Diane Wiscarson’s Reviews

Diane Wiscarson

Average Rating

Based on 43 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Disability Rights and IDEA Law

    Posted by Beverly, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 6-12 months ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was extremely nervous to meet with an attorney, but I wanted my daughter's rights enforced at her local school. I brought all my information and soon felt at ease talking to Diane as well as her staff. She did what needed to be done, in a timely matter, and my daughter is now again enjoying school. If I ever have any issue with my daughter's education again, I will be emailing Diane immediately. Her smile, her mannerisms, put me at ease and I am thrilled with the outcome. The biggest regret I have is not contacting Diane Wiscarson sooner.

  2. EXCEPTIONAL ATTORNEY - WILL FIGHT FOR YOUR CHILD'S EDUCATIONAL SUPPORTS!

    Posted by Sharon, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 6-12 months ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.

    My son with autism was having difficulties with bullying at school. After a less than satisfactory attempt to resolve by the school, I contacted Ms. Wiscarson's office. She was very knowledgable about what services my son was eligible for. She contacted the school district and was our point-of-contact during the rewrite of my son's IEP. She fought for services I didn't know existed. As a result, my son has a well thought-out IEP with many varied services to help him cope with peer issues. I am certain that my son's 6th grade year will be successful, mainly due to Ms. Wiscarson's help. I only wish I knew about her sooner. And going forward, I know that I have a reliable, trustworthy attorney in my corner as my son transitions to junior high and high school. I would recommend Ms. Wiscarson to anybody who wants to make certain that their child is getting all of the supports and services he or she needs to succeed in school.

  3. Getting proper education that my son is entitled too

    Posted by Tamie, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 1-3 years ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I are very Thankful for Diane, in getting the proper education for our child that has Autism. Our school district was not properly prepared for my child's education for the year. They had new staff, under staff, and not enough educational supplies to keep my child busy throughout the day. The district kept telling me that they are working on my complaints but it never got resolved! That's when we hired Diane and everything got resolved! We wouldn't be where we are today with Diane, Thanks so much!!!

  4. After asking for referrals and hearing Diane over and over- We knew the moment we sat in her office...they were spot on!

    Posted by Jessica,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 1-3 years ago.

    After spending, hours, days, weeks, and months advocating for our daughter and trying to understand the PPS school system along with their requirements to children with special needs. Trying to learn and understand my daughter’s challenges while relying on the school for aid and direction with no real support. We continued to hold meetings with school staff, teachers, principals and even PPS representatives- I felt like no one was listening to me nor did they seem to care much about my daughter’s needs. We were feeling so unheard that we removed our child from PPS and placed her in a school more specific to her learning style and needs. We had attended several IEP meetings; we signed off on them all and agreed for the most part to the information that was being presented to us. I now know at the time I understood nothing that was being presented. What I didn't understand is how the IEP effectively works and where it failed my daughter until meeting with Diane. We entrusted in the wrong people for direction and were lead down a path to nowhere with only our daughter to suffer in the end. Diane stood up for our daughter and explained her rights. She took the time to ensure we understood the information being presented to us and the options then available to our daughter. She gave us hope when we were starting to lose it all.
    We highly recommend making the call to Diane- Peace of mind is freeing-truly liberating and knowing you have Diane on your side will bring all the confidence and direction you need.

  5. Great Special Education rights law firm

    Posted by Pat, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane more than 3 years ago.
    • Diane handled my Family matter.

    Diane was both very helpful and reasonable about what to expect. But the most helpful thing about her law firm was the time they took educating us on our rights and teaching us how to be our own advocates. Felt like the money was well worth it.

  6. Hire Diane. She is the absolute best. Your chld and your sanity will both be protected!

    Posted by Dana, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 1-3 years ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.

