Frieda Gordon’s Reviews

Frieda Gordon

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fine Legal Mind and Very Effective

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frieda Gordon.

    Over the years I have recommended Frieda Gordon to many people, all of whom are very pleased with her services. Ms. Gordon has also assisted me on a number of occasions. She has a very fine legal mind and is very effective.

  2. Pragmatic yet understanding, competent and thorough

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frieda Gordon.

    I found that Frieda was concerned about understanding her actions during this litigation process. She was pragmatic yet understanding in her approach to my situation which caused the litigation in the first place. This is the third time that I have used Frieda's services. I have the highest confidence in her legal abilities and in her zeal in representing and protecting my interests. I would recommend Frieda highly to anyone who needs a competent and thorough lawyer.

  3. Resolves matters fully with care and consideration for cost and stress

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frieda Gordon.

    My husband and I were living in Buffalo NY when his ex-wife in California told social services on 2 separate occasions over 6 years apart that 3 children she had with other partners were his. Both times Frieda resolved these matters fully with care and consideration for the cost and stress to us. She communicated and responded to our issues in a very timely manner. I felt like she use more then our attorney.We built a relationship that has lasted through both cases and today. We are so grateful.

  4. Do Not Hire Frieda

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frieda Gordon.
    • I hired Frieda more than 3 years ago.
    • Frieda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Frieda met with me for $400 and said she would address my questions during that meeting. She did not. She implied that once I retained her, then she would provide a plan and keep me informed. This did not happen. She was abrupt and condescending from the first meeting. This attitude of my feeling like an inconvenience to deal with lasted the duration of the time with her. She discouraged me from getting financial clarity from the other side, she submitted court documents late to my detriment, when I reviewed my bill there were overbilling issues that she said she would address but did not. Her receptionist is also rude. The times Frieda was kind and available was when the retainer had run out and she wanted more money. There was never a plan provided althought I spent over $30,000. She claimed to know opposing counsel well and had insights in how to deal with the other attorney effectively, but that was not the case. I felt that working with Frieda and her office made my divorce harder as the mistakes and lack of accurate guidance hurt me and my case.

    1. Frieda Gordon

      Frieda Gordon

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have no idea who this reviewer is, nor have I ever had a client complain to me, or anyone else to my knowledge, about my attitude towards that client. I never tell potential clients that I will provide them with a "plan" because in family law sometimes the facts take a long time to surface and a situation that seems under control can become volatile overnight. I pride myself in always keeping the client informed. In over 30 years of practice I have never submitted court documents late to anyone's detriment and, above all else, I insist on obtaining all the necessary financial information from the opposing party so that my client can make an informed decision regarding settlement and so that we are completely prepared to present our case to the judge, if necessary. I have no problem dealing with other attorneys, whether I have known them a long time or not, and I pride myself on being well-respected among my peers both as to my knowledge as well as my professionalism. If this reviewer decides to contact me and confront me with these unfortunate and untrue accusations, I would be happy to discuss whatever misunderstandings may have hurt our relationship.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  5. Powerful Representation

    Posted by Thomas E., a Libel client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frieda Gordon.
    • I hired Frieda 1-3 years ago.
    • Frieda handled my Libel / Slander matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ms. Gordon has helped me on several occasions with efficiency, great knowledge, quickly, and very effectively. I've sent a number of friends and colleagues to her and all are very pleased. She knows how to handle a wide variety of situations and does so expeditiously and to great effect.

  6. Frieda Gordon (Cooper-Gordon LLC): Unconscionably high fees and a propensity to bill for work not done

    Posted by Mark, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frieda Gordon.
    • I hired Frieda more than 3 years ago.
    • Frieda handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Frieda Gordon billed me $700 for a telephone consultation which was at best unhelpful, and at worst, outright theft. Before the consultation, I had to sign a contract along with credit card approval documents stating that she would bill me for $350 for one hour of phone consultation and an additional $350 for one hour of "document preparation time". During the 47 minute phone consultation, which I recorded, she gave me only generic information regarding California probate law. When I questioned Ms. Gordon about the particulars of my case, she was obviously unprepared. On the recording, I can be heard asking her four separate times, "Did you read the documents?"  When I mentioned the name of the primary actor, a person whose name appears 122 times in the documents, (I did a word count) she had to ask me who that person was.  Looking back, I should have terminated her right then over the phone.  I have listened to the recording multiple times and have become convinced that Frieda Gordon is truly the embodiment of all  that can go wrong with a private practice attorney; she is corrupt and incompetent.  Before I could send her a  letter of termination, I received a new and unexpected contract from her in which she had raised her hourly billing rate to $400 per hour!

