Robert Byrne Edmondson’s Reviews

Robert Byrne Edmondson

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. My divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I recommend this lawyer but one of his paralegals, Donna, has no place being in this type of environment. Period. First, Mr. Edmonson is a great lawyer, he is brutally honest and doesn't sugar coat or beat around the bush. My issue is not with Mr. Edmonson or his other assistant up front, but with Donna. I can not tell you how many times I have been told that she would get back to me, and never did. How many times she would send me emails with important documents and the email was either blank (no attachment) or the attachment was for someone elses file. How many times she was just flat out rude, cold and just had the attitude that she was being bothered. My biggest complaint is that the documents being provided to me to sign, once I actually received them, were almost always wrong. The spelling of names, bank accounts, property going to the wrong person, typos galore. In general her disposition is very off putting. The corrections that needed to be made time after time really took a toll on me, especially when you pointed out a mistake and then next thing she will not take your calls or respond to emails.

    Again, if it weren't for the rest of the staff I would have fired this attorney and started the process all over again with someone else. I am not paying all this money to be treated like a second class citizen because I have to constantly point out a million mistakes. Oh and don't ask her questions because she will snap at you.

    It is a shame that Mr. Edmonson has someone with her disposition working with his clients.

  2. Effective, Fair and Ethical

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Edmondson made an initial impact upon me when he declared that I shouldn't expect to receive any undue windfalls from my dissolution proceedings, but that I could expect to receive every consideration that I was entitled to under the law. His assessment of the particulars in my case as well as his ability to hone in on the most pertinent matters eliminated unnecessary costs and wasted time. He was very fair in his billing. For anyone that understands that divorce is a business transaction within time-tested legal parameters, Mr. Edmondson is an excellent choice. Highly recommended, as evidenced by the recommendations I've made already.

  3. Love this guy!

    Posted by Heidi, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Sharp, didn't waste my time with extraneous stuff. looked the ex in the eye and said "sorry Charlie".
    Very upfront, got it done quickly considering how my ex just wanted to drag it out.
    Donna and Morgan very helpful. I felt very relieved and confident once Bob took charge. Got what I wanted and then some. Cost was very fair ,especially when I compared notes with other divorcing friends!
    Recommend highly

  4. BEST ATTORNEY EVER!!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Edmondson, Donna and Morgan were very supportive, knowledgeable and there for all of my non stop questions and concerns regarding my divorce. After being married for 20 years I did not know that it would be such a trying process. I could not have survived this without all of their help. Mr. Edmondson knows what he is doing and gave it to me straight. I may not have liked all the answers, but they were the correct answers. He never sugar coated anything and told me exactly what to expect. For that I thank him. I did not want to go through this with unrealistic expectations of what I would get from my now EX husband. As for Morgan and Donna, they were WONDERFUL!!! They too know what they are doing and I appreciate all the support they offered me during this difficult time. I recommend him to everyone.

  5. honest and experienced

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great listener. He guided me through the most difficult time in my life. Very happy with the settlement. His office staff was very efficient and always prompt. I highly recommend.

  6. Highly experienced attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.

    I also agree with the most recent positive review. Mr Edmondson was knowledgeable, honest and realistic. He promised right from the beginning that he was not able to perform miracles, but would endeavour to ensure that the outcome of my trial would be fair and within the California divorce laws and it was. Do not retain this attorney if you have not done some research on divorce in CA or have expectations that you are not going to have to pay your court ordered child support (caculated by your income versus that of your ex spouse - not the attorney), or you're going to get the house, the car, the kids and off scott free from any financial responsibilities, you won't. I have and will continue to recommend Mr Edmondson as a divorce attorney.

  7. Excellent Representation

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr,. Edmondson is amazing. He is VERY knowledgeable in family law and it shows. Not only did he explain everything to me, but he made sure to be honest with me, as most lawyers do not. He also was very fair in regards to his bill, he did not charge me for some of his work and I received everything I asked for from my ex husband in court.

    Honestly I do not know why the other ratings are so bad for him. His assistant and paralegal were both very nice and helpful throughout this entire nightmare divorce. I have never had a problem with bad attitudes at this office. I have even recommended Mr. Edmondson to a few friends and they have been happy with his services as well. I even received a portion of money back from my retainer that had not been used. If anyone had a problem with Mr. Edmondson or his office I would tell them to take another look back on the situation cause I really just cant believe what they are saying.

    I would use Mr. Edmondson again.

  8. Wow.. I wish I had read these reviews first..

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I wish I had known about this database/read this review before I got into my divorce proceedings! I was referred to Mr. Edmondson from a family friend and unfortunately I am not be able to refer him. I continually struggled to understand what the impact would be for the various options that were presented to me.. My first visit to his office he literally said I didn't need an attorney, no one would believe what was documented by my ex.. On the day of the hearing it's 100% the opposite! He never admitted it, but he forgot about a statue that hurt me and to this day I do not have the custody that I deserve for my children. I was not emotionally prepared for the hearing --for 35 years of practice, it seems he shoud have at least prepped me for the event..or referred me to someone who could have.. I was like a dear in head-lights unable to really "hear" what was being requested of me..
    I am thousands of dollars out of pocket with litigation expenses and matters are still unresolved after almost two years.


    On the plus side. he was responsive to calls/emails. He did try to inform me about what needed to be done with the case, but nearly every conversation with him I still did not completely understand all the issues/decisions and more importantly their impact on me..

    I did have a good experience with his assistant, she was very helpful, but agree with the comments about the receptionist. It seems her job is primarily bill collection.. so I guess that's why he hired someone with her disposition.. She was never hostile, but certainly not warm, caring, friendly.. Sigh.. I just wish I had known about this resource and acted sooner to find another attorney..

  9. Think twice before retaining...!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Referred to Bob through a family friend. The previous review pretty much summed it all. He was not thorough and did not give other options to strengthen the case. I felt like I was part of some social event for him at the courthouse. He kept flagging down acquaintances and colleagues he knew and continued to converse with them rather than sitting me down to strategize about my case. 35+ years is making his head bigger...too conceited in my opinion.

    Ironically, front desk receptionist has same sort of personality. Not very friendly nor approachable. Had to call a few times reminding them to send copies of documents months after.

  10. DUD - Disappointed with, Unprotected by , Did not deliver, fight for client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Robert Edmondson.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Atty did not explain my rights, protect my rights, fight for my rights, did not read important documents, create and explain best strategy for my case, did not provide me with documents filed by other side in a timely manner or at all sometimes, often until I found out about them and had to keep asking for copy. I received one document almost two months later! This is unacceptable. Many of opposing sides arguments went unanswered because of this, and I lost a lot in my case including the judge's outlook on me and my case because of his lazy, arrogant, I'm better than you, attitude. He seems to think he is hot stuff. He is seemingly smart and has been around 30+ years and should be able to represent clients well. But he did not work to protect or fight for me. He also cursed vulgarly when meeting with me (not aimed at me, but my ex) which I did not find professional or appropriate. His receptionist/assistant is also arrogant and cold, did not send me copies of documents although she claimed to, but there was evidence they were not sent. Assistant is not warm or welcoming at all. Assistant is not an asset to office. Not good when they charge a lot per hour and can not be respectful, a hardworking advocate for, somewhat warm and welcoming to clients, and keep client informed by giving client copies of documents as soon as they receive them. I now have heard others' experienced this atty as lazy and arrogant, too. Really disappointed. I lost a lot of ground I shouldn't have by using this atty. He and his asst need to revamp their attitude and representation.