Skip to main content
Stan Glisson
Avvo
Pro

Stan Glisson’s Answers

213 total


  • Is there any law against sexual talk with a minor online? not asking her to have sex, just role play sex online.

    a girl on a social website would not stop harrassing me to be her online boy friend and i told her i am 18 and she is 15. she threaten suicide and would not stop messaging me and cursing at me. i reported her but she just made a new account everyt...

    Stan’s Answer

    Yes, very clearly a crime. Specifically, Communication with a Minor for Immoral Sexual Purpose. It is a sex offense, and carries very unpleasant penalties if there is a conviction.
    My advice is that you get to a lawyer's office quickly.

    See question 
  • Fugitive from Justice?

    My niece took her son out of state without permission from the other parent and has now been arrested and charged with fugitive from justice, does that mean that she had another warrant from our state or is it from taking him from our state?

    Stan’s Answer

    We could be mixing up terms here, hard to tell without more information. But a fugitive charge would normally allege that there is a warrant in a state other than the one the defendant is in.
    In WA, the defendant can be held on bail for up to 90 days while the two states coordinate the return of the defendant. The defendant can also stipulate to the validity of the warrant and get sent back sooner.

    See question 
  • Is it possible to change a guilty plea after I was made promises that were untrue by my public defender?

    I plead guilty to a DUI charge that I was going to take to trial. When presented with the deal, my public defender promised me that I would no longer have to be on DOC supervision and that I would not be sent to Hawaii for violation of my intersta...

    Stan’s Answer

    It is possible. Talk to a lawyer as soon as possible, because withdrawal of the plea may be time limited. State and federal law require that an accused person be fully informed about consequences of a plea, and failure to provide that information may allow withdrawal of the plea.

    See question 
  • Is there any way a judge would drop the manditory 30 day jail for a dwi probation violation?

    i got a dwi back in dec 2010. Got sober on my own last year. I attended outpatent at Agape. I graduated. I had 11 months before I relapsed. I still angry with a lot of resentments from my childhood until my adulthood. I was beaten by my mom, ...

    Stan’s Answer

    Waive? Probably not. But in certain circumstances, a judge can convert the jail to an alternative, such as home monitoring or even credit for time in an inpatient facility.
    I would be happy to discuss this with you if you want to call or email.
    stan@glissonmorris.com
    360.519.3500

    See question 
  • In the State of Washington can 16.52.205 (animal cruelty in the first degree) be vacated after probation and number of years?

    Arrested and plead guilty to 16.52.205 at 18 years old. 74 days in jail and two years probation which was completed October 2014. Can this be vacated from my adult record? If so, how and when?

    Stan’s Answer

    I don't see why not. It's a class C, eligible after 5 years from time of discharge from probation. Make sure all the court's costs / fines / restitution is paid, the 5 year clock can't start until all requirements are met.
    http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.94A.640

    See question 
  • Whats the likelihood my ex girlfriend will be let out of jail today on her own?

    Arrested yesterday in WA state for unlawful imprisonment DV and interfering with someones attemtps to make a 911 call. She has no prior arrests or convictions of any kind.

    Stan’s Answer

    I would say for sure that the prosecution will ask that bail be required, it is then up to the judge. With what you have described, she SHOULD be released without posting bail. But depending on the facts of the allegations, judges commonly find that the defendant is a risk to be released and require bail. Almost certainly there will be other conditions of release that impact where she can be, who she can be with, etc.

    See question 
  • If one has been charged with a crime and the charge is sent to a different county how can one assure it is closed?

    I was charged with breaking a protection order by going to my local courthouse to research a case I was involved in. The charge was dropped by the prosecutor but transferred to a next door County's prosecutor according to my public defender attorn...

    Stan’s Answer

    Normally only the county prosecutor where the act took place has any authority to bring a charge. So if the incident happened in Jefferson County, for example, only the Jefferson County prosecutor would have any interest in it. However if they have a conflict of interest, then they can refer the case to a neighboring county to have it reviewed. I would probably call your public defender and ask how you can follow up and make sure there isn't a charge coming. Or you could hire a local lawyer to do the same thing.
    You of course can call the two prosecutors' offices yourself, they should be able to tell you if they have a file on you that is still being reviewed or considered for charging.

    See question 
  • I got caught shoplifting in washington state. It was under $25. Will I go to jail?

    I have a warrant from 5 years ago for the same thing I never went to court for in a different county.

    Stan’s Answer

    I agree with the other answers; that type of charge very rarely results in jail, unless you have a lengthy criminal history. If you show up for court on the new one, though, the court will see the old warrant. That changes things. Now the court might see you as a flight risk and incarcerate you pending trial. Unlikely, but you should be aware of it as a possibility.
    You really should talk to a lawyer who practices in the court where the new case is.

    See question 
  • Can pleading the fifth get this charge dropped?

    BF has a pre trial deversion on a case were he assaulted me. All terms are completed except the time. We were not getting along a few months back and I called the police and said that he was threatening to hit me and broke a cell phone. The cop se...

    Stan’s Answer

    Your boyfriend certainly needs an attorney to answer these questions. You can't just 'have the case dropped', but your input is important to the prosecution in deciding how to handle the case. They need to know what is going on with you, and your boyfriend's attorney needs to hear from you as well so he can give him the best advice.

    See question 
  • What could happen if i receive a dui while my son (10 yrs.) was in the vehicle, and i was on a diversion at the time for DV?

    i was pulled over and given roadside test and breath test(which was negative), they towed my truck, had my son picked up by his sister and taken in for a blood test(which i refused, and warrant was issued and test was done) and then sent home, be...

    Stan’s Answer

    I agree you should talk to a lawyer before you go to court. If the DUI charge has already been filed, then they are certainly going to file a motion to revoke the DV diversion also. Soon, if you haven't already, you will likely also get a letter from the DOL advising that they are going to start an action against your driver's license. You will have limited time to respond to that, so talk to someone soon!

    See question