Brenda Jean Ballew-Ward’s Reviews

Brenda Jean Ballew-Ward

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Severely Damaged Client

    Posted by Damaged, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! UNETHICAL! UNETHICAL! UNETHICAL! I advise whom ever reads this. Do NOT spend one penny on Brenda Ward atty at law, if you value your assets, money and most important, your children. I paid her in up ward of 20+k. I lost everything except for my children, but that was not due to her. It is difficult to quantify how much this person has cost me financialy. Her actions or lack there of will be haunting me for years. Her representation was malicious and destructive in all aspects of my divorce process.

    I was scared of the unknown and needed her help and had no problem paying her. Instead of helping me she preyed upon me. 99% of the divorce didnt get resolved. I had to hire another Attorney to help fix everything she destroyed.I dont think I will ever recover.

    Brenda is the highest billing Attny is S.B. County,

  2. What A JOKE! This Lawyer is more focused on what she is going to do to her mansion then YOU !

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My divorce took over two years to be final, she was never prepared. I felt like I had to be my own lawyer and would have done a better job. She hires all her many children and step children to run her office and they are rude and uncaring. After a long marriage I ended up with zip and she a new infinity pool! Please do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

  3. Father of two

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife did not believe that I should share custody and did everything she could to keep me from having time with my sons. In the end I have more time than my former wife.

  4. child support and custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She was my lawyer a while back and she handle my case supurbly. i got visitation and a fair child support payment

  5. KEEP LOOKING!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    would not recommend her AT ALL. I hired her for my divorce. She was my atty for 2 years. In that whole time period, i went to court several times and not once did i have a judgement for spousal support and/or child support. This was for a marriage of over 20 years and 3 (at the time) minor children. I found her office staff to be rude and not helpful at all. Every single appointment i had with this woman, she made me either wait as long as up to two hours OR she would cancel the appt after i took the time off my job to make it to her office by my appointed time. One time i was at her office and we were to go to court the next day. Her office staffer came out to me with a pile of paperwork. She told me that Brenda had to cancel our appt, but she wanted ME to read through all that paperwork and then decide if I still wanted to go to court the next day. HUH???? isnt that why you hire an atty? to give you advise. not the other way around?? Needless to day, i fired her, got another attorney and on my first day in court with my new atty, i was awarded spousal support AND child support. something so basic and she was not even able to do that in the whole 2 years i stuck it out with her.

  6. Be Aware !

    Posted by Elaine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Folks --- Please pay attention to the fact that many of the rave reviews for this attorney could have EASILY been written by her staff or one of her many children (some of which ARE/WERE her staff). I maintain that Ms. Ballew Ward was not only very cold and unsymathetic with my situation but gave me VERY bad council. For our scheduled court appearance, she failed to prepare the proper paperwork on my behalf. My husband's attorney had prepared and served papers to me saying that I 'hadn't lived in my home for a year' and that I needed to show up in court the next morning. I was extremely distraught by the allegation, but I wasn't particularly worried because I knew that I was still taking care of business at home even though the situation had become difficult due to my husband's drinking and his mental illness. That was my home for nearly 30 years. I raised 5 kids there. I had proof that I paid all the bills, kept our home out of foreclosure more than one time by borrowing from my family, did all the cleaning, made all the food, did the yard work and all the other things that homemakers do plus alot of things that some homemakers don't do. I also could have gotten a great deal of testimony from long time neighbors if needed. The next day, I sat in the court house hallway all day. I never even got to go into the court room or talk to a judge. Ms. Ballew Ward and the other attorney were behind closed doors together and a restraining order was placed against me. Brenda had never prepared any paperwork in my defense! And just as quickly as that -- I was forbidden to live in, or go into, my own home. It did NOT matter that my husband was an alcoholic who was diagnosed with Altzheimer's. It did NOT matter that I was always the one fighting like crazy to keep our home together. It did NOT matter that my husband had threatened to harm me. It did NOT matter that I was a 60 year old woman whose total life and belongings were in that house. I was devastated that I was, all of a sudden -- homeless! Where was I supposed to go? In the coming months, several derelicts moved into my precious home and I was powerless to stop them. The end result, of course, was the loss of my home, my family and a great deal of money. Hire this attorney? Expensive, agonizing and heartbreaking!

  7. COULDN'T ASK FOR A BETTER ATTORNEY

    Posted by KRISTIN, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    THIS ATTORNEY CARES! IT IS ALWAYS HELPFUL TO HAVE A COMPETENT ATTORNEY, ONE THAT KNOWS THE LAWS AND IS ALWAYS WILLING TO LISTEN. SHE IS VERY EXPERIENCED IN ALL FAMILY LAW MATTERS AND HER STAFF IS VERY NICE. I WAS A DIFFICULT CLIENT BUT I NEVER FELT PUSHED AWAY. I NOTICED THE PEOPLE AT COURT LIKE HER AND SO DO OTHER ATTORNEYS. SHE WENT THE EXTRA MILE FOR ME AND MY KIDS.

  8. Find another attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Initially, Brenda seemed to be very caring & responsive. That was 2 years ago. As time has passed, she and especially her paralegal staff have acted in an unprofessional manner,to the point of rudeness, do not return calls or emails & are consistently "unavailable". I have had my last 3 appointments cancelled by her at the last minute, even though I still need a wage assignment put in place. On this issue, the attitude of her paralegal is that I am being unreasonable by wanting to receive child support. The one area this office is very good with is spending my money. To date, I have paid over $6000 and nothing is yet resolved.

  9. Agressive attorney, a bulldog in court

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used her for my custody case. She got my child support reduced to nothing and after a few hearings and an evaluation I got custody and my lazy ex wife had to get a job. I have referred several people who are satisfied.

  10. If I knew then what I know now....I would run!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brenda Ballew-Ward.
    • I hired Brenda more than 3 years ago.
    • Brenda handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If I knew then what I know now....I would run!!! The case literally destroyed me and my (now adult) son, this Attorney apparently did nothing, or very little, to stop it. I feel I also received inappropriate comments from her staff (even though I was paying THEM). Because of her, we will NEVER recover financially from this case. I blame the entire family court system, the policies that enable corruption, and ALL the players involved....but I feel this Attorney did not do enough to fight for me, and perhaps did the opposite. The case destroyed my son's life!