John Rodney Crowley’s Reviews

John Rodney Crowley

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Crowley is the strongest, toughest lawyer i have ever seen in court. Period.

    Posted by Maurice, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can write this review because I am not doing time thanks to Crowley. Crowley represented me last summer on a federal drug case. I was looking at really serious prison time - 10 years plus. He never made any promises to me other than he would work very hard at the case. When Crowley walks into court, judges, lawyers spectators and everybody else takes notice. He has authority when he talks. He is strong. He is organized. He wrote a really decent brief to suppress evidence on my case. After the hearing to suppress the 5-kilos and $400,000.00 cash was coming to a close, the judge sort of shook his head and then said that the only problem with the prosecutors case was that the police didn't have probable cause to stop my car in the first place. I new then that Crowley had pulled through again. Just like the guy who referred me to Crowley said he did for him.

    I referred another friend to Crowley last summer. He too has a federal drug case in eastern Washington and is looking at 20-years! 20-years for a drug case. Crowley has a suppression hearing coming up on that soon. My friend was blown away with the brief that Crowley wrote for him.

    Crowley can be a little tough to get a hold of and may not return calls like he should. But that is because he is busy fighting out cases and trials instead of hanging out in plea court like most lawyers do after they cash your check.

  2. Terrible Attorney, did absolutely nothing for me

    Posted by Charlotte, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    John Crowley was hired to defend me in a Felony Drug case. As soon as the thousands of dollars was placed in his hand, he pretty much checked out. I could never reach John, he never returned my calls, only on the day of court would I hear from him. He was late to court numerous times, making me sit in an empty courtroom with the Judge and prosecuters as they kill time waiting for him, a couple times about an hour late. Each time I would touch base with him, he would act as though he never knew that I had children. He never did interview anyone in my case, including the CI. In the end of the case he called me one day at work telling me that he needed me to be in court in less than one hour to make a plea bargain. without even discussing my options. He then informed me that he wouldn't be able to make it so his assistant would be standing in his place. When I asked what deal would I be getting if I plea bargained, he stated to me charges that I was never even charged with would be dropped. In the end, it worked out thanks to his young but aggressive assistant that showed up that day of sentencing. Right before taking the stand, his assistant told me about the FOSA program that John never even mentioned one time. It kept me out of prison, able to keep my job and still raise my children. Thank you John for sending your assistant, if you would have been representing me, I would still be in prison away from my kids, no job and dealing with multiple losses.

  3. case solved

    Posted by Allen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Despite the long long time it took, John helped to solve my case. He was great in court and things went better than we expected, the result was great!

  4. One of the best criminal defense attorneys in the Pacific Northwest

    Posted by Carlos, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John is an awesome attorney. Very knowledgeable in his field and honest. He will not promise anything that he cannot achieve and will not hesitate to take a case to trial if it will mean a better outcome for the client. I am very surprised that he is not more widely recognized.

  5. a total disappointment and a waste of time

    Posted by Allen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired John Crowley in Dec, 2010, for my drug charge, and my case is still not solved until this very moment. I work and live in China and cannot trvael to the States because of my charges. He does not answer my calls or reply my emails. He wasted 18 months of my time and money.

  6. IF YOU ARE IN A JAM - MR CROWLEY IS THE ONE!

    Posted by Coy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is John Crowley. He defended my interests in a Federal Interstate Stalking and Harassment Case. All others who I interviewed and interacted with fell short. This guy knows what to do and he knows what side he is on.

    A good lawyer must be quick thinking.

    A good lawyer is always looking for an angle and knows exactly how to proceed all the time.

    A good lawyer must know the area of expertise of law he is practicing in.

    A good lawyer must be aggressive. Look at him and ask yourself if he would be a pushover for a mugging. If you answered “no” then he is not going to be mugged in court either.

    Hire a lawyer that has been a Prosecutor and knows how they think.

    Hire a lawyer that knows what “dirty tricks” are played on clients by Prosecutors.

    Hire a lawyer that does not care what a Prosecutor thinks or what he does but does know his motivations.

    Hire a lawyer that is located in a major city and close to the courts. He should be located close to where he does his work.

    Ask yourself if he handles himself with confidence.

    A good lawyer does not treat you as a buddy or a friend. He is all business. Sharp and to the point.

    If a lawyer calls you more often that you would like – you know you have a very good lawyer. A lawyer that keeps his client informed every step of the way promptly is an excellent lawyer.

    A good lawyer boasts about big cases he has won and big name clients. Pride in his job is a sign of a good work ethic.

    Look for cases the lawyer has won against impossible odds.

    Choose a lawyer that has a math or science degree before going into law. You do not want a business, arts, or religious major handling your case. Lawyers that took basket weaving or business management courses on the way to law school are not as focused and are prone to taking the easy way out.

    A good lawyer has been in the news and has a relationship with the media. Trial by media is a two way sword that Prosecutors hate to play, especially if they have a weak case to begin with. Prosecutors hate to look the fool.

    Basically you want a very smart, educated, focused, sympathetic, loyal, pit bull on your side that sees the other side as the enemy at all times and won’t throw in the towel for any reason. Prefer he is independent thinking with no outside ties that can compromise your case.

    This is Mr John Crowley and I can not say how high my opinion of his work is!

  7. Honest and Clear about what to expect, no false promises

    Posted by Debra, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hiring a lawyer from another state for my son was a diffcult thing to do. I interviewed many attorneys by telephone, yet I kept coming back to John Crowley. He has no hidden agenda. His approach is professional and very direct. No beating around the bushes. I definately recommend John Crowley. His honesty sold our family.

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Crowley.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Speaking from the client perspective, John Crowley is a top notch crimal attorney. He is well known and respected by many courts both in Seattle and Eastern Washington. I would highly recommend him. He gets results!