Thomas Patrick Hogan’s Reviews

Thomas Patrick Hogan

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Terrible Experience

    Posted by ben73179, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Hogan to help me handle a short sale. Mr. Hogan was friendly and helpful. HOWEVER, after my consultation I was forwarded to his assistants (which I completely understand). The problem was, his assistants seemed completely disinterested in my case. They failed to keep my phone appointments, and I had to re-explain my case EVERY time because they had completely forgotten about me! One assistant was EXTREMELY RUDE (I can't remember her name). It was quite honestly THE WORST MONEY I'VE EVER SPENT. I subsequently fired Mr. Hogan's law firm, and hired another attorney who settled my issue in half the time at a fraction of the cost.

  2. really appreciate

    Posted by denise, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Really appreciate everything you've done.

  3. No words to express

    Posted by Janelle, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    No words can begin to express gratitude for bringing me out of the darkest times.

  4. Do not recommend

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Our first meeting he sounded knowledgeable about family court, but that was far from the truth. He hardly said anything during mediation and didn't know my case, I ended up losing time with my son when I was there to see him more. I should of fired him then but it was to late to get another lawyer for child support. I now pay 33% of my take home to her. He was again silent and confused in the courtroom, and her lawyer knew it. I could tell he was not well respected by the other lawyers or the judge. It was embarrassing and it cost me dearly. There are better lawyers in Modesto who will charge less and will give more. Stay clear of this guy.

  5. Great Legal Representation!

    Posted by Kathi, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tom has been very adamant about being current with my case and going beyond what I expected from my attorney. He actually does what an attorney is supposed to do. I find this surprising because the last 4 attorneys I hired were not ethical. I definitely recommend Tom to represent you in your family law case.

  6. Answer To My Prayers

    Posted by Kathi, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Throughout my ongoing 7-year divorce and child custody battle, I made the mistake of putting my faith in several different attorneys. In short, they were incompetent, ill-prepared, and a complete waste of my limited financial resources, that produced no positive results. Desperate for answers, my continued faith in the Lord, and his provision for me, brought Tom Hogan into my life. He is an answer to my prayer. Tom is "other" focused. In other words, he is focused on the needs of me and my family and what is best for our circumstances. His biggest payoff is getting justice. He is firm, fair, and consistent. After tens of thousands of dollars later, I am finally getting the representation any honest and forthright person deserves. As you know, a divorce, especially one involving children, is mentally exhausting, emotionally draining, and financially devastating. Look no further, Tom Hogan is the only attorney you will ever need to retain. You and your family deserve the best representation. Tom, through the Lord, has given me complete peace and I am truly grateful.

  7. Great laywer!

    Posted by Minnie, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He was a great help in my legal matters by keeping me informed on what was going on and gave
    me advice on what I should do to help me now and the future! Thanks Tom!

  8. I do not reccommend

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Hogan.

    I retainedTom Hogan and was misled from the beginning. He does not communicate well. His fees are very high and I fell he overcharges for work preformed. He also filed the wrong motion in my case and still billed me for it. For this I can not recommend his to anyone. Please also note as this website warns he has a pervious complaint and action taken by the CA state bar on file.

  9. This man helped me get back on my feet

    Posted by Tom McAdams, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hogan.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was deep in debt. Creditors were calling me at all hours to the point my cell phone and home phone were unusable. I was proud though. I didn't want to file bankruptcy, because my family just doesn't do that type of thing. Tom explained to me how it wasn't a black mark on my families name, it was simply a way to stop the creditors. Tom sat with me for two hours talking to me about my family, my dog, and my business. He really cares about his clients.