James Melvin Taylor’s Reviews

James Melvin Taylor

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Atty, Great Man

    Posted by Lori, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had felony charges pressed against me in 2010 for a medical marijuana dispensary I was operating. Another acquaintance of mine refereed James to me because he was helping him with a similar situation.

    At first meeting James was very courteous and let me know that I would not be able to walk away from this free and clear. He answered all myr questions honestly. James dealt with me professionally even knowing that I had another felony case in my past.

    James returns calls very promptly and does not rush you off the phone. James answers or texts to let you know he will call you if he is busy. James still answers legal questions I may have even though I am no longer retaining him.

    I looked through the reviews and can say the bad review is not this James Taylor. This James does not have a website and would never treat anyone badly.

  2. Phenomenal 5 STAR Lawyer

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was referred to Mr. James Taylor by a fraternity brother. He handled my criminal case where I was arrested. Due to James' extensive knowledge of the law, He was able to reduce my plea to an infraction. NO ADDITIONAL JAIL TIME were required.
    It was a relief to have hired an intelligent lawyer / friend / brother to be on your side. During the process, he was prompt in replying to my emails, phone calls, and text messages. ALL IN ALL, he's a PHENOMENAL lawyer to represent you. Even though he specializes in Riverside / San Bernardino County, my case was in the OC county.

  3. Great lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    James Taylor is a great lawyer. Highly recommended by me and my family. He was always there for me if I had any questions or concerns. Very reliable and not impossible to reach like most lawyers can be. I highly recommend Mr. Taylor to anyone that ever needs legal help.

  4. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Terrence, a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my White Collar Crime matter.

    Mr. James Taylor took me from what i thought was a impossible situation to a very manageable situation. I was charged with embezzlement and facing jail time, with embezzlement on my record a newly father it would be very difficult to get another job. Mr. Taylor got my charge to petty theft and no jail time. He kept me updated every step of the way.

  5. Best attorney ever

    Posted by Jeanette, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Violent Crime matter.

    Hiring James as my sons attorney was the best thing we could have did for our case. He answered each and every question we had and was always up front and honest about everything. He helped my family out tremendously, and got my son the best possible deal. James was always more than happy to explain things I didn't understand about the case and assured my family and I that he was gonna do everything he could for us. And I thank God for bringing James in our lives. I'm very happy with his work on our case. Not only do we have a lawyer for life but also a friend.

  6. From 9 years at 80% state prison time to going home within 3 court dates!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I would like to start by saying that I have been involved in criminal law cases for the past 27 years. I caught my first real case when I was 20 years old. I was facing 10 years state prison time and since then I have caught many weapons cases as well as 2 life without parole cases. I have been represented by top rated criminal law firms from Los Angeles to San Bernardino and Riverside countys. In all these cases I would like to say that James Taylor ranks in the top 5 I have ever retained and at a fraction of the cost I might add. I met Mr.Taylor threw a mutual friend who recommended him to me as I was looking for a well qualified criminal attorney to represent my nephew a multiple time felon with about 15 years of prison time under his belt. Well to make a long story short my nephew was looking at 9 years at 80% state prison time. Mr.Taylor assured me this would not happen so within 3 courts dates or about 3 months my nephew walks out of west valley detention center with 3 YEARS PROBATION! Yes I said 3 years PROBATION! James Taylor is truly a professional all the way and truly a man of his word. He prides himself on his work ethic for his client and his communication is also remarkable, he provided me with hourly updates out of court and also with jail visits with my nephew as I live out of state. I would recommend James Taylor with any top rated high dollar firm that I ever used! Written by a very satisfied life long client,

  7. #1 lawyer, I recommend to everyone, trusted & reliable

    Posted by ALBERT, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I HAD SERIOUS CASES (CONVICTED PERSON POSSESS FIREARM, POSS CNTLSUB WHILE ARMED WITH LOADED FIREARM, TRANSPORT CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE) AND JAMES TAYLOR HELPED ME SO MUCH WITH MY CASES. I WAS GOING TO DO BIG TIME BUT THANKS TO JAMES TAYLOR HE HELPED ME GET A BETTER DEAL. HE MADE SURE THE JUDGE WAS WORKING WITH US AS WELL WE WERE WITH THE JUDGE. HE TOOK CARE OF MY CASES EASILY UNDERSTANDABLE AND HE IS VERY TRUSTING. HE EXPLAINS THE CASES AND CHARGES SO WE CAN CHOOSE WHATS BEST. I HAD RECOMMEND HIM TO EVERYONE THAT NEEDS A LAWYER. HE IS #1 LAWYER TO CALL. GLAD TO CHOOSE A GREAT LAWYER!

  8. Better off with a Public Defender to Preliminary Hearing

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    This attorney is spread too thin. One thing he talks about on his own website about other attorneys so you assume he is not like them! He is bouncing all over the place from one case to another. He might call you back but he tries to get you to take a plea you are not comfortable with or allows the case to get continued when you don't want it continued. Far different talk than the one he has with you during the consultation. His initial fee only takes you to the preliminary hearing. We can tell you from experience you should get a Public Defender up to the Preliminary hearing and then hire a private attorney. You will be held to answer, and nothing gets accomplished between the time you are arrested and the Preliminary hearing. He will tell you he is charging you less than most but we discovered that was not true. We gave him all the money he asked for up front, we did not ask for payments. If we had known what is required of him from the beginning, we would not have retained him. He took our money and we never received any statements showing how our money was used. We fired him and are appealing the case for ineffective assistance of counsel. This attorney is more about trying to get a plea deal than getting the charged dropped. Never again!

  9. Best lawyer in califorina hands down !!!

    Posted by Derrick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    James is a excellent lawyer with the perfect courtroom presence. My family and I hired him a few months back on a bank Robery case, he held his word and he got my cousin the best possible deal as well as was honest and upfront with everything. He has also been very patient with us on finishing the payments and working with us in our time of need. Thank you James for all you have done and continue to be a GREAT LAWYER !!

  10. Best in riverside/San bernardino county

    Posted by Jeff, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Taylor.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    James is an amazing lawyer!! He pretty much kept me out of prison!! His professional conduct is incredible. If your I'm the San bernardino or riverside county he is without a doubt the lawyer for you!!