    Diane made all the difference in the world to my son and our entire family. Prior to working with her, my son was not receiving appropriate services or having his rights protected, despite all of my best efforts. When Diane joined his team, all of that changed. Her style avoids unnecessary confrontation, is extremely respectful of all participants in the process and makes a world of difference. Simply put, Diane saves lives. In the years we worked with her, I have also recommended her to two friends who have also hired Diane. The challenges the other two children have faced were quite different than those expereinced by my son, but the results were the same. Great service, great insight and FINALLY a chance toreceive free and appropriate public education!

  7. Always been there for our son and our family. We know she always will be

    Posted by George, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.

    Diane has been a part of our family’s life for a long time. She helped us overcome tremendous obstacles to get what was needed for our son Jon from the local school district. She helped the district understand that Jon’s interests and dreams have been consistent since the beginning of his schooling, they are not just our wishes for him. She helped us to stand up for Jon. Her skilled diplomacy was crucial to the success of both sides in many situations. She has always been there for us and we know she always will be. We thank her for being a part of Jon’s life.

  8. Our Go-To Family Legal Resource in Oregon

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 1-3 years ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.

    Attorney Diane Wiscarson is a rare combination of expertise, straight-shooting directness, genuine unpretentious warmth, and passion for what she does. Our family has been consulting her periodically since 2007. At that time, she got the best available in-district public school services lined up for our special-needs nephew; when those proved inadequate, she told us, with her typical integrity, that she was unwilling to waste our money any longer pursuing the district in a case we would almost certainly lose. She let us know, not just as a lawyer but as a trusted observer, that her personal experience had led her to believe that our nephew needed intensive residential treatment (an observation that turned out to be spot-on). She then found us the out-of-state educational consultants we have worked with ever since to determine the appropriate placements for him.
    Recently, we turned again to Wiscarson Law with questions occasioned by the fact that our Spectrum-issues family member is now almost an adult and may well end up back in his home state, dependent on whatever public services he is entitled to as a disabled adult. Diane is very much aware, having worked with families like ours for years, that, as difficult as it is to force the state to grant special needs children the education to which they are entitled, the issues and the legal/bureaucratic labyrinth these young people face once they are no longer minors is in some ways even more frightening and confusing. We had no idea what we were facing around guardianship, SSI and disability applications, available group home settings and residential programs in the metropolitan area, etc. Diane referred us to her assistant, Lidia, who did a superb job in filling us in and getting together what information and resources she could, pending our family member’s return to the state. Indeed, Diane’s staff in general seem to display the same genuinely warm efficiency she does; queries are responded to in a timely manner and there have never been billing problems. The firm will continue to be our first stop and go-to Oregon resource in the ongoing struggle to find the best possible solutions and legal arrangement for our special-needs family member.

  9. Program Director

    Posted by Jacqueline, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 1-3 years ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Diane not only was very well educated in education law, she made it easy for us to understand the laws by explaining things in everyday language for us. She kept us included in all emails to and from all parties and worked at getting us exactly what she said she could do.

  10. 100% Positive outcomes are what you can expect to receive from Diane Wiscarson and her Law Firm and staff.

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Diane Wiscarson.
    • I hired Diane 1-3 years ago.
    • Diane handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Diane Wiscarson is a well known Attorney with a passon for helping families and individuals with Special Needs receive the appropriate services and legal advice needed to turn a bad situation into a positive outcome. She gets straight to the point and never backs down when defending your childs rights to an FAPE. I was so impressed with the way that she put's her whole heart into something and the final results reflected such a positive outcome for both sides. I left our mediation knowing that things would be changed for the better and that if I ever needed someone to have my back again that she's just a phone call away. I most definitely would recommend her to everyone, especially thoses who have children with Special Needs. Our children's disabilites are going to be unique and ever changing and we need someone by our side to represent them in these tough times. Thanks again, Diane and staff for always being so positive and listening to a parent concerns.

Contact Wiscarson Law for a free initial consultation with a dedicated legal expert.

503-727-0202