    In my research, the lowest advertised fees I found for probate attorneys in California were  $180 an hour. The fees charged by Cooper-Gordon are at the very top end of the scale. I recommend contacting one of the attorneys  listed on Bill Handel's web site located here:  http://www.handelonthelaw.com/home/ 
    The method of screening these attorneys in not described anywhere on Bill Handel's site, but every single attorney I contacted answered my questions intelligently via e-mail, free of charge.

    Regarding Frieda Gordon's client-attorney contract; it is massive and curiously detailed. In it, she attempts to indemnify herself from every possible accusation a client could possibly make regarding "creative billing".  After looking it over again, I couldn't help but wonder if it was a catalog of past client billing accusations against her. Truly an odd document, which in my opinion, falls suspiciously short of what a good faith client-attorney  contract should be.

    One last comment. Negative reviews about professionals such as this one are typically short lived on the net. This is because attorneys, doctors, accountants etc, who garner these type of reviews employ "reputation repair" services. As of this writing in 2011,   I was able to find only one brief and poorly written positive review on Frieda Gordon, and not a single negative review, despite her being a practicing attorney for more than 25 years. So, you hereby have my permission to reprint this review anywhere it can serve the public good. 

    1. Frieda Gordon

      Frieda Gordon

      Lawyer Comment:

      This reviewer was never my client. He paid me for two telephone consultations. He illegally taped our two conversations without informing me and obtaining my agreement. After I refused to represent him, he sent me a letter attempting to force me to provide legal services for him that were highly unethical and unlawful by telling me that he would make sure to ruin my reputation if I refused. He never complained about the fees or requested reimbursement.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Unbelieveably bad experience, then she ilegally refused to return retainer!

    Posted by Mike, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frieda Gordon.
    • I hired Frieda more than 3 years ago.
    • Frieda handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    If there were only a zero star rating.

    My wife and I went to Frieda to get a very simple pre-marital agreement written up. The terms were simple, and only after we paid her $3000 retainer did she tell us that she CATEGORICALLY REFUSED to sign a prenump with no spousal support. Last I checked, she is supposed to author an agreement based on our goals, not her own ego! She wanted to litigate the entire divorce before we even got married.

    So when we fired her (to get another attorney who would do the contract as we wanted it) she refused to return the nearly $2500 left of the retainer that she had billed against! This is against the CA Bar Association's Rules of Professional Conduct section 3-700 D.

    What a nightmare.

    1. Frieda Gordon

      Frieda Gordon

      Lawyer Comment:

      "Mike" was never my client. I have never met him and spoke to him only briefly on the telephone. What his fiancee at the time and I spoke about during our brief lawyer-client relationship is protected by the lawyer-client privilege. However, I will say this. Prenuptial agreements are often difficult to uphold in court. They are that much easier to overturn when spousal support is waived. If certain conditions of that waiver are not met, I am reluctant to sign off on such an agreement. I have NEVER refused to sign a prenup bargained for in good faith, with or without spousal support waivers, and certainly am not interesting in litigating anything that is unnecessary. The point of a prenuptial agreement is to attempt to avoid future litigation. Please note that the reason parties to a premarital agreement are required to have independent counsel is because their interests are not aligned, despite their common love for each other and the desire to live with each other and support each other for the rest of their lives. I will also point out that my client did, in fact, receive the balance left in our client trust account in excess of my time billed.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  8. a very satisfied client

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frieda Gordon.
    • I hired Frieda more than 3 years ago.
    • Frieda handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    ms gordon has a wonderful "bedside manner" which is so important to me, now, that my personal life (love, kids) is falling down around my head. Ms Gordon brings an expertise to MY SIDE of the negotiations. She's a "straight-shooter" who cares about my well=being, but is not going to sugar coat any problems.