Skip to main content
Ryan C Witt
Avvo
Pro

Ryan Witt’s Answers

100 total


  • I received a speeding ticket in Seattle and read that if the report isn't filed in 5 days the case will be dismissed. True?

    I looked at seattle.gov where they have police reports available online. I didn't see my ticket there, is that enough to assume it hasn't been filed and that I would be able to contest the ticket myself?

    Ryan’s Answer

    Yes, the citation needs to be filed within 5 days excluding holidays and weekends, Don't trust going on line to get the filing date. You need to call the County or City Clerk where the infraction took place and ask them what the filing date was. Then - contest. Good luck.

    See question 
  • What is the best way to deal with a missed court date warrant 5 years after the court date?

    5 years ago when I was 19 I was given a court date for an underage drinking ticket. I didn't go and a warrant was issued. I am from Canada and I would like to return to the states soon so i need to know the best and easiest way to deal with this.

    Ryan’s Answer

    Google a criminal defense attorney in the jurisdiction where this happened. Who knows what has happened in the last 5 years. Maybe the Officer doesn't work for the local department anymore, maybe the warrant has expired. You just need to talk to a person that is familiar with the jurisdiction where the crime is charged.

    See question 
  • What if you were not the driver and the ticket comes to you any way will the photo show the driver of the car at the time.

    to day my roommate was driving my car when she went through a red light camera with me in the car .the light was yellow i thought but what if will the tic come to me ,will her picture be there

    Ryan’s Answer

    As someone who practices in Kitsap County, and in Bremerton Municipal Court, I can tell you that the Court has a solution for this issue. Go to the counter of BMC and ask the Clerks for the declaration form that you can sign indicating you were not the driver. Fill out the form, sign it under penalty of perjury, and the Court will dismiss the ticket. Good luck.

    See question 
  • Who do you report a bad cop to

    A few months ago I was pulled over because the cop said my license plate light was out. I knew this was a lie and so I started to get out of my van to see for myself, but the cop ordered me to stay in my van and told me that I had to drive to the ...

    Ryan’s Answer

    You start with that local agency. I understand you think they may not take it seriously, and that may be true. Your next step is probably the Washington State Patrol. They have a Division set up to investigate other police forces. Is there video (dash cam video, video from the gas station) from that night that shows that it was working? If you are making a allegation of Police Misconduct, it is always good to have some independent piece of evidence to back it up. Without some independent evidence, they are less likely to take you seriously. Best of luck.

    See question 
  • What happens when im 14 TEEN YEARS old you shoplift at walmart in Washington and got caught and cops came ?

    I AM 14 TEEN YEARS OLD and i got caught shoplifting and so a cop came and said i would have to go to court and this is my first time i ever got intolerable so what is going to happen in court and is this going to be in my record also i only stole ...

    Ryan’s Answer

    By statute, you can most likely do a "deferred disposition" to resolve your case in what ever Superior Court it will be filed in. That is a sentencing alternative where you plead, the Court sanctions you, and then you generally come back about a year later and the conviction is dismissed and vacated if you complied of the terms of the "sentence." You will generally need an attorney to achieve this result and to help you navigate through all the steps to get this done correctly. The fines are generally less than $500, but the Courts usually require the person to complete some community service work. In the future, don't make any admissions on a website. That's what private consultations with your attorney are for. They are confidential for a reason - this is not. Best of luck.

    See question 
  • Is diversion an option for a possession of meth and a stolen firearm charge? In Washington state

    No prior drug or gun charges. A stolen gun and methamphetamine were found in my car when I was pulled over. Will they plea the charges down or allow diversion for my case?

    Ryan’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    Over in Kitsap, If a gun is involved in any fashion, it is a bar from Drug Court or from any other type of Diversion. Spokane County may be different, but my hunch is that a stolen firearm charge will preclude you from diversion options. Best of luck.

    See question 
  • My Public Defender does not have time for me. I need a diff lawyer.

    What is the most effective way to ask to change my public defender? I dont think he's giving me the proper attention that my case needs. I met with him ONE TIME before my arraignment. & everytime I ask can we talk on phone or meet in person to di...

    Ryan’s Answer

    If you hire an attorney, they will make the time to meet with you. It simple business - if they want clients, they will treat you right. Sorry to hear that you are going through that ordeal. Aside from sites like AVVO, another good reference is just speaking to people in your community. A good referral goes a long way. Best of luck.

    See question 
  • Motion to revoke diversion what's it mean and what's gonna happen

    I served 5 days for failing toappear for court I didn't have a ride and I was being held on a not her charge trafficking 2 and I just got a court date saying they wanna revoke my diversion cause of the new charge will I still have to serve another...

    Ryan’s Answer

    Your question is not super clear. Is this felony diversion at the Kitsap District Court level? (They handle felony diversion in District Court) If I am reading the question right, you will need a strong defense on the new case in hopes of saving the pending diversion. Make an appointment and make the time to speak with your attorney. Don't just expect to walk in and speak to them. Make an appointment and make it a priority. Best of luck.

    See question 
  • My schizophrenic son of 25 is 3 weeks in jail for pulling aknife on my wife. He did not mean to harm her, it was a cry for help

    Two days previous I called MH crisis line asking what to do if my son tried to harm himself or anyone else. Was told to call cops and they would bring him to the hospital. They brought him to jail and now there 3 weeks without seeing a psychiatri...

    Ryan’s Answer

    Sorry for that sad situation. Unfortunately, once that 911 call is made you can't go back. The mental health evaluation process does take a long time due to the heavy work load on Western State Hospital. Also, there is no real urgency to accelerate the process, because requesting the mental health evaluation tolls speedy trial. I agree that experienced private counsel in your area may make this go faster, but more importantly may be able to attain the end result that will be the best for your son. Hopefully there are rehabilitative programs designed for offenders with mental health issues. Best of luck.

    See question