David A Schuck’s Guides

David A Schuck

Portland Employment / Labor Attorney.

Contributor Level 13
  1. Oregon Limits What Employers May Lawfully Deduct From Wages

    Written by attorney David Schuck, 25 days ago.

    Oregon wage and hour law limits what an employer may deduct from its employee's wages. Where wrongful deductions occur, the employee likely is due damages, and potential penalties because of the dedu

  2. 2014 Increase to the Oregon Minimum Wage Rate (Minimum Wage Claims)

    Written by attorney David Schuck, 11 months ago.

    Oregon will raise the minimum wage from $8.95 per hour to $9.10 per hour starting January 1, 2014. If you are paid less than $9.10 per hour after January 1, 2014, you could be due thousands in penalt

  3. 2013 Increase to the Oregon Minimum Wage Rate (Minimum Wage Claims)

    Written by attorney David Schuck, almost 2 years ago.

    On January 1, 2013, the Oregon minimum wage rate increased to $8.95 per hour. If your hourly rate of pay after January 1, 2013 is/was less than $8.95 per hour, you likely have a minimum wage claim. While it may seem trivial that your employer did not pay the extrafifteen cents pe...

  4. Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA)

    Written by attorney David Schuck, over 2 years ago.

    Debtors can recover up to $1,000 for violations of the FDCPA. A debt collector (someone other than the person you owe money) violates the FDCPA when it performs a laundry list of improper acts. Surprisingly many, if not most debt collectors regularly violate this law. They do so ...

  5. Why should I sue under the FLSA instead of Oregon's overtime laws

    Written by attorney David Schuck, over 2 years ago.

    Gives three primary reasons an Oregon employee may choose to sue under the FLSA exclusively when prosecuting an overtime wage claim in Oregon.

  6. Wage Claims to Recover Vacation/PTO Time in Oregon

    Written by attorney David Schuck, over 2 years ago.

    Vacation/Paid Time Off (PTO) is a wage under Oregon law. However, no Oregon law requires employers to offer vacation or PTO pay. Where anOregonemployer has agreed to pay vacation pay or paid time off (PTO), that agreement sets the terms for payment. Once the terms are met, then t...

  7. Oregon Minimum Wage Increases for 2012

    Written by attorney David Schuck, almost 3 years ago.

    On January 1, 2012, the Oregon minimum wage rate increased to $8.80 per hour. (Oregon Minimum Wage Page) If your hourly rate of pay after January 1, 2012 was less than $8.80 per hour, you likely have a minimum wage claim. While it may seem trivial that your employer did not pay t...

  8. 2011 Increase to the Oregon Minimum Wage Rate (Minimum Wage Claims)

    Written by attorney David Schuck, almost 4 years ago.

    Starting January 1, 2011, the Oregon minimum wage rate will increase to $8.50 per hour. If your hourly rate of pay after January 1, 2011 is less than $8.50 per hour, you likely have a minimum wage claim. While it may seem trivial that your employer did not pay the extra ten cents...

    1 person found this Legal Guide helpful

  9. Can Oregon Employees Volunteer to Work Unpaid?

    Written by attorney David Schuck, over 4 years ago.

    Generally no. Oregon employee may volunteer to work for their employers. If the employee is doing the same or similar work for the employer, a Court will likely find that the time was work time that must be compensated. Thus, the time allegedly volunteered should be included whe...

  10. Are Vacation Wages Due on Termination in Oregon?

    Written by attorney David Schuck, over 4 years ago.

    Under Oregon law, where an employer has agreed to pay vacation pay or paid time off, and refuses to do so, the employee likely has a wage claim. When looking at vacation pay or paid time off, the agreement is everything because without an agreement Oregon law does not require p...

    3 people found this Legal Guide helpful