Jon Michael Zimmerman’s Answers

Jon Michael Zimmerman

Seattle Speeding / Traffic Ticket Lawyer.

Contributor Level 14
  1. Seeking deferred findings for speeding tickets in WA state, procedure for deferred finding under WA state procedure

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    1 lawyer answer

    The procedure can vary greatly from court to court, and even among different judges in the same court. The Legislature allows judges to give certain drivers one deferred finding on a moving violation (like a speeding infraction) and one deferred finding on a nonmoving violation (for example, an expired tabs infraction) in a period of 7 years. However, there is no requirement under Washington law that judges grant deferred findings; rather, judges have discretion. Some judges don't grant...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

    11 people marked this answer as helpful

  2. How to fight "traffic camera" ticket

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    1 lawyer answer

    In Washington there is no leeway when it comes to turning left on a red, unless you are coming from a one-way street and turning onto a one-way street, although in that scenario you must come to a complete stop and only turn if it is safe to do so. If you turned in the intersection while the light was red, you are technically violating the law, though in practice people do this all the time. Unfortunately, traffic is not a defense. Instead, the law requires that you stay out of the...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

    2 people marked this answer as helpful

  3. No proof of insurance ticket.

    Answered almost 6 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    2. John M. Kaman
    3. Matthew Jay Weiss
    3 lawyer answers

    An officer has discretion on whether to issue you a notice of infraction (ticket), and if you have more than one violation, the officer can cite you for only one violation if the officer so desires. A no insurance ticket is a nonmoving violation. If you had insurance but did not have proof on you, you can get the ticket reduced substantially. If you didn't have insurance and get insurance a day or more after you were cited, many courts will still reduce the fine.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

    4 people marked this answer as helpful

  4. Careless driving + class or Unsafe Operation?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Thomas Carroll Blauvelt
    2. Stuart M Nachbar
    3. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    4. James F Paguiligan
    5. James Alexander Abate
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    You should discuss the matter with an experienced New Jersey traffic attorney before you do anything.

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Is it legal to ski/snowboard on streets? Does the speed limit apply?

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    2. Erik P. Kaeding
    2 lawyer answers

    You can ski and snowboard, but you can't impede traffic (if there is any) or violate other traffic laws (e.g., you must stop at stop intersections, you can't violate right of way laws, etc.). Also, police regularly cite pedestrians and bicyclists for infractions, so there is no reason to believe that a person on skis or a snowboard would be treated differently. Have fun but be vigilant!

    Selected as best answer

  6. I received a ticket for driving with expired license tabs.

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    1 lawyer answer

    It's not incorrect for the officer to check 'traffic' because technically, a tabs violation is part of Washington's motor vehicle code; however, this kind of infraction is a nonmoving violation, meaning that it should not by itself affect your insurance. However, this type of ticket COULD (but won't necessarily) affect a deferred finding but this depends on the type of deferred finding you have and the court in which you took your deferred finding.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    6 people marked this answer as helpful

  7. Forced by court to mitigate a traffic infraction that I did not commit and no lowering of fine. Is there anything I can do?

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    2. Theodore W. Robinson
    2 lawyer answers

    Unfortunately, there is one judicial officer in Lewis County who often does not seem to be helpful, and you might consider asking for review of this action by the presiding district court judge in Lewis County or a full-blown appeal to the Lewis County Superior Court if the commissioner ruled on your case. An appeal will cost you more than $200 but there are several reasons why you should be allowed to have a hearing on the merits in district court. One thing you can do to deal with the...

    Selected as best answer

  8. Can I be charged with resisting arrest without even resisting?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Teresa Lynn Border
    2. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    3. Brian Yee Keung Cheng
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with Attorney Border. You're actually arrested when you're pulled over, it just doesn't always turn into a custodial arrest. It's never a good idea to get into an argument with the officer or "one-up" an officer. Even if he wasn't concerned for his safety, your talking about your community involvement was probably not the right approach. Nevertheless, you should retain a defense attorney so that you can fight the charge.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  9. School Zone speeding ticket, but no children were present.

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    1 lawyer answer

    If you wish to contest the ticket, as in you think you did not commit the infraction, you should check the contested hearing box. The mitigation box is for those people who know the committed the infraction, but wish to explain the circumstances to the judge and ask for a lower fine (and lower fines are not available in school zone infraction cases). If you want to keep the ticket from affecting your insurance premiums, you need to first begin by checking the contested box.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    5 people marked this answer as helpful

  10. Under WA state child custody laws at what age can a minor legally decide where and who they want to live

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Jon Michael Zimmerman
    2. Alan James Brinkmeier
    2 lawyer answers

    In Washington, a minor 16 years of age or older can petition the court for emancipation, but it's a pretty high standard for the court to grant emancipation. Also, emancipation is often about independence of the minor, not about a minor being adopted or cared for by a nonparent.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    5 people marked this answer as helpful