Gerald Herbert Scher’s Reviews

Gerald Herbert Scher

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Social Security Disability Lawyer

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He was excellent and knew exactly what to say. Had everything laid out and knew exactly what to say at exactly the right time. I was amazed the judge issued a bench ruling in my favor - very unusual.

  2. SUPER GOOD AND WORKED HARD FOR MY CASE

    Posted by James, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jerry did more for me then I anticipated. Though I was willing to settle for a lesser amount on my workman's compensation case. He went out of his way and got me over 38% more.
    he would respond to my emails and phone calls on weekend and even when he was out of town on his vacation...Cant say enough about his integrity and drive.

  3. My case with Jerry

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Gerald kept my case going forward and did not accept the attempts by the comapny for a low settlement!!

  4. Social Security Disability claim

    Posted by Betsy, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After fighting the system for (4) years I finally acquired an attorney. I interviewed (3). Hired Mr. Scher because he was informed, helpful and willing to listen to me. In 4.5 months I was receiving benefits. I highly recommend this firm. He still, after (2) years is there for me.

  5. Don't Do It

    Posted by a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I first went to this firm i was actually looking for another attorney .They never told me where he was ,but they ended up taking my case.At first i had a lady attorney who was nice ,but after a while Mr.Scher took over.He did not like returning my calls and when he did he made me feel very stupid for asking questions.After we went to court and he called me a name in front of people in the WCAB waiting room I knew then and there I did not want him representing me at all.I went in search of another attorney and that sure proved to be a very good move.I sure wish i did not have to deal with this attorney and I hope others learn from my mistake .

  6. No Finer Attorney Out There............

    Posted by KAS, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very pleased with the outcome of my case that Mr. Scher put together for me. When others balked taking on a particularly difficult case, he had no problem taking on this endeavor without hesitation. At times of despair and hopelessness he stood by my side when others would not. If it is a positive result you are looking for and you realize that it takes time to resolve these types of matters, you could not have a better attorney working for you. Gerald Scher gets the job done !

  7. Case settled in our favor. Thank you Mr Scher!

    Posted by a Slip and Fall client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Slip and Fall Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I tripped on a damaged sidewalk, fell and was injured in 2008. When the city denied my claim for medical expenses, I decided it was time to sue. I got Mr Sher's name from another attorney who could not handle the case. Mr.Scher took my case under a deadline situation, and took it under the conditions that only if we won would there be any fees charged. This was fair to me. There was an amazing amount of paperwork that I had to fill out, and he and his office walked me through the entire process. Fortunately I kept meticulous records of everything that happened to me, including photos of the area in which I fell. This helped immensely in filling out all the necessary forms, and in securing a settlement. Mr Scher was professional, courteous, and caring. He kept me up to date throughout the length of the suit and it was settled out of court in our favor this summer (2010.) The money I received will pay back all the medical expenses, Mr Scher's third and his expenses, and then some. I was very satisfied with Mr Scher's efforts in my behalf, and would not hesitate to work with him again. In fact, I now consider him "my lawyer" and have absolute trust in his abilities to either solve my legal issues himself or to refer me to another attorney who can.

  8. No better attorney- a helping hand to better days

    Posted by Jeanie, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    It is not just what Jerry Scher does, but more HOW he does it- the down to earth, real- person care he puts into each case. I saw this not only for my case but also for others as I sat in the office. Mr. Scher really makes a difference in people's lives every day. He has great professional versatility with the ability to handle more than one type of legal problem. He handled 2 different types of cases for us with equal diligence, personal care and service. We had some very unfortunate life events that required us to need an attorney twice, but life happens to us all. When the unexpected happens and you need someone, he is the one to call.
    It took many months before he was paid and in one case over 2 years on another. With all the effort he put in, it could not have paid well; but he helped us when others did not! This made an immense difference in the lives of my family and myself! It felt like our lives were unraveling. It is not about “a settlement”, but more about the peace of mind it provides and having someone to trustfully guide you through it with YOUR best interests in mind- not merely their profit! Not to mention getting the results you need in the end- someone to fight for you when you cannot.
    We all do our work to make money, but Mr. Scher takes the added human element to heart consistently-- that should serve as a lesson to many. I have a personal ideal inspired by Gandhi to be the change I want to see in the world, corny as that may sound to some. I don't know if Mr. Scher shares this philosophy, but he certainly demonstrates it in his actions. I have to say that –unfortunately in my life experiences- the last person I might expect that from would be a lawyer. I can't thank Mr. Scher enough for all he did for us.

  9. Personal Injury and Workers Comp Case Results

    Posted by Robert, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very pleased with the work done on my behalf in 2 cases regarding Workers Comp & Personal Injury. Jerry and Kerry both kept me in the loop on what was happening and explained everything along the way so I understood what to expect. I received a nice Workers Comp settlement and then the Personal Injury Case proceeded rather quickly after that and it too resulted in a generous settlement. Jerry was straight forward and likable. I would recommend him and his Firm to both friends and family, and if need be I would call on his services again myself. Thanks again Jerry!

  10. My experience with Gearld H. Scher

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gerald Scher.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Scher by another lawyer. I had a civil case. His secretary was rude and not helpful. In order to make an appointment, I had to physically go there. Mr. Scher, did not return phone call nor e-mails. He was never on time for any appointment either at the office or court. He didn't seem to know much about my case. He didn't want to waste time by listening about my case. Didn't want to talk to my practioners. Still has not paid my insurance company.( It's been over two years since I settled).I filled a complaint with the Bar, I was that unhappy.