William Martin Gwire’s Reviews

William Martin Gwire

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding work on a malpractice case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.

    Bill Gwire represented me in large, hotly contested legal malpractice claim against my former attorneys (a well-regarded litigation boutique in San Francisco) who lost my underlying real estate case to the tune of about $1.6 million. We settled the malpractice case and entered into a confidential settlement agreement, so I can’t go into too much detail, but just to give you a preview of what I think of Bill’s work and qualities, I wrote to Bill right after we settled the case, and said: “Thanks Bill. You may be the best attorney I have ever worked with, and (unfortunately ;-) I have worked with a lot.”
    Some of the things Bill did that were remarkable included a huge investment of his time to become intimately familiar with a very complex set of events so that he was always in complete command of the facts, his development of likely theories on how the error occurred, his patience and availability to discuss the status and strategy, and finally his invaluable advice on when to push and when to give.

  2. 'Walks Softly, Carries Big Stick'

    Posted by Rebecca & David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.

    Bill Gwire is exactly the type of attorney you want in the room with you when it really counts. He is both level-headed and caring. He elegantly operates inside the law, while still thinking outside the box. He has exceptional experience, but isn't at all set in his ways.

    Take it from us, who also had the misfortune of experiencing the other type of lawyer- the one who thinks of himself first; the guy who pounds the table because he has to be the loudest in the room; the lawyer who ignores his clients' wishes and intentionally manipulates the truth in order to defraud them. The Other Guy- who screwed up our Personal Injury case, and then lied to us to try to cover up his mistakes.

    That was our *first* lawyer. Bill is our *last* lawyer.

    Bill helped us to file suit against our former attorney for malpractice and fraud. We eventually settled out of court. Without Bill's help, we wouldn't have gotten a cent.

    With Bill's help, we got a decent settlement, and some pretty awesome satisfaction. At all times, Bill had our best interests in mind, even when the advice he gave us wasn't what we wanted to hear. He never failed to think seriously and creatively about our questions, requests and problems. He sincerely cared about our well-being and worked hard to bring us both closure and satisfaction. And if you've been through it with lawyers, you know that both of these resolutions together are tough to come by.

  3. "Trustworthy"

    Posted by Marie, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I wish Bill had represented me in my orginal case as I feel it would not have been mis-handled. Bill was excellent and he restored my faith in attorneys. He was consistent and always did what he promised. I can't thank him enough for what he did to help close an ugly case so that I could go on with my life.

  4. Gwire Law saved my sanity!

    Posted by a Consumer Protection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Consumer Protection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I first contacted Gwire Law I had begun to believe that all attorneys were unethical, blood sucking leaches, that were intrinsically lazy and despicable. Bill Gwire and Bruce Glassner changed that for me. They showed me that some attorneys can be trusted. And that some attorney will go the extra mile for you, without even asking. My case was against another attorney, he told me that he was judgement proof, and was 100% confident that no attorney would represent me against him. In other words, an attorney could commit a crime, violate your rights, and he could get away with it purely because he or she was an attorney. How outraged was I? Very. Bill Gwire and Bruce Glassner shared my outrage. They were so thorough, diligent, and honest. Every step of the way they explained to me what was happening and why it was happening. In the end they were able to accomplish what I thought was a lost cause. The results they achieved for me were greater than I expected. More importantly than the outcome of my case, I met two attorneys I am proud to now call friends. They treated me like family and I will never forget that. So if you want the very best attorneys, call Gwire Law.

  5. One Of A Kind

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It had been three years of a very contentious divorce and I did not have an end in sight. I knew that something different had to happen in order to wrap up the proceedings. My faith in attorneys and the legal system had been broken. I had heard the name Bill Gwire in various social settings. People spoke very highly of him. His reputation was that of an accomplished attorney who did know how to get the job done, also, very reliable, trustworthy and respectful. I felt like he was my last hope. Upon our initial meeting, he helped to begin to build the process of faith once more. I retained him and we did get the ball rolling, quickly. I appreciated the fact that he was direct and to the point. Bill took action swiftly and concisely. Using a team building approach, we dismantled the team of attorneys, accountants and judges that had been amassing over the duration of the case. Thanks to Bill and his incredible knowledge of the judicial system, he was able to remove each person, one by one.

    Regrettably once the divorce proceedings were complete, it did not end there. The financial ramifications of having a legal team of over five representatives had billings of over a million dollars. With good reason, we did not agree on the final payment structure. Using his keen instinct, incredible negotiation skills and overall brilliance, Bill was able to help me negotiate a fair and swift settlement which allowed us all to walk away and completely end the case.

    I am incredibly grateful for having had the opportunity to meet and work with Bill Gwire. Bill is one of the very few honest, kind and reputable attorneys. He is one of a kind in his field. I would recommend him, with the highest regards, to anyone who is facing litigation. Thank you Bill for everything you did!!!!

  6. Where do you go for help when lawyers behave badly? Bill Gwire!

    Posted by a Arbitration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Arbitration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    OK, if you're going to a gunfight, bring Clint Eastwood! The problem with most business litigators is that they almost never litigate - this puts these guys at a big disadvantage at the settlement negotiation table. We engaged Bill right after he was coming off of a big win in what I call the "lawyers behaving badly" space. He took a very close look at our case - I was told he only takes cases with real merit and after working with him, I really believe it! We walked into the arbitration proceeding to hear the usual "we won't budge on any front" arguments. Bill went into the back room and came out steaming after talking to the plaintiff's attorney. He told me the gloves we off and we got a very good settlement with a big law firm that was suing us to collect what we felt were unreasonable legal fees. We paid Bill a discounted hourly rate and a contingency fee. Was the fee a healthy percentage of the saving to us? Sure it was. Did Bill spend a thousand hours on our case? No. In fact he spent very little time on our case. So why did we pay him so much? We were paying for his reputation as a skilled and frequent litigator unafraid to go to trial in a heartbeat. We shopped around - you can't say that about many litigators in the City. We got our case cleared fast and paid the plaintiffs a fraction of what they were seeking to collect. In my opinion, Bill is a righteous guy who will get the job done if he likes your case. I strongly recommend him.

  7. Professional Recommendation

    Posted by Edward, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    William Gwire provided valuable legal help to me during an unusual legal crisis created by a California lawyer... When you choose a bad lawyer like I did, it can sometimes seem harder to find a good one... That said, Bill is an excellent attorney who is one of the good guys... Edward L. Cain, Jr.

  8. Man of his word

    Posted by a Consumer Protection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Consumer Protection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gwire Law Offices ( William Gwire) represented me against another attorney who's actions included legal malpratice, breach of fiduciary duty, and fruad. Bill treated me with respect and patience. I couldn't of imaged this experience without Bill Gwire's guidance and expertise. Given the egregios and outrageous nature of the attorney's conduct, I recieved exemplary damages and emotional distess damages which are generally not available in legal malpratice cases. I owe this favorable settlement to Bill Gwire. I highly recommend Bill and Gwire Law Offices.

  9. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Consumer Protection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Consumer Protection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Recently I assisted a family friend in an attorney/fraud case which involved the IRS. Acting as advocate and methodically researching legal malpractice attorneys in the state we were fortunate enough to locate Bill Gwire of Gwire Law Offices. Bill handled the case with the highest level of professionalism. He assisted my friend with patience and empathy. Bill walked us through the process step by step and ultimately achieved a most favorable settlement from the offending attorney. Bill Gwire is one of the only attorneys I would ever recommend. Thanks Bill for all of your work!

  10. My Gratitude To GLO

    Posted by Ann, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Contracts & Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In the past three years, GLO helped me overcome obstacles in the three courts I went through all resulted from my discharging of a divorce attorney.

    My former divorce attorney charged me close to $750,000 in 26 months. The divorce court said numerous times that my lawyer was over-litigious. Finally, I discharged him out. Four weeks later, I filed a complaint with San Francisco Bar Association (SFBA) with a request for a binding arbitration on fees. At that point, according to my former divorce attorney, I owed him over $250,000, plus interest. I eventually paid substantial penalties in family court for his over-litigiousness.

    In August 2009, SFBA gave me a favorable ruling. Instead of owing him $250,000, I was told to pay him around $51,000. I thought things could finally wrap up, and with the help from my new divorce attorney, the divorce proceeding was moving swiftly to its closure, and I could finally move on.

    Little did I know, an egregious journey was just about to start. My former divorce attorney rejected the SFBA ruling and refused to accept the ruling as binding to SFBA.

    My former divorce attorney started a series of brutal ‘debt’ collections. He obtained a default judgment and my bank assets were frozen without any warning. My former divorce attorney also put forth a family lien against me. He also filed charges against me for criminal contempt.

    I turned to Gwire Law Offices for help.

    Mr. William Gwire is a smart-headed man. He is very quick, very insightful, very eloquent, very experienced, and he has the best staffing I have ever seen in my contact with various law offices. Individually, his staffs are all prolific professionals; working together, they demonstrate the best teamwork as a group. I have been benefited not just through each of them, but also by the synergy from their seamless teamwork.

    GLO helped me set aside the ‘phony’ default in the civil court, cleared for me the lien put forth my former divorce attorney; represented me to negotiate with my former divorce attorney off court; and when all settlement proposals were turned down, defended me at a jury trial in the civil court. Even after the jury trial, they continued warding off my former divorce attorney’s never-seizing charge, back to the family court long after my divorce was long finalized, against me for criminal contempt. When I finally filed for bankruptcy, GLO still did not turn their back on me. They helped me clear the adversary charge against me by my former divorce attorney at the bankruptcy court.
    GLO not only did not turn their back on me. They have been successful in deflecting basically all the vicious attacks thrown on me by my former divorce attorney.

    GLO has been the solid light-house to us throughout three tumultuous, stormy years. My life was almost ruined because I met a bad lawyer; however, I was not fallen because I have met good lawyers at GLO – good lawyers that are not just fluent with laws; lawyers that also have ethics, good morals; good lawyers that also have hearts. I don’t know how to express my gratitude to GLO attorneys. I am indebted to GLO in a very big way.

    When anyone approaches me for advises and referrals on lawyers, I always conclude with an analogy that de-retaining a bad attorney could be like asking a guest to leave who, in return of your hospitality, responds by burning your house; GLO would be the right ‘block buster’ to handle the kinds of the likes of bad attorneys.