Brenda Lynn McCune’s Reviews

Brenda Lynn McCune

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If I could turn back the clock I would

    Posted by Ted, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If I could turn back the clock I would. I wasted 3 months with this lady and over $2000 in fees that she still wont return.

    After my initial consultation with her and rapidly approaching court date I could not get her to return my many phone calls. It was not until I threatened her with termination did she contact me. At court she was an hour late and the family law judge took out her anger on me. I was humiliated with my ex looking on. It looked like McCune had slept in the clothes she was wearing and I thought I smelled alcohol on her breath but I could not be sure.

    She fumbled through her large briefcase which was a mess. My issue had to do with modification of visitation however as she rambled on it was apparent to everyone that she was not prepared or very familiar with my case. The family law judge put a stop to the proceedings. I fired her on the spot.

    She is really nice and attentive when you first meet her but that is where it ends. I do feel a bit sorry for her after spending that time in court with her. I will get my retainer back I'm being told by my current attorney.

    Thank you.

  2. Suspended Attorney...

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Could not finish my case due to her being suspended by the State Bar of California. I should have investigated this attorney instead of relaying on a recommendation. I now see Ms. McCune was on probation and under another investigation late last year. Why did she take on my case if she knew she had an ongoing case against her which she choose to ignore versus responding to the charges? Did she not know in ignoring repeated request by the State Bar would result in a suspension? Is that why she didn't bother paying her annual attorney membership fee? Why did she not disclose this to me when she took my retainer? Now I need to get another attorney to pick up where Ms. McCune left off. And she has the nerve to tell her clients that she is retiring. Shame on her..

  3. Questionable Ethics and Unprofessional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.

    - I experienced a similar issue as others who posted here of Brenda using up my retainer without producing value and results.
    - I found her disorganized
    - Sometimes her language of events, especially if she was questioned was very crude and raw. Very unprofessional and defensive as though her self-maturation is very young.
    - There is a "defensive, hyper sensitive crazy vibe" with her persona which seems to be like two personalities - the one she shows with other attorney's and the one she shows clients. She clearly has two agendas and the agenda with clients comes off as insincere.
    - Lack of accountability and blaming others for why she is late to court, why my paperwork wasn't filed on time, why she had to go home early.
    - Honestly, I don't think she could make it in a bigger firm where she would be held accountable.
    - I imagine with all these reviews if we put a website together we could gather the complaints and organize our efforts so that she can be formally reported to the Bar.

  4. Review

    Posted by mike, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Family matter.

    she represented me through Jarvis Kreiger Sullivan firm in oc. She was unprepared , unprofessional and unethical. When I first met her she sounded assuring & competent ; she Talks a good game but delivers lousy . To start , she arrived to court (late), decided to make some copies right before the judge called her . Before she left she told me that if the judge asked for her I should say that she went to make copies ! The judge waited for her until she needed to move on. My case was sent to another judge that was unsympathetic to my side and evantually I lost the case and $50000 along with it . In the afternoon session she made the judge wait again for her to come back . However , this time , the judge asked the bailif to look for her !

  5. A very costly mistake!

    Posted by Nina, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Child Support matter.

    STAY away from this unprofessional attorney. She is all talk and does not follow through. We hired her to represent us in court for a child support modification. She showed up LATE to court, over an hour and told us she had been waiting in the wrong courtroom. Who does that? She was not prepared in court and was eaten ALIVE by my ex-husband's attorney. She was speechless and looked dumbfounded the entire time in court. She cost me over $15K in arrearage as well as a portion of my ex's attorney fees. She would make conference call appointments with me and the opposing attorney and would cancel or no-show without informing anyone! Her staff was just as useless and unprofessional just like her. They would stall via email and phone calls. Trying to track anyone down in that law firm was a joke for days on out. She drained my entire retainer of $5000 and did not get any paperwork done in a timely manner. And charged me more on top of that. Even after paying her bill in excess of the retainer, she had the nerve to contact me a year post court and issued me another bill - which I paid for already and sent her a copy of her endorsing the check! Unbelievable!!! I have never wasted my time more, and it cost me a bundle! I have her to thank as I write my child support check each month to an ex who does not work at all.

  6. Not Happy with this Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Many mistakes in paperwork, filings, Bad customer service from the staff. Came across very caring at first but drained my retainer and did not accomplished anything in court. Was always late showing up and would never return calls. Ended up by representing myself.

  7. She make my divorce more traumatic

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A terrible experience from start to finish. Shoddy work at best, lies, opened her briefcase in court to reference my case and it was EMPTY, dragged my case out for 2 years just to make more money, never returned phone calls, sent me scathing e-mails, her staff was horrid- constantly lying and covering for her, but she knew I couldn't afford to walk away because I had given her a retainer. The other attorney in my case ate her alive in court, it was a nightmare. I lost horribly, and ended up having to pay her 20K. When I tried to make payments, she threatened collections. Please do not use Ms. McCune for your legal work, it will be a terrible and expensive experience.

  8. Not a good experience

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This attorney told me one thing when I hired her and said she reviewed my case prior to taking it. However, after she took a large retainer she back-tracked on what she said, forgot she looked at my file AND told me she never said the things she told me. This is the strangest situation I have ever been in. She would not refund my money telling me she spent the time. Then her secretary started not returning my calls to schedule an appointment. They continued to run up hours but didn't talk with me. I have had to confide in another attorney to help me deal with this lady. Truly awful.

  9. I'm going to report her to the bar association.

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a simple divorce that should have took no time at all but she drag it on for 2 years . Me and my ex were not fighting over anything we had no kids . But she just kept it going so she could keep charging me .
    At one point at the very end I had to get another attorney because she filed arbitration and collections . The other attorney said that was extortion you can't go after someone 2 ways arbitration and collection when I didn't back down and said I would go to arbitration so we came to a agreement just because I was so exhausted from her she takes your money and beats you mentally down thats how I felt and it was 2 years later .
    A horrible experience i wouldn't recommend her to my worst enemy .

  10. I do not recommend

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda McCune.
    • I hired Brenda 1-3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired this attorney and she used up my retainer without producing value. She has a way of over billing and dragging the process out. This seems to be a deliberate business practice. I have worked with other attorney's in the past and have never experienced such questionable billing practices. I plan on reporting her to the Bar. She does not return phone calls like another reviewer posted. I experienced this and her staff is nasty and unprofessional when pressed for details and for definitive appointments. Brenda canceled at least 2 calls because she had a headache and had to go home for a migraine. Then there was an issue with her son's softball practice. She is overall very unprofessional and tries to position herself as someone who cares about you and your case. The reality is that it is a ploy to get your retainer. I have reported her to the Bar and hope others will do so as well, given the feedback on this site it seems there is a pattern in her performance and this is not isolated.