James C. Yang’s Reviews

James C. Yang

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. EZ Pro Texture inc. Patent Application

    Posted by James, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently had a large company reviewing our product for distribution. During the process their general counsel found that our patent application was being handled incorrectly and in dire need of last minute action. The corporate attorneys had the collective opinion that the patent could not be saved. Mr. James Yang was hired to facilitate the necessary actions to save our patent! I am very pleased to say that he was the right attorney for the job! Mr Yang did thorough research of our product and aided us in rewording our application. He has vast knowledge of patent law and he was clear about the potential for success while pointing out obstacles as well.
    In the end Mr Yang prevailed in acquiring our patent and I highly recommend he and his Firm Stetina,Brunda,Garred,and Brucker for your patent law needs!

  2. Exceeds all expectations!

    Posted by Kimberly, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.

    We found James because we were super frustrated with our original patent attorney in Los Angeles. Let me tell you, I'm so glad we switched. James only had a few days to finalized our trademark and only a few weeks to file our final utility patent application. Patent law is not easy, but he puts it in terms that makes it easily understandable. James is truly one of the best attorneys I've worked with. He's super smart, easy to talk to, VERY responsive, fast and detailed oriented. I will not only use him again, but I will refer him to anyone looking for a great attorney!

  3. Difficult patent application and James was great!

    Posted by Erik, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.

    Our company hired James to complete a software patent application. The subject content was difficult and I was worried that it would be hard for an attorney to properly write the patent application without direct experience in our field. James was great. We explained our product and he got it right away. The process was easy and James gave us great advise along the way. I will definitely use James again in the future.

  4. Thumbs Up for Attorney James Yang

    Posted by Andrew, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.

    I reside on the North Eastern Coast of the United States. I was working on an invention for a period of time and had some concerns about timing issues for filing the application. Upon Googling the issue, Attorney Yang's response came up at the top of the list. I liked the way he addressed the issue, it was clear to me that he had a comfortable knowledge of the subject matter, and so I contacted him to discuss the situation further. Attorney Yang informed me that being on the East Coast was not an issue, and that he would be able to handle my application. Having now spoken to him and feeling quite confident in his abilities, I decided to go forward.

    We had a few in-depth discussions with respect to my invention and frankly I was amazed at how quickly (James) was able to understand this rather unusual invention. I am a mechanical engineer and this is my fifth patent application. Without question, Attorney Yang was right on top of his game. He gave me insight into his own thoughts on my application so that both content and claims would be soundly developed.

    I'm aware that many patents out there are of little value in that they are not well constructed, but it was clear to me that my goal of obtaining a QUALITY patent was almost a certainty because of the level of detail and the genuine concern that Attorney Yang brought to the table.

    Because of time constraints, Attorney Yang suggested that I file a Provisional Patent Application, not at all expensive and I found this to be good advice based on my situation. His office moved promptly and courteously and we had this in place very quickly. Over the coming weeks the Non-Provisional Patent Application was assembled along with Respective Drawings. I was soon asked to review the entire document carefully to be sure that everything properly reflected the goals of the subject invention. I spent about a full week carefully reviewing the document and then got back to Attorney Yang's office with my suggested edits. Most were accepted, some were questioned with sound reasons offered as to 'why' certain points were captured in a specific way. I yielded on some, others were discussed further, but within a couple of days our direction was locked up.

    Timing requirements were properly and professionally managed and I have a very high-quality application on file with the USPTO. The cost was consistent with my expectations, but the quality exceeded my expectations, and so I feel that the value was excellent.

  5. Worth it

    Posted by DarenKee, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great choice!

    I found James online and compared him to at least 10 other attorneys I was researching at the time. His initial consultation did cost money which deferred me at first, but after doing my research and having free consultations with other attorneys I decided to take the risk of paying for the consultation and we scheduled to meet.

    The consultation was very professional and believe it or not, he actually saved me money compared to other attorneys and offers a great resume to back up what he is capable of doing - these two things were big to me.

    I have used him for multiple items and will go back again when needed - highly recommended.

    Do the research yourself and see!

  6. A patent attorney that I highly recommend.

    Posted by Brenda, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James Yang was a great choice for handling my legal matters. After speaking with four attorneys, James stood out. He is very knowledgeable, and is excellent at communicating complex legal information in a way that is clear and easy to understand. He is easy to reach on the phone and responds quickly to email for questions or concerns. He is very current, and uses the internet effectively to provide programs and tools like webinars that facilitate the exchange of information. I felt very confident and secure with his performance and will absolutely continue to work with him in the future.

  7. I'm glad to have found a great attorney

    Posted by Dave, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Seems to be one of the most knowledgeable patent attorneys I have spoken with, and I've dealt with 4 in my lifetime. I learned a handful of very important things that I think every person who is filing a patent needs to know. I am very pleased so far.

  8. I recommend James with no reservations.

    Posted by Arthur, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I started working with James in 2009. He wrote a utility patent for an innovation to a consumer product. James was very diligent and professional. The patent examiner of course rejected claims as they always do. I was on the conference call when James spoke with the examiner to address the examiner's concerns. James did an excellent job of communicating our position and view of the prior art. He ultimately was able to overcome the examiners objections. I was very impressed and think it could not have gone better. Anybody who has gone through the patent process knows how much information can go behind one small sentence. James identified what to focus on and communicated it well.

    I should note that this particular patent at one point had three IP attorneys involved because of one of the partner's previous relationships. James was the clear winner based on skill and trust.

    Trust is paramount between an IP attorney and the client. Trust, in my opinion, trumps all else. I will use James and his firm for future patents and IP related advice.

  9. James Yang

    Posted by Mike, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James is very professional and he makes legalese sounds like basic English. He is helping me patent a product and he is very thorough and helpful. I trust him and I believe in his work.

  10. Review for James C. Yang

    Posted by Scott, a Patent Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Yang.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Patent Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I initially came to James because he returned my call about his services very quickly and offered an introductory meeting for a fair initial rate and we were able to discuss (at length) all the basic components of getting a patent started and the process involved. Our initial meeting was organized and put together well. James is an excellent communicator and has been prompt in responding to any of my inquiries. He did an great job initiating research and putting together a thorough application with excellent drawings and was open to all questions and suggestions I had regarding possible corrections or modifications. I have been very excited to see this process through. Working with James was an excellent decision and I would recommend him to anyone regarding his law services.