Norma Linda Urena’s Reviews

Norma Linda Urena

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Extremely Unprofessional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Norma Urena.

    Mrs. Urena showed up late and unprepared to all of our scheduled appointments.

    Mrs. Urena decided that she did not have time to take the case because she was looking to go on vacation but still charged me for the case even thought she did not represent me.

  2. #1 Attorney - Great Knowledge & Service

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma 1-3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Norma's work was excellent, very responsive and kept me well informed every step of the way. I knew what to expect and when to expect it through the entire case. Most important - the case outcomes reflected my interest and her dedication to providing the best work.

  3. Great Attorney

    Posted by Blanca, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma 1-3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great attorney, very honest. Looks out for the client's best interest. Her attorney fees are also very reasonable. I would always recommend her legal services.

  4. Compassionate and efficient work. Impressive number of cases won when they were referred to her as a primary consultant

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma 1-3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Norma Linda is an efficient and compassionate lawyer. Her bilingual skills and Latino background are of great help when representing Latino clients. With a genuine care for immigrants and their circumstances Norma worked on various cases on behalf of Mexican nationals referred to by the Mexican Consulate as their consultant in this matters. All the cases I worked with her from 2008 to 2012 in the Consulate, she won every single one of them.

    Many of the cases we worked with her were dependencies or other protective custody matters, divorces or else. Norma was always available to keep the information flowing between the client and the Mexican Consulate. From my experience it is quite evident that she has the experience and knowledge to handle a variety of family law matters with diligence and compromise.

    Her staff is friendly and helpful too. In a nutshell her work is reliable, all the clients that came to her referred by the Consulate were happy with her work and the results. An important aspect to consider is also her willingness to facilitate additional measures and facilitate economic costs on a case by cases basis to the clients that had limited economic resources or other sort of disadvantages. This just shows a clear intention of offering help not just to make an income.

  5. Don't hire this attorney: total RIP-OFF! Wasted most of my retainer and did nothing for me.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma 1-3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had hired Norma to take care of my divorce by end of September 2012: I was a stay-at-home mom with one child when the separation occurred.
    The money I put upfront for her services were all the savings I had so I really counted on her to help me get the spousal/child support set up. She assured me she'd help me get some 'emergency' spousal support processed and that it would take no longer than 2 months.
    We are now in April 2013 and she has done NOTHING for me. Additionally, I found out from my ex that he and his lawyer were trying repeatedly to contact her for us four to sit down but to no avail. When I confronted her with that, she admitted that she had been busy. Her inactions are costing me so much not only financially but emotionally too. Because she failed to get my spousal support done, I had to get into confrontations and fights with my ex over money. This 'status-quo' affected my health with the stress of having nothing done and getting in fights. If affected my son too as he saw me dealing with this emotional roller-coaster.
    Now, I had to change attorneys, pay more money that I don't have and even though I officially filed a form to change lawyers, I just got recently another invoice from her for services rendered when I had already filed the form for changing attorneys.
    I asked for a refund and she still has not given me my money back in 2 months (and counting!)
    This is just a summary. I just don't want other women to go through what she put me through. Divorcing is already hard enough in itself, I really didn't need the aggravation from my own lawyer.
    Stay away from this lawyer.

  6. A Sharp Attorney

    Posted by Yvette, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma more than 3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very impressed with Norma's diligence regarding our child custody case. She was very thourough, available and always returned calls. She had a good understanding of custody issues and every facet and/or angency that may be involved. Her courtroom presence is very assuring and demonstrates her control and knowledge of the situation. Norma is very smart, well spoken and respectful. We have recommended her to others and will continue to do so.

  7. excellent attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma more than 3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Norma did excellent work on my case and dedicated herself to providing the best work. I would recommend her services to others.

  8. Fast and simple

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma more than 3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She represented me about 7 years ago, the divorce was very simple, easy and she kept it that way. My ex- wife was a drug addict. Ms. Urena finalized my divorce as soon as she was able to and I got everything that i wanted. I couldn't ask for more.

  9. very bad attorney never answer phones calls and doesn't file the paper work on time

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Norma Urena.
    • I hired Norma more than 3 years ago.
    • Norma handled my Family matter.

    very bad attorney never answer phone calls i almos lost my child for her bad work

206-440-3000