Joseph Andrew Pertel’s Reviews

Joseph Andrew Pertel

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Attorney to chose!!

    Posted by Richard, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was taken to jail for car insurance fraud. I retained attorney Pertel, I let him know I wanted to possibly plea to a misdemeanor in my case. I was facing two felony charges. He said let me see what I can do. We went to court, the prosecuter presented their part of the case and then Pertel presented my side of the case. In short (which happened to be a very long day) Joseph Pertel had the case thrown out. I could'nt believe it. I'm glad I hired him and I'm glad I didn't take a deal.
    Since then, I have recommended attorney Pertel to a few of my family and friends and they have all been very satisfied with the outcome of their cases.
    To bad he doesn't do custody, my children's mother is taking me back to court.

  2. The best Lawyer in the world!

    Posted by Robin, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Civil Rights matter.

    I cannot say enough in this review of Joseph Pertel. His knowledge of the legal system was beyond my expectations and because of this, I was confident he was always leading me in the right direction. As well, I knew I would win my case. He guided me in decision making where it was needed and guided me always in the right direction. Joseph Pertel was very clear and upfront in what he was doing, what he was researching and why, he did this in every aspect of the case. His honesty and integrity are above and beyond, he showed this every step of the way and never treated me as somebody incompetent because I did not know the ins and outs of the legal system. Besides being an incredible Lawyer, he is one of the nicest people to know. I was more than pleased with the outcome of my civil case and we won everything we asked for.

  3. Experienced and compassionate

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am a criminal defense attorney, so when my family member was arrested I knew that I'd have incredibly high standards for her lawyer. Joe Pertel met and exceeded all of my expectations. When I called him for an estimate, he was incredibly friendly, candid and compassionate. His rate was fair. He met with my family over the weekend to get the case moving along as quickly as possible. Not only did he keep me abreast about developments in the case (with the permission of his client), he also made sure we all understood and felt comfortable with his strategy. Thanks to his years of experience practicing criminal defense law in Los Angeles and the impressive network of people with whom he has developed professional ties, he was able to achieve a fantastic outcome in my relative's case. He is obviously well-regarded by peers, adversaries, and judges alike. I cannot praise him highly enough and would recommend him without reservation to anyone. I should also mention that he was referred to me by another criminal defense attorney for whom I have the utmost respect.

  4. Excellent Lawyer, Outstanding Human Being

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was fortunate to be referred to Joe Pertel by another attorney who worked with Joe in the past and thinks very highly of him. From our first phone conversation I realized that Joe was truly listening to me, and was also giving me complete information; he did not sugarcoat things. The combination of his extensive experience, and his authentic caring and compassion, brought my criminal case to the best possible resolution. Joe is extremely knowledgeable with regard to the Superior Court system, and is excellent in the courtroom; a consumate professional who is clearly well-respected by other attorneys as well as by judges. In fact, the outcome of my case was partially due to the judge's past experience of Joe as always being reliable and straightforward.
    Joe was available to talk with me when I needed his advice and encouragement. He walked me through each step with meticulous attention to detail. I am so grateful to have been represented by Joe Pertel, and recommend him without reservation.

  5. Pertel Saves the Day

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe Pertel defended me in a criminal lawsuit which stretched for over two and a half years. He not only initially was able to bring my felony down to a misdemeanor, but he gave me solid legal council and directed me in the right direction while dealing with my case. Joe made sure I was aware of everything that was going on, and even dealt directly with the insurance company's lawyers when I was having difficulty getting through to them. Joe Pertel definitely saves the day!

  6. Review of Joseph Pertel

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I came to Joe Pertel seeking legal advice for a DUI. He immediately accepted my case and began working diligently to aid me with this issue. He was always open and available to answer my questions. He was knowledgeable and able to articulate every aspect of the case to me in lingo non-lawyers would understand. I was expecting to have the book thrown at me but Joe and his 18 years of experience intercepted and the outcome was amazing. I was cleared from the DUI. I would recommend Joe Pertel to anyone who has a legal issue. He is sharp and he knows the law. Thanks to Joe I have a clean slate. He is sincere and willing to work with you and that’s what sets him apart from other lawyers. Throughout this entire case, I have been stress free. Thanks Joe!

  7. Outstanding Person & Attorny

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe Pertel was referred to me from my personal Attorney who had developed serious health issues and no longer was able to practice law. I was told from him that Joe would be the Attorney he would refer his family too or he would use if he was not a Lawyer himself. He had been up against Joe in a few cases and said Joe was simply Top Notch!! My youngest son had been arrested and had one felony count for drug possession with intent to sell. Joe phoned me back within an hour and after I mentioned to him how upset and scared my son was, he phoned my son that evening late and spent a good amount of time comforting him. It warmed my heart he was so kind, and comforting in a difficult time for my family. Joe handled my son's case with excellence! He was well prepared, prepared my son and our family perfectly. We all new what to expected and the case turned out as Joe indicated it would. Joe is a expert Attorney with a caring warm heart and most importantly, he has world class inter-personal skills! I'm hopeful never to need his services again, but without a doubt would call him for my family needs and would be honored to refer him to dear friends. It's my pleasure to call him my Attorney and now a friend! Thank you!

  8. Humanity at its best.

    Posted by Brenda, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Pertel is truly humanity at its best. He naturally makes you feel comfortable. He is efficient, and really cares about you and your legal issue. He is truly trustworthy, very, very responsive, knowledgeable, and he will definitely keep you informed. He will represent you very well and at the end of the day you will be glad that you chose him.

  9. Client Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Pertel.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I will be somewhat vague to keep this as anonymous as possible.
    Joe is not your typical attorney.
    He went out of his way to really fight
    a tough, convoluted, and complicated criminal case for me from 2003-2007.
    A corrupt D/A (who ended up transferring to a different office after the case), dishonest detectives, an incredibly inefficient and disorganized court system,
    fabricated evidence, and a bankrupt accuser who was looking to play the court system for a payday were some of the things he had to deal with.
    Without his help I can't even bring myself to think
    about what might have happened.