Sheila Conlon Ridgway’s Reviews

Sheila Conlon Ridgway

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Innovative, forward-thinking solutions

    Posted by Susan, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila 6-12 months ago.
    • Sheila handled my Trusts matter.

    Sheila helped me with a difficult and stressful family situation. What I appreciate most was her ability to come up with innovative, creative ideas and solutions. This allowed me to move forward with confidence in pursuing and resolving the issue rather than waiting for another party to initiate legal action. We achieved a positive outcome within a shorter time period. She kept me focused on the big picture as opposed to all the emotional details. I felt she had a high level of knowledge and understanding of the issue at hand, the law, and the best way to navigate through the process. I highly recommend Sheila.

  2. Hire Sheila Ridgway-estate probate litigation.Sharp, responsive, communicates so you can understand, compassionate, gets results

    Posted by Michele P., a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It’s sad when a loved one dies how greedy and ruthless relatives can become when there is money involved. Wills, trusts and estates are complex matters and if you determine you need to hire an attorney, you really need to find the best attorney you can to represent your interests. Should you need to look at contesting a will, you need to hire an attorney who has probate litigation expertise and experience.

    Sheila Ridgway was referred to me by another trust and estate planning attorney, Eric Fahlman, who did not have probate litigation expertise.

    I met and hired Sheila in May 2009 and my matter was resolved in December 2009.

    I highly recommend hiring Sheila if you need assistance in any will, trust, estate or probate matter that might require litigation. Sheila is sharp, responsive, communicates legal jargon in simple terms so you can understand, is compassionate, really cares about you and doing the right thing, is fair about her billing, and gets results.

    Sheila is recognized as one of Washington’s leading probate litigation attorneys. She has excellent credentials. She has served as the Chair of the Probate Litigation and Ethics seminar sponsored by the King County Bar Association since 1998. She has spoken at many legal seminars on behalf of the Washington State and King County Bar Associations on estate and trust litigation and probate.

    Sheila is highly regarded among her peers: Martindale-Hubbell® Peer Review Rated "Bar Register of Preeminent Women Lawyers” and has been recognized in Seattle Met Magazine, 2010 Top Lawyer.

    Most people do not enjoy dealing with legal matters or attorneys, but I can honestly say it was a positive experience working with Sheila. She’s good and I highly recommend hiring her for any will, trust, estate, or probate matter.

    With sincere recommendation,

    Michele P.
    Bothell, WA

  3. Exceptional

    Posted by Seth W., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The two negative reviews here look like they were written by the same person. Everyone's ends up with at least one sour apple I suppose! My experiences with Sheila were completely contrary. She was well prepared, intelligent, very capable, and very helpful. Her fees were reasonable and her willingness to make herself available when I had questions was amazing. In short - highly recommended!

  4. Challenging case, succesfully resolved

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Our family was unwillingly forced into a challenging and difficult contested probate matter. Ms. Ridgway was not only extremely professional, she helped us navigate unfamiliar laws and court proceedings with ease. We were very happy that she was able to help us settle the matter before it proceeded to a full-blown trial. We were very pleased with both the final outcome as well as Ms. Ridgway's representation. At all times, we found her to be extremely responsive and considerate of our concerns. She fully explained our options and chances for success. I personally found Ms. Ridgway to be a pleasant and knowledgeable individual.

    Having read the negative reviews on this web site, I can only conclude that the reviewers have accidentally posted their reviews on the wrong attorney's listing. None of the descriptions are at all applicable to this attorney or her representation of our family.

  5. A great listener and supportive attorney

    Posted by Rhoda, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Sheila provided excellent advice and support through a highly contested probate. She started representing me by getting a reduction in legal fees from the law firm that had originally been retained, which overcharged us for what should have been a simple matter. She continued to represent me in a claim against the estate, which was successfully settled to my satisfaction. Throughout all of this, Sheila and her firm provided excellent support, advice and was very fair in her billing. I would recommend Sheila and her firm to anyone in need of a probate litigator who listens to her client, provides excellent legal advice, and responsive to client needs .

  6. Truly Professional. Truly concerned.

    Posted by Kristine, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As executor for my late partner's estate, I was overwhelmed. The task was complex because of the extraordinary nature of the estate. A friend recommended I speak to Sheila. She immediately recognized the uniqueness of the situation and became my sensitive and trusted guide throughout probate. I found her to be professional, accessible, diligent, and completely reliable.

  7. Intelligent, Professional, Classy, Suppportive

    Posted by a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Miss Ridgway handled a massive litigation case for us against unimaginable odds. She was consistent, legally apt and responded to opposing council without being mean-spirited. The opposing council displayed the treacherous side of representation, it would have embarassed our side.
    Miss Ridgway was quick to respond to any questions we had. The billing was accurate and monthly. We have had lawyers that do not know what a monthly statement should look like.
    We highly recommend the Ridgway and Gafken group in Seattle.

  8. Sheila is a star attorney that shines!

    Posted by Rae G., a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am very pleased with the way Sheila handled my legal matter. She kept me informed and focused on what was important to my case. Sheila has the ability to set her client(s) at ease. Sheila is never hesitant to take on a challenge. Her strategies are professional and concrete, bringing about victory for the client. I would highly recommend her. In my opinion, she is exceptional in her field.

  9. I do NOT recommend

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She made a very large amount of money for spinning wheels and producing little. When it came down to the wire she was unprepared which was obvious to the other side, and belately to me. She was a strong asset to the opposing side. Charming while she is making money off a client but watch out because she is untrustworthy.

  10. Incompetent to say the least

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Sheila Ridgway.
    • I hired Sheila more than 3 years ago.
    • Sheila handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Presents herself as personable and dedicated however she did not attend to details of the case and messed up on the simplest of tasks. Often contradicted herself, appeared confused at times, which might be a cover for her dishonesty. . In the end it appeared she was a stronger representative of the opposing side.