Skip to main content
David Philip Shapiro
Avvo
Pro

David Shapiro’s Answers

4,417 total


  • Will a DUI expungement help me get a SENTRI pass?

    Do expungements help when it comes to that at all or is it just up to the US Border Patrol?

    David’s Answer

    PC1203.4 relief certainly won't hurt when it comes to (re)applying for a Sentri pass.

    See question 
  • How much should I expect to pay for a DUI expungement?

    I see all these places advertising for $200 and then some places charge $2,000. What should I expect? What is typical?

    David’s Answer

    Somewhere between 200 and 2k seems about right, but there are numerous variables at play. Hire the best attorney you can afford to ensure anything and everything gets done right to give your DUI petition the best chance at success.

    See question 
  • Can my son be charged with possession of marijuana in school a MONTH after the incident and questioned without parents present?

    At the time of the incident, the school notified us that the police were already there and spoke to my son. He was found in possession of a vape pen and a small amount of marijuana in the pen. The school released him to my husband and suspended ...

    David’s Answer

    Yes, as it appears they have already done so.

    The best thing you can do for your son is to retain him a quality, experienced, criminal defense attorney.

    See question 
  • I have another DUI less than 90 days apart

    i had one Feb 8th && another one on Saturday May 23 with suspended Ls

    David’s Answer

    Thank you for sharing that information with us. What's your question?

    Make sure you setup your DMV APS hearing within 10 calendar days of your arrest and retain the best, localy experienced, criminal defense/DUI attorney you can afford.

    See question 
  • Was I misled/overcharged by the criminal defense attorney?

    My son was arrested on several charges; 3 felonies and a misdemeanor. I hired an attorney for him the evening before his arraignment, and gave the attorney $7,500, which I understood to be a "retainer". The attorney never showed me the Attorney-...

    David’s Answer

    Your son is the client. Thus, your son should ask his attorney for a return of any unused fees from what was paid.

    I get your frustration, but aren't you happy with the outcome given the fact your son appeared to have been facing multiple felony charges and resolved his case for a misdemeanor? Would you have preferred his attorney billed for the entire $7,500 over the course of weeks/months and your son been convicted of a felony?

    See question 
  • In san Diego California what happens if I get pulled over and no drivers license.

    What happens if I get pulled over in san Diego California but have no drivers license. I have an appointment with dmv for test drive. But my car has registration and insurance up to date. Will I get arrested and pulled over with no divers license?

    David’s Answer

    You can, and likely would, be cited for being an unlicensed operator, pursuant to Vehicle code section 12500.

    See question 
  • Petty theft community service? Extension

    6 months ago my public defender told me to plead guilty and take the offer" of completing a shoplifters class, paying a restitution fee of $33 and 30 hours of community service. I did everything but the community service. Went back to court on Tue...

    David’s Answer

    Then you're not trying hard enough. What did your attorney advise when you were in court this week?

    See question 
  • I received a ticket for minor possession of alcohol, 25662 but infraction is circle, I'm pleading not guilty

    A group of us went to downtown L.A for my friends 21 birthday. we got pulled over and there was alcohol under the seat that i was unaware of. The officer asked who's drinks they were and we all stayed quite. He got mad and said we were all getting...

    David’s Answer

    It's not your burden to prove ANYTHING. It will be up to the prosecutor (or maybe just the cop if it's an infraction) to prove the charge(s) beyond a reasonable doubt. Retain a locally experienced criminal defense attorney to assist.

    Good Luck!

    See question 
  • Can I get a restricted license with a second DUI?

    I heard that I can get a restricted license from the DMV after 90 days if I install an interlock ignition device. Is that true?

    David’s Answer

    Assuming you were not on probation for the first DUI at the time of your second DUI you may be eligible for a restricted license after 90 days of a hard suspension, provided you install an IID on your vehicle, get enrolled in the 18 month DUI program, obtain/maintain SR-22 insurance, and pay the reissuance fee to the DMV for your physical license.

    See question 
  • Can I counter file for bail amount at a restraining order hearing if my court case is still pending?

    got falsely accused of 245(a)(1) was arrested and bailed. was served with TRO upon jail release. TRO hearing is before assault with deadly weapon case

    David’s Answer

    First things first: try and beat the charges and TRO. Hiring a quality, experienced, criminal defense attorney will help.

    See question