Mary Shea Hagebols’s Reviews

Mary Shea Hagebols

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Compassionate, competent, and compelling

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Mary is very knowledgeable and thorough in her field. She is very competent, realistic and forceful as she obtains a settlement for her client. She keeps the client appraised of the case as it unfolds. It was an honor to work with her on my case.

  2. Just Breath and Call Mary Shea

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I was referred to Mary Shea by a nationally recognized anti-bullying association. Being the main provider in my family, I was so scared to share my story in fear it would ruin my career and I wouldn’t be able to take care of the ones I love the most. After months of sleepless nights and my health being effected by the harassment, I called the Law offices of Mary Shea. That phone call was the best thing I have ever done for myself and my family. Mary was especially warm and helpful, that meant the world to me, especially in a situation concerning bullying and sexual harassment. Very quickly Mary stopped the harassers, created a safe environment for me, and effectively fought hard for my rights against a large corporation. In the end Mary successfully negotiate a settlement that fully reconciled my losses caused by the bullying and harassment. Mary helped me bring closure to all the issues associated with my harassment claim against my employer. I cannot thank Mary Shea enough. She saved my career, my sanity and my faith in the justice system. I recommend Shea Law offices for any employee who is being bullied at work or experiencing a hostile work environment. Mary Shea is simply amazing. Thank you Mary! :-)

  3. Outstanding, Experienced, and Trustworthy Attorney who Will Win Your Case

    Posted by Susan, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Mary Shea Hagebols is an outstanding attorney we retained for my husband in a wrongful termination case in 2008. Upon first meeting Mary, she passed with flying colors, we immediately knew without a doubt that she was the right lawyer for my husband's case, and fortunately, she got us on her busy calendar. Mary is genuinely warm, caring, compassionate and vested in her clients - it is sincere and readily apparent from the very first meeting. Simply put, we immediately knew we could place our trust and faith in Mary and her abilities. Mary understood, without having us to tell her, that she was not just representing my husband, but an entire family with my husband at the helm and unable to financially provide for his family because of being wrongly terminated. Mary knew we were entrusting her with our livelihood. Mary is a thorough, competent and formidable litigator - she managed to get my husband smoothly reinstated at his former place of employment, won back pay and also recovered his attorney fees from the company who unfairly fired him. This was no small feat on Ms. Shea Hagebols' part and she gave it her all as she always does in preparing and arguing a compelling, airtight legal case. Other employment attorneys we had consulted with (prior to meeting Mary Shea Hagebols) had advised us that my husband would likely NOT be reinstated at the company and that it was an unrealistic expectation on our part, irrespective of the actual facts of the case. The overriding factor they all explained was that my husband worked and resided in a corporate-friendly "at will" employment state and the company had in their possession legal employment contracts containing “at will” explicit verbiage that my husband willingly signed upon his hire date. It basically meant he can be fired for any reason, unless it was discriminatory in nature, hence, illegal. This was not by any means, an easy case. None of this deterred Mary Shea Hagebols, however, and she confidently and creatively prevailed on my husband’s behalf in a relatively short amount of time. When hiring a lawyer, intuition plays such an important role as well as knowing their level of expertise with the myriad of both state and federal employment laws; track record; types of cases litigated (Mary has successfully litigated high profile cases); communication; organizational skills, sound judgment; professionalism including discretion and overall demeanor. Mary gets an A+ in all of the above. We would absolutely recommend Mary Shea Hagebols to anyone needing a top notch employment attorney.

  4. Employment/ Race Discrimination

    Posted by David, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mary was excellent, she kept me informed on the process. She gave me good advice and she was experienced and knowledgable of the specific type of legal help that I needed.

    The end result was a victory for me which included a nice payout. I was able to transition out and away from a corporate giant who we called out for racial discrimination in employment practices.

    Mary was very instrumental and engaged in fighting this battle for me. She gave me good advice and made sure that I stayed the course and let her do her job to the best of her ability.

    She has the ability and the experience to fight the "Big dogs" if need be. Can we call her a "Pitbull"? I would highly recommend her for your legal issues. She is professional, and gets the job done.

  5. Mary Hagebols the Attorney who does makes a difference

    Posted by John, a Debt Agreements client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Debt / Lending Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mary, was there when I needed her most. Even though Mary had many other things going on, she stopped and took the time out to give myself sound advice and took actions so that my life can move forward with a more positive outlook than I could ever think or expirience.

  6. Thanks

    Posted by Jamie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.

    Mary negotiated a settlement for me in a case with my previous employer and the State of California. Having Mary represent me gave me peace of mind that I had the best representatation I could have. It was a relief to have the case resolved quickly so I could get on with my life.

  7. Mary Will Not Let You Down

    Posted by Dave, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It would be hard to exaggerate Mary's legal skill and giftedness. From my first encounter with her, I felt that Mary was taking my issue with the utmost seriousness. My case was a very complicated one, a "cutting edge" one as many of my friends and colleagues noted. Mary went to great lengths to research the issues in the case and to consult widely in order to give me the best possible representation. My case settled out of court on terms that were highly favorable to me.

  8. Thank God for Mary

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary has been very helpful to me in a number of legal matters. She is always willing to lend an ear to my concerns. Additionallly, she is detail oriented and possesses a professional acumen that you would expect in top notch representation.

  9. Effective trial attorney

    Posted by moonseal, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When we headed into our employment and privacy suit against a major city, we were very inexperienced and had a difficult time finding an attorney who could understand the breadth and complexity of our case, as well as demonstrate patience and understanding for our cause. In addition to that, not many attorneys have the bravery necessary to take on this type of case, nor the expense. We certainly didn't have the tools or skills necessary to endure a battle like this without a compassionate attorney. Mary Shea Hagebols is a modern day hero, to us. With her expertise and the skill to pick top notch experts and choose a literal dream team, we won our case. I cannot recommend her enough.

  10. My Law Suit Experience

    Posted by Jane, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Shea Hagebols.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have always been under the inpression that Lawyers were heartless,
    but when Mary agreed to take my case, I found that it wasn't true. Mary fought very hard for me. She tryed very hard to have me reinstated by my former employer. Mary still made me a winner because she believed in me. Because of Mary I have regained my dignity and my selfesteem. Yes, I would recommend "Mary Shea Hagebols" to a Friend or anyone in need of an excellent Attorney.