Monica Kaup Cary’s Reviews

Monica Kaup Cary

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. very kind

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica 1-3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Monica was very sensitive and kind. I really appreciated her help during a trying time. All personal interactions with her were amazing. That being said- we had agreed upon a payment plan after my retainer was used up. Then several months later she tell me that unless I pay the balance due on my bill the firm would be dropping me in a month. I didn't have enough time to pay the remaining balance so I had to let her go. I was very upset about the change in payment options. This may have been out of her control and dictated by her firm. Also in my deposition from my ex a request was made about bank statements. It clearly stated bank statements from during my marriage, but Monica's paralegal kept requesting my current bank statements from after my separation. I was rather flustered that I caught something my lawyers did not. This may have been the mistake of her paralegal and not directly Monica’s fault.

  2. Monica is excellent, I highly recommend her

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica 1-3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Monica worked with my elderly father and helped him through a difficult and unwanted divorce. She was very compassionate and sensitive to his situation and absolutely understood all the variables and players involved. She recommended the best course of action while continally engaging Dad to be sure he understood and was in agreement with the plan. She was respectful of budget concerns at all times. She is so warm, caring, personable, unassuming and SMART. I can't recommend her highly enough! I am so grateful to her for all she did for my father.

  3. Monica Cary

    Posted by Heidi, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica 1-3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a divorced mom with two young boys. I recently decided I had delayed putting my affairs in order for far too long. Lawyer Monica Cary came highly recommended by a close friend, so I made an appointment to meet with her in person. Monica and her staff were warm and professional and made me feel comfortable and informed. They answered all my questions to my satisfacton and put together a very thorough packet of documents that will encompass all of my future needs in regard to my estate planning. I now have great peace of mind knowing this is all complete and my and my sons futures are secure.

  4. I love my mom and so did Monica!

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica 1-3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We arrived at the Du Bois Cary lawgroup in September of 2011. We met with Monica Cary and she was such a great listener. She spent a long time hearing the paticulars of the physical difficulties my mom was experiencing since being married at 80 years old. She is now 86. We had seen one other attorney but Monica reviewed the information and gave us a plan to get mom into a safer living situation. Monica communicated an amicable solution that resulted in a new living arrangement for my mom and she and her husband are getting along better than ever. Monica represented her perfectly. We could not be more pleased with the outcome. We have become friends with the entire staff at the Du Bois Cary group.

  5. Successful Dissolution

    Posted by Alejandro, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica more than 3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I would like to extend my sincere gratitude for the outstanding support provided in regards to my dissolution. You have always quickly and efficiently demonstrated your knowledge in your field; as well as, your motivation to assist in any items necessary.

    Your actions illustrate Dubois Law desire to assist the customer.

    Thank you for all your assistance. It has been a pleasure to work with you and by extend with Dubois Law.

  6. Monica Kaup Cary was the right choice

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica more than 3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Monica was a lifesaver when I most needed a steady voice and knowledgeable guidance through my divorce. From the time my ex-wife and I decided to separate to the final dissolution settlement, Monica always catered her level of help in my case to what I needed, while keeping me informed of legal necessities and options. Occasionally, throughout the divorce process, when I felt like I was at a legal disadvantage relative to my ex, Monica would point out opportunities where I could gain leverage. The truth is, good legal help isn't cheap, but Monica always kept my budget in mind and gave me choices to best use my money. She was well worth it. Not only was Monica a great choice for my legal representation, but everyone in her office, from the paralegals to the partners, were always gracious and helpful.

  7. Single Dad to Custodial Parent

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica more than 3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Monica helped me get custody of my son when his mother relocated accross the country. Many people told me I didn't have a chance to get custody as a single father in the state of Washington but Monica helped prove them wrong. I am grateful all that Monica and the staff at Dubois has done for my family.

  8. Don't work with her

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica more than 3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very disappointed by her work. She is all about making money and doesn't have her client best interest at heart. I don't recommend her

  9. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Monica Cary.
    • I hired Monica more than 3 years ago.
    • Monica handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Cary successfully represented me in my difficult divorce.  She was extremely professional and competent.  I would highly recommend her to anyone!