900. Even if you are under the legal limit, you can still get a dui. There are two prongs to a dui and either one can result in you receiving a dui. One is you blew .08 or higher within 2 hours of driving and the other is that your ability to operate a motor vehicle was affected to an appreciable degree by the alcohol you consumed. You may want to call the court in the jurisdiction you received you dui in and see if anything has been filed.

    See question 
  • My expired DL in WA was suspended for DUI in Idaho. Now ID won't renew because expired WA suspension. May I surrender WA one?

    I took classes and paid all fees in Idaho following DUI, and had Idaho drivers license returned and unsuspended. When I went to renew my ID license before my birthday, they told me I couldn't because my WA license (which was expired for several y...

    Barbara’s Answer

    I am assuming you live in Washington now and at the time of your suspension you had an idaho license. I would call customer service in washington at 360 902 3900 and make sure they have the information that you are now clear in the state of Idaho. Washington Department of licensing has an out of state desk who can coordinate with the two states. It sounds like it is just a matter of having Idaho send a clearance letter assuming there is nothing different suspending you in washington. Please feel free to call us and we may be able to clear this up with a few phone calls. Dealing with Department of licensing can be very frustrating, even when you are an attorney.

    See question