A creditor must sue you and get a court judgment against you before garnishing any wages or property, but creditors cannot garnish income if it comes from the following sources:
Social Security benefits;
Retirement plan benefits;
Public assistance benefits.
Garnishment procedures vary from state to state. I would strongly recommend talking with an attorney in your area. Good luck.
The first thing you should do, if you haven't do so already, is go to the court and get the judgment certified. In addition, have the judgment recorded against any real property of the judgment debtor (there are a couple of minor fees involved in doing this since you have to get a certified copy of the clerk and then file it with the superior court of Pierce County - file the certified judgment in as many counties as you think the judgment debtor owns real property). The lien will not...
Look into other alternatives before using a voluntary repossession of your vehicle. A voluntary repo can result in bad credit and you can still be obligated to pay a deficiency balance. After returning the vehicle to the lender, the lender will sell the vehicle at auction and will use whatever proceeds earned to pay off the balance of the original loan and the fees that will be involved. If the balance of the loan is not paid off the lender will inform you of the remaining balance. You will...
A PSI(R), Pre-Sentence Investigation Report, is a document that will be used to assist the court in determining your sentencing. The report usually contains a factual narrative of the offense committed, your personal and criminal history (if applicable).
Specific questions should be directed to your attorney as he or she knows the particulars of your case. Good luck.
The additional $475 is most likely due to third party collection agency fees. Statute of limitations will expire upon your death. I would contact the collection agency and try to negotiate the balance down and/or arrange a payment plan.
True. You may request what is called a deferred finding. Basically a deferring finding is a contact with the court. If you meet certain conditions the court will dismiss the infraction and it will not be reported to the Dept. of Licensing. The conditions, first, if you have already deferred an infraction in the past seven (7) years in Washington you will not be eligible. Second, you must pay a court processing fee, typically $150, for entering into the deferred finding (this fee is not...
In Washington you may file your divorce documents with the Lincoln County Superior Court, link attached below. The benefit here is that you may file by mail and avoid appearing in court.
Also, neither you or your husband needs to live in Lincoln County.