Autumn Renee Paine’s Answers

Autumn Renee Paine

Oakland Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 8
  1. How much am I looking to spend on an attorney that handles dui cases and if it goes to trial would I have to pay more

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Robert Laurens Driessen
    2. Autumn Renee Paine
    3. Jasen Bodie Nielsen
    4. Matthew Murillo
    5. Kevin Samuel Sullivan
    5 lawyer answers

    In Alameda County, you are probably looking at a range of about $1500 - $2500. This fee is for "pre-trial" proceedings, meaning that if you go to trial you will have to pay more. If you blew a 0.08%, then you may have some very good issues for trial. Some things to think about when talking to lawyers: 1) Is the lawyer going to be the actual one representing you, or is s/he going to pass the case off to someone else? 2) What exactly does the fee cover? Does it cover the DMV hearing?...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. First California misdemeanor : petty theft. CONSEQUENCES for non U.S citizen?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Autumn Renee Paine
    2. Harry Edward Hudson Jr
    3. Holden W Green
    4. Benjamin Adam Arsenian
    5. Kevin Samuel Sullivan
    5 lawyer answers

    The consequences of even a misdemeanor for a noncitizen can be serious, and it will depend on your particular status. Your situation is different if you are a greencard holder, or if you are undocumented. Talk with your criminal defense attorney about the consequences of any plea agreement before you accept any "deal" or decide to go to trial. If your attorney cannot answer your questions, consult with an immigration lawyer. Many lawyers offer a limited free consultation. But...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Suspended License Early

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Autumn Renee Paine
    2. Andrew Stephen Roberts
    2 lawyer answers

    Did you have a negligent operator hearing? You should contact DMV to find out if you are eligible for a restricted license and when you will be eligible for an unrestricted license. It may be that you have more points on your driving record than your friend, even though you seem to think that your driving record was better. It is best to get the information directly from DMV. Contact a driver safety office - the phone numbers are listed on the DMV website.

    Selected as best answer

  4. Is the unauthorized use of a company vehicle considered a felony under CA criminal penal code

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Autumn Renee Paine
    1 lawyer answer

    It would be very helpful to know what, exactly, you are charged with. Common vehicle theft , Vehicle Code section 10851, may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. On the Information or Complaint filed in your case it will say the exact charge and whether it is a misdemeanor or a felony. But yes, unauthorized use of a company vehicle could be charged as a felony in California. Many times your record, the facts of the situation, and the county where the alleged crime occured will determine...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  5. What is the process in California to get my criminal record expunged?

    Answered about 5 years ago.

    1. Autumn Renee Paine
    2. John M. Kaman
    2 lawyer answers

    The expungement process, per Penal Code section 1203.4, allows the court to withdraw your guilty plea, or set aside a conviction, and dimiss the charges. This is done by filing a motion in the court where the matter was originally heard. You should know that you should have successfully completed any probation or parole, paid all fines, and not have any pending cases. Certain types of charges (mainly dealing with sex crimes and violent crimes) cannot be expunged. You should also know that...

    4 people marked this answer as helpful

  6. Domestic Violence charge

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Marshall William Waller
    2. Autumn Renee Paine
    3. Brian Richard Dinday
    3 lawyer answers

    Your husband should definitely seek the advice of an attorney, whether it is a public defender or a privately retained attorney. This type of case is defensible, but he will need an attorney's assistance to develop his defense. A violation of PC 273.5 (a), corporal injury to a spouse, can carry up to one year in jail when charged as a misdemeanor. Often times, depending on the facts of the case, these cases will resolve for a smaller amount of jail time, three years of probation, and a...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Petty theft 484PC in California, Sacramento.

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Autumn Renee Paine
    1 lawyer answer

    Your question raises several issues. First, you will be notified if there is a warrant for you, with a court date for your arraignment. At your arraignment you may ask the court to appoint a public defender to your case. It is up to you if you want to be represented by a public defender or a private attorney. Keep in mind that many private attorneys have flexible payment options available. You should not speak to anyone except your attorney about your case. Don't go to your...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  8. How much time will i actually do?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. David Jon Pullman
    2. Autumn Renee Paine
    2 lawyer answers

    You will have to do 90 days of SWAP (Sheriff's Work Alternative Program). You do not receive any additional credits when doing SWAP as you would if serving the time in custody.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  9. What happens if my boyfriend runs way away from group home but hes already 18?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Michael Leighton D'Antoni
    2. Hans Albert Gillinger
    3. Tai Christopher Bogan
    4. Autumn Renee Paine
    5. Jennifer Anne Fitzgerald
    5 lawyer answers

    What can happen to your boyfriend depends on why he was placed at the group home. The court will also look at why he ran away and whether he has run away before. If your boyfriend is caught he can be placed in jail rather than juvenile hall since he is 18 while the court decides what to do with him. He should contact his attorney to get advice about his specific situation.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  10. Domestic violence defense

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Marshall William Waller
    2. Autumn Renee Paine
    3. Brian Richard Dinday
    4. Ryan Patrick McClure
    4 lawyer answers

    Without knowing the particular allegations, including the charges, I will attempt to give you some general information. First and foremost, I would advise you to seek the assistance of an attorney. You may wish to call the Law Office of Katie Richey at (714) 523-4529. She is a former Ventura County prosecutor now doing excellent defense work. I'm assuming that you have been charged with a violation of either PC 243 (e) or 273.5 (a). If this is your first offense and simply a slap in...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer