Nicole Hankins’s Answers

Nicole Hankins

Wenatchee Divorce / Separation Lawyer.

Contributor Level 5
  1. Out of state DWI. What gets reported to my home state? What are the effects on my CDL?

    Answered 10 months ago.

    1. Andrew C Huff
    2. Patrick Owen Earl
    3. Nicole Hankins
    4. Derek Anthony Patrin
    4 lawyer answers

    It would certainly depend on how your case actually resolved in Maryland and also whether or not Maryland shares DOL reciprocity with WA. There are many states that do not mutually share DOL information with each other and if that's the case, you might be ok. If they do have reciprocity and WA elects to suspend your CDL, you would be suspended for 1 year that can be reinstated after that year is over but you will likely need to be retested before they will reinstate.

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. Is there legal liability for being too tired to drive?

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Adam Joseph Yanasak
    2. James J White
    3. Vitaliy Kertchen
    4. Nicole Hankins
    5. Patrick Owen Earl
    5 lawyer answers

    The future of where your father-in-law's case will end up largely depends on the results of the toxicology report. I have seen many cases where the toxicology reports end up with trace amounts of prescription medication and the client is still charged with a DUI. A prosecutor's charging standards are based on how an average person would react to a medication they had never been on before and potential side effects. I have RARELY seen a prosecutor or law enforcement investigate how long the...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Do i have to submit an application for an ignition interlock license

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Edward A Nelson
    2. David Christopher Mason
    3. Andrew Perry Melton
    4. Nicole Hankins
    5. Patrick Owen Earl
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    While your license suspension may be over which would require the ignition interlock license, you will still likely have a device requirement as a condition of your deferred prosecution. Your license is not considered suspended if you have paid any other additional fines for other cases but you will have the device requirement for a minimum of what usually ends up being a 1 year under the deferred prosecution.

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. Second dui in wa State I went to defferd can I get cdl lic

    Answered about 1 year ago.

    1. Patrick Owen Earl
    2. Nicole Hankins
    3. Grover Christopher Collins
    4. Jasen Bodie Nielsen
    4 lawyer answers

    Generally speaking in WA, a first time DUI will disqualify you from getting or keeping your CDL for 1 year unless action was not taken by DOL on the first DUI. If you were transporting hazardous materials the first suspension would be for 3 years. A second DUI conviction or sustained action by DOL or entry into a Deferred Prosecution result in a lifetime disqualification. Assuming you resolved your case by way of a Deferred Prosecution, a DP will still generally require the DOL to disqualify...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Should you always call the police after a car accident?

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Steven L Shaw
    2. Joseph C Rome
    3. Chong Hae Ye
    4. Jacob Brian Smith
    5. Diana Nicole Ruff
    6. ···
    11 lawyer answers

    Often times in these types of scenarios if your insurance company elects to pay for your damages then your insurance company will do the majority of the leg work to collect from the at-fault person's insurance company. Sometimes the insurance company will even submit information to the Department of Licensing indicating that they have a claim against a particular individual that may result in a suspension of their driving privilege especially since they handed over their insurance information....

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. How to get a speeding ticket discharged/differed? As to not go on record.

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Nicole Hankins
    2. Chong Hae Ye
    3. Vitaliy Kertchen
    3 lawyer answers

    Speeding too fast for conditions can be a tricky infraction to fight on your own and will likely require an experienced traffic attorney to get dismissed outright. However, a person does have the option of seeking one deferral on both a non-moving and moving infraction once every 7 years. An attorney can see if either of those are an option for you and whether or not your son has a good case based on what the police affidavit says and any deficiencies that might be in the report. Many...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. I was just charged again with a dui a month after my first. We are currently fighting the first to be dropped. what am i facing?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Nicole Hankins
    2. Teresa Lynn Border
    2 lawyer answers

    I've had multiple clients recently who are in a similar predicament. Every case is very different and it would be very prudent for you to discuss this with an attorney in a consultation. Based on the limited information you have provided I can tell you that how your first DUI case resolves will have an enormous impact on how the second will resolve. It's somewhat of a domino effect. If you are convicted on the 1st DUI, and subsequently convicted on the second as well, you will be looking...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. Can I get my property back if my case was exhanerated till further investigation

    Answered 9 months ago.

    1. Aaron J Nielson
    2. Nicole Hankins
    3. Jeffrey W Holmes
    3 lawyer answers

    It certainly depends on more factors than you have listed here. But here are some initial thoughts: Your case may be in a status called "No Charges Filed - Pending." Most prosecutors refer to it as NCFP'd. This means that your case has temporarily being held by the prosecutor so they continue investigating because they need more information. This usually means that your case has not been formally charged. That being said, if the property they are holding is considered part of the "...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  9. Why is a "physical control" showing up on a background report when a deferred prosecution was granted?

    Answered 10 months ago.

    1. Vitaliy Kertchen
    2. Thuong-Tri Nguyen
    3. Nicole Hankins
    3 lawyer answers

    Generally, the legislature created the Deferred Prosection (DP) route to allow people to seek treatment as opposed to going to jail, provided that they complete the program. After the 5 years are over, the agreement is that the second DUI charge gets "dismissed." It does not immediately go off your record and generally does not. Depending on how thorough the background check is they may be able to see not only her record for convictions but her arrest records as well. DUI's are one of very...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  10. If my friend was sentenced to 10days in Spokane county jail, for a misdemeanor, will he do the full 10days, or 1/3 of it?

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Natalie Lynn Durflinger
    2. Nicole Hankins
    3. Patrick Owen Earl
    3 lawyer answers

    Judges tend not to be pleased when people do not report for their jail dates. Primarily because they have been given an opportunity to get their affairs in order once previously on their promise that they would show up. Sometimes if a person has a genuinely good reason for failing to report the judge may show leniency; however, if there is not and it has been a substantial amount of time that the warrant has been outstanding the judge may impose additional sanction, meaning more jail time....

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer