William Martin Gwire’s Reviews

William Martin Gwire

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Gwire Law saved my sanity!

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I first contacted Gwire Law I had begun to believe that all attorneys were unethical, blood sucking leaches, that were intrinsically lazy and despicable. Bill Gwire and Bruce Glassner changed that for me. They showed me that some attorneys can be trusted. And that some attorney will go the extra mile for you, without even asking. My case was against another attorney, he told me that he was judgement proof, and was 100% confident that no attorney would represent me against him. In other words, an attorney could commit a crime, violate your rights, and he could get away with it purely because he or she was an attorney. How outraged was I? Very. Bill Gwire and Bruce Glassner shared my outrage. They were so thorough, diligent, and honest. Every step of the way they explained to me what was happening and why it was happening. In the end they were able to accomplish what I thought was a lost cause. The results they achieved for me were greater than I expected. More importantly than the outcome of my case, I met two attorneys I am proud to now call friends. They treated me like family and I will never forget that. So if you want the very best attorneys, call Gwire Law.

  2. One Of A Kind

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It had been three years of a very contentious divorce and I did not have an end in sight. I knew that something different had to happen in order to wrap up the proceedings. My faith in attorneys and the legal system had been broken. I had heard the name Bill Gwire in various social settings. People spoke very highly of him. His reputation was that of an accomplished attorney who did know how to get the job done, also, very reliable, trustworthy and respectful. I felt like he was my last hope. Upon our initial meeting, he helped to begin to build the process of faith once more. I retained him and we did get the ball rolling, quickly. I appreciated the fact that he was direct and to the point. Bill took action swiftly and concisely. Using a team building approach, we dismantled the team of attorneys, accountants and judges that had been amassing over the duration of the case. Thanks to Bill and his incredible knowledge of the judicial system, he was able to remove each person, one by one.

    Regrettably once the divorce proceedings were complete, it did not end there. The financial ramifications of having a legal team of over five representatives had billings of over a million dollars. With good reason, we did not agree on the final payment structure. Using his keen instinct, incredible negotiation skills and overall brilliance, Bill was able to help me negotiate a fair and swift settlement which allowed us all to walk away and completely end the case.

    I am incredibly grateful for having had the opportunity to meet and work with Bill Gwire. Bill is one of the very few honest, kind and reputable attorneys. He is one of a kind in his field. I would recommend him, with the highest regards, to anyone who is facing litigation. Thank you Bill for everything you did!!!!

  3. Where do you go for help when lawyers behave badly? Bill Gwire!

    Posted by a Arbitration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Arbitration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    OK, if you're going to a gunfight, bring Clint Eastwood! The problem with most business litigators is that they almost never litigate - this puts these guys at a big disadvantage at the settlement negotiation table. We engaged Bill right after he was coming off of a big win in what I call the "lawyers behaving badly" space. He took a very close look at our case - I was told he only takes cases with real merit and after working with him, I really believe it! We walked into the arbitration proceeding to hear the usual "we won't budge on any front" arguments. Bill went into the back room and came out steaming after talking to the plaintiff's attorney. He told me the gloves we off and we got a very good settlement with a big law firm that was suing us to collect what we felt were unreasonable legal fees. We paid Bill a discounted hourly rate and a contingency fee. Was the fee a healthy percentage of the saving to us? Sure it was. Did Bill spend a thousand hours on our case? No. In fact he spent very little time on our case. So why did we pay him so much? We were paying for his reputation as a skilled and frequent litigator unafraid to go to trial in a heartbeat. We shopped around - you can't say that about many litigators in the City. We got our case cleared fast and paid the plaintiffs a fraction of what they were seeking to collect. In my opinion, Bill is a righteous guy who will get the job done if he likes your case. I strongly recommend him.

  4. Professional Recommendation

    Posted by Edward, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    William Gwire provided valuable legal help to me during an unusual legal crisis created by a California lawyer... When you choose a bad lawyer like I did, it can sometimes seem harder to find a good one... That said, Bill is an excellent attorney who is one of the good guys... Edward L. Cain, Jr.

  5. Man of his word

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gwire Law Offices ( William Gwire) represented me against another attorney who's actions included legal malpratice, breach of fiduciary duty, and fruad. Bill treated me with respect and patience. I couldn't of imaged this experience without Bill Gwire's guidance and expertise. Given the egregios and outrageous nature of the attorney's conduct, I recieved exemplary damages and emotional distess damages which are generally not available in legal malpratice cases. I owe this favorable settlement to Bill Gwire. I highly recommend Bill and Gwire Law Offices.

  6. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Recently I assisted a family friend in an attorney/fraud case which involved the IRS. Acting as advocate and methodically researching legal malpractice attorneys in the state we were fortunate enough to locate Bill Gwire of Gwire Law Offices. Bill handled the case with the highest level of professionalism. He assisted my friend with patience and empathy. Bill walked us through the process step by step and ultimately achieved a most favorable settlement from the offending attorney. Bill Gwire is one of the only attorneys I would ever recommend. Thanks Bill for all of your work!

  7. My Gratitude To GLO

    Posted by Ann, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In the past three years, GLO helped me overcome obstacles in the three courts I went through all resulted from my discharging of a divorce attorney.

    My former divorce attorney charged me close to $750,000 in 26 months. The divorce court said numerous times that my lawyer was over-litigious. Finally, I discharged him out. Four weeks later, I filed a complaint with San Francisco Bar Association (SFBA) with a request for a binding arbitration on fees. At that point, according to my former divorce attorney, I owed him over $250,000, plus interest. I eventually paid substantial penalties in family court for his over-litigiousness.

    In August 2009, SFBA gave me a favorable ruling. Instead of owing him $250,000, I was told to pay him around $51,000. I thought things could finally wrap up, and with the help from my new divorce attorney, the divorce proceeding was moving swiftly to its closure, and I could finally move on.

    Little did I know, an egregious journey was just about to start. My former divorce attorney rejected the SFBA ruling and refused to accept the ruling as binding to SFBA.

    My former divorce attorney started a series of brutal ‘debt’ collections. He obtained a default judgment and my bank assets were frozen without any warning. My former divorce attorney also put forth a family lien against me. He also filed charges against me for criminal contempt.

    I turned to Gwire Law Offices for help.

    Mr. William Gwire is a smart-headed man. He is very quick, very insightful, very eloquent, very experienced, and he has the best staffing I have ever seen in my contact with various law offices. Individually, his staffs are all prolific professionals; working together, they demonstrate the best teamwork as a group. I have been benefited not just through each of them, but also by the synergy from their seamless teamwork.

    GLO helped me set aside the ‘phony’ default in the civil court, cleared for me the lien put forth my former divorce attorney; represented me to negotiate with my former divorce attorney off court; and when all settlement proposals were turned down, defended me at a jury trial in the civil court. Even after the jury trial, they continued warding off my former divorce attorney’s never-seizing charge, back to the family court long after my divorce was long finalized, against me for criminal contempt. When I finally filed for bankruptcy, GLO still did not turn their back on me. They helped me clear the adversary charge against me by my former divorce attorney at the bankruptcy court.
    GLO not only did not turn their back on me. They have been successful in deflecting basically all the vicious attacks thrown on me by my former divorce attorney.

    GLO has been the solid light-house to us throughout three tumultuous, stormy years. My life was almost ruined because I met a bad lawyer; however, I was not fallen because I have met good lawyers at GLO – good lawyers that are not just fluent with laws; lawyers that also have ethics, good morals; good lawyers that also have hearts. I don’t know how to express my gratitude to GLO attorneys. I am indebted to GLO in a very big way.

    When anyone approaches me for advises and referrals on lawyers, I always conclude with an analogy that de-retaining a bad attorney could be like asking a guest to leave who, in return of your hospitality, responds by burning your house; GLO would be the right ‘block buster’ to handle the kinds of the likes of bad attorneys.

  8. Top Notch Legal Firm

    Posted by Carole Matson,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gwire Law Offices (William Gwire and Ujvala Singh) have represented me in litigation against another attorney, Ronald Dean. Prior to Gwire Law Offices, I was living the nightmares that are the butt of “lawyer jokes”. Mr. Dean represented me to secure my long-term disability from my company’s insurance. While Mr. Dean did his job, I felt that I was excessively overcharged. I tried on my own on several occasions to work out a fair agreement with Mr. Dean, to no avail. Thank the Lord; Mr. Gwire and Ms. Singh with their expertise, uncovered several areas in Mr. Deans contract that were not within the law. After a trial by Judge, the nightmare was over. Mr. Dean was ordered by court to void his contract. Mr. Gwire and Ms. Singh have always been ethical, caring and extremely knowledgeable. I love to recommend the Gwire
    Law Offices as I know they will always give a client their 110%.

  9. EXCEPTIONAL

    Posted by richard and leslie fredericks, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    William Gwire is one of the very few attorney's we consider a "great lawyer." Trust me, I have four decades of experience, utilizing the services of multiple law firms and attorneys, both personally and in conjunction with smaller companies I have owned and operated. In all these years I have never encountered a more incisive legal mind, nor another lawyer possessing Bill Gwire's empathy and ability to understand the client's frustration, anger, fear and frustration that is caused by actual litigation.
    In early 2000, we found ourselves embroiled in a litigation mess, over a dispute that we thought had been legally resolved twelve years earlier. We had been represented by and were then represented by one of the largest law firms on the west coast.
    After over four years of frustrating and horrid litigation, I contacted Bill Gwire, in 2005, sent him reams of paper and begged for help. He totally understood our anger and despair, and was kind enough to meet me in Los Angeles. He referred us to another brilliant lawyer, accompanied us to our consultation and along with the other lawyer helped shepherd us through the litigation mess that had engulfed us. After Gwire's intervention and help, the underlying case was streamlined and resolved beyond any reasonable expectation. During this time, Bill Gwire did not charge us a dime!
    Thereafter, we retained Bill Gwire formally, and it was during his representation that the best of both worlds coincided for our benefit --A BRILLIANT LEGAL MIND COMBINED WITH THE ABILITY OF A TREMENDOUS TRIAL LAWYER.
    Because of Bill Gwire, and thanks to him, we were fully compensated for a legal nightmare that could easily have been prevented. I have taken the time to write this review because I know how fortunate and yes, "lucky" we were and are to have been represented by Bill Gwire. He is truly one of the very few "GREAT LAWYERS."




    I

  10. Absolute Top Legal Malpractice Attorney.

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Gwire.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am a well-respected physician in San Francisco, and lost an arbitration dispute with a practice management firm -- due to faulty legal representation. After consulting with several top business attorneys in the city -- all of whom agreed that the outcome was due to legal misrepresentation -- I was referred to Mr. Gwire. After a thorough review of my case, he provided brilliant representation for me -- both at the depostions and the mandatory pre-trial settlement. Though he felt strongly that we were likely to double or triple our "return" if we proceeded to a jury trial, he was extremely respectful in aggreeing to my wishes to accept the high 6-figure settlement that the opposing side offered at this pre-trial meeting -- acknowledging my desire to be done with the matter and not be involved in a knock down-trag out court proceeding. His preparation with consultants and audio-visual aids was impeccable. Every thing that he said would happen, did happen. He restored my faith in the legal profession! This was a case of legal malpractice, and that category is not included in the choices for "type of cases" below.