I'm 17 years old and was caught shoplifting alcholol from safeway. I'm a running start student (A student who goes to community college and earns both college and highschool credits.) I was caught shoplifting earlier this month with shoplifting bu...
I think you have two potential charges. Theft and Minor in Possession of Alcohol. Each is a misdemeanor. Because you are 17 you are likely to be charged in Juvenile Court. If you are going to be 18 soon, the prosecutor could wait a couple of months and charge in adult court after your turn 18. If not, then you may have a number of options in Juvenile Court including Diversion, which is an opportunity these charges off your adult criminal history. I don't know what an "informal adjustment" is. Some jurisdictions have Student Court, but only for very minor offenses and infractions. On the theft charge you may be able to get that dismissed on a civil compromise. You do need an attorney, You are probably eligible for a public defender. Here in King county the Juvenile Court public defenders are pretty darn good. I don't know about where you are. Finally, my experience tells me that shoplifting is often a sign or a symptom of other issues. I really encourage you to seek out a counselor to talk about this behavior and help you improve your life. It sounds like you are smart and hard working. Sometimes stress or other issues cause us to act out in ways that are not good. Counseling is a great way to improve yourself and your life. It is also likely to help you when you have to deal with these charges.See question
I received a DUi in March 2013 in CA. I blew higher than a 1.5. The judge transferred my classes to NC when I moved and am completing them in order to get my license soon. I have not had a license since my court hearing July 2013. Will NC DMV s...
With DUI criminal conviction there is an interstate compact that every state has enacted. It requires that your new home state recognize and enforce the conditions imposed by your former home state. If California is requiring you to obtain an ignition interlock to become licensed, then North Carolina will require you to abide by the California requirements before you can get a driver's license.See question
I was given a level III (high risk) for my first DUI. I have to do 75 hours of treatment and 6 random drug tests. The judge said the treatment provider will give me the drug tests. I was smoking a lot of marijuana. If I went to treatment and came ...
Drug tests for marijuana use often report the presence of THC Carboxy. This is called a metabolite of THC. In other words, it is what is left after the active THC has been processed by your body. While it would indicate that there has been THC use in the past, it is sometimes hard to know whether that use was recent or not. You need to consult with an attorney who understands the biochemistry of THC and drug testing.See question
I was driving on the freeway with my window down cause it was really hot inside my car and the noise on the freeway prevented me from hearing my cue to provide a sample on my ignition interlock device. When I realized this it was too late; the dev...
There should be an internal process for review by the interlock provider. If they do not give you a review or they intend to report the violation to the DOL, court or probation, then you can seek a Temporary Restraining Order from the superior court to prevent them form reporting until a judge has heard the case.See question
My hospital bills were more then the coverage I have in insurance.
Do review your insurance coverage. You should have a declaration page that tells you whether you
have uninsured motorist protection ("UM" or "UIM" are common abbreviations for this). If so, your insurer is obligated to pay your damages under that contract provision once you file a claim and give them proof of damages. Your insurance company then gets the exclusive right to go after the other driver for the money they have paid to you.
The King County District Court has published an excellent guide to the vacation and removal of conviction and non-conviction criminal data. It applies throughout the State of Washington. Please be aware that it does not address federal records, nor will it address the reinstatement of the right to bear arms. An attorney who has experience with these issues will be very helpful Here is the url:
they took 2 breath tests at the station and said that both had to be above .08 for me to get a DUI. Since one was below .08 they let me go. How do I deal with this? Do i need a lawyer even though my license isn't suspended and will it show on my r...
Depending on what the officer says about your driving, your Physical
Field Sobriety Tests and your appearance you may be charged with
DUI or Negligent Driving in the First Degree. Negligent Driving in the
In the First Degree is much less serious and does not have any manatory
jail or loss of license.
If you were not issued a citation at the time of your arrest make sure that the address on your driver's license is up to date. You are likely to recieve a Summons Or Notice to appear in the mail. An attorney may be able to contact the prosecutor and find out what is going on. The attorney may also be able to encourage the prosecutor to file the Negligent Driving charge or to not file any charge at all.
i have three dui's on my record have been in no criminal trouble in two years my license was revoked for seven am i eligible for relicensing
There are actually at least two things that will be preventing you from getting licensed. Mr. Barr has addressed the HTO and how you can obtain a stay of that revocation. You are also suspended. because of your DUI conviction. However you may be eligible to obtain an Ignition Interlock License (IIL). You would need to pay the application fee, install the IIL in the vehicle you will be driving and obtain proof of High Risk Insurance.See question
New arrest is "Investigation of theft", though what actually occured was my sitting on a random street bike in a parking lot, extremely drunk, and tipping the bike over. No intent of theft, the officer even voiced personal opinion to the effect of...
One of the conditions of your Deferred Prosecution is no consumption of alcohol This incident would be a violation of that condition. The judge can revoke your Deferred Prosecution, read the police report in your Kirkland case and find you guilty of that DUI.
Most judges will give a person one chance at redemption, as long as there is no driving involved. I recommend that my clients in your situation go back into a relapse recovery program or start treatment over from the beginning, depending on how long they have been maintaining sobriety. I am also concerned about the fact that a motorcycle was involved. You do need to consult with an attorney. The attorney can find out what the allegations against you are. The City and probation may not know all the facts regarding the new incident. Make your best efforts in treatment and AA, stay out of trouble and consult with an attorney.
The other potential bad news is that being unconditiaonally released does not mean that you will not be charged later, you could be charged with a disorderly conduct or malicious mischif charge even if there was no theft. Make sure to keep an eye on the mail and have your attorney check back with the court in that new matter too.See question
I have a Warrant for not appearing to court for a reckless driving review conviction. How can I squash this and what is the easiest way to do so without being arrested as I have work tomorrow.
You can contact the court and ask if it has a walk-in calendar. Often the court will allow a person to reschedule their court date upon their promise to appear if they have not failed to appear before. In your case if you appear before teh judge, he or she is likely to proceed with the review hearing so make sure that you are doing everthing the court asked you to do at your sentencing.
Also you or someone else can deposit the bail amount with the court. The person who posts teh bail will get the money back at the end of the case if you do not fail to appear again. You can contact a bail bonds company and work with them to pay the bail. The bond company will usually require 10 - 15 % of the bail as a fee and you will not get that money back. You can hire an attorney and have the attorney move to quash the warrant. Get that warant quashed as soon as possible and good luck to you.See question