Warren Robert Shiell’s Reviews

Warren Robert Shiell

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Reliable, excellent lawyer

    Posted by Meredith, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren 1-3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Child Custody matter.

    I was represented in a very complicated matter by Mr. Shiell this year that involved international law, custody and paternity issues. The father had hired a big name expensive lawyer who went to court and requested extremely unfair orders that would have devastated my life. I found Mr. Shiell's office to be very professional, courteous and attentive to my concerns. His hourly rates were less than the other side, and his bills were reasonable in light of the difficulty of the case and the results he achieved. He was referred to me by a leading international family lawyer in New York because of the international aspects of the case and I am very grateful to that lawyer for the referral. I was very much overwhelmed by the uncertainties of the case and was also dealing with some medical complications of the pregnancy itself. Mr. Shiell navigated these issues better than I could have ever imagined. Mr. Shiell worked hand in hand with me to develop a complex legal strategy to defeat the father's claims. It involved consulting with experts in another country and also consulting with reproductive technology experts. At every step of the process, Mr. Shiell consulted with me and explained what was going on. Whenever I had any questions, he always promptly responded. He really went above and beyond to help me figure out my best strategy. In the end, he put together such a strong case that only 2-3 days after the other party received our response, they dropped the case entirely, with prejudice. It's hard to believe that only two months before I hired Mr. Shiell, I was in a desperate predicament with very few options and now, thanks to Mr. Shiell, I am free from all of that and able to move on with my life. Mr. Shiell's office saved me from years of headache and heartache and I will forever be grateful for his outstanding representation.

  2. Highly intelligent, skilled with sound judgment

    Posted by JB,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.

    I have been a family law forensic CPA for over a dozen years and I have been privileged to have worked with many of the best family law attorneys in the Los Angeles area. I count Warren Shiell among these best lawyers. He is a highly intelligent and skilled attorney. From my point of view, working both on his team and against his team, Warren Shiell does an excellent job zealously and reasonably representing his clients' interests. On cases in which I have been involved with Warren Shiell, he is professional, attentive to detail, responds in a timely fashion, and always carefully supervises his expert’s work. Also based on my knowledge of quality family lawyers, his legal rates are exceptionally reasonable given his expertise and experience.

    Warren Shiell seeks to resolve his cases with the appropriate level of work. Warren Shiell uses his sound judgment in advising his clients which issues are worth fighting for (or defending against) and which issues are not.

    Bottom line: I do not hesitate to recommend Warren Shiell.

  3. Inattentive and unreliable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren 1-3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Warren Shiell to deal with a relatively straightforward matter involving the renegotiation of the final stages of my divorce agreement. While the legal aspects were not complicated, I needed someone who could help me plan out a strategy in advance (I came to him almost six months before a deadline mandated in the agreement) and be sensitive to the psychology of the situation. I’m sorry to report he was inattentive both to the case and to the notes I gave him about dealing with my ex, was difficult to reach, called out of the blue only when it suited him, failed to draft a proposal letter as I repeatedly ask him to do and then, with just a few weeks to go before deadline, disappeared on vacation for a month without any forewarning. The one document he produced was a strategy sheet, which largely reproduced work done by a forensic accountant (for which I had paid separately) and proved to be almost entirely unusable after I hired a new – fabulous, efficient, attentive and effective – attorney.

    After I dismissed him, it took him more than a month to provide a final billing and a check for the balance of my retainer, and then only after repeated reminders that became necessarily more insistent. In the wake of his dismissal, he charged three times as much for the last month as he had for previous four. He insisted he had charged me correctly for the work he put in, but I saw scant evidence that that was the case.

    I was deeply disappointed because Mr. Shiell came warmly recommended as a tough but fair-minded divorce lawyer who charged reasonable rates and gave clients their money’s worth. That was not my experience, on any front. Perhaps he didn’t find my case all that interesting. If so, he should have turned me down and/or referred me elsewhere, not wasted my time and my money. Others beware.

  4. Terrific Lawyer!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren 1-3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Warren represented me in a divorce and several post-divorce matters. He was attentive to detail and his legal and strategic advice was very sound, timely and cost effective. I worked closely with Warren and a forensic accountant that he recommended along with a network of professionals that specialized in divorce matters. My wife was represented by a much larger, more expensive, and viscious law firm but that had no effect on the outcome. Ultimately, Warren saved me tens of thousands of dollars when my wife’s lawyers tried to wildly exaggerate my actual income and paint me in a bad light. Under the settlement we reached, I shall soon be done paying support while my ex continues to burn through her trust fund money. In court and at a voluntary settlement conference, Warren was well prepared and was well respected by the Judges. Since the divorce, my ex-wife still tries to make trouble and when she does I immediately turn to Warren who can be relied on to cut through her BS. Most importantly, Warren gave me sound advice regarding the custody of my children and now we are spending more time together, which I am extremely grateful for.

  5. Family law review

    Posted by Nellie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren more than 3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Warren shiel represented me in one of the toughest family law cases. I came to him at a point when I was in desperate need and he saw the case through from beginning to end. He is a trusted ally and attorney and I would recommend him to anyone.

  6. Nice guy but major character/integrity flaw.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren more than 3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Warren seems to be a nice guy and he is very smart, but he makes critical legal mistakes and courtroom blunders and will not take responsibilty. He does not have the character or integrity to correct or face mistakes he makes.
    Warren made a critical mistake on my case. It was a simple matter and the Judge even tried to help Warren. He would not try to correct the mistake or deal with it. It cost me thousands of dollars.
    Warren is a good fit for Los Angeles. He has very little integrity and runs from accountability. This is probably why he changes offices and moves around so frequently.

  7. Excellent attorney

    Posted by CJ, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren more than 3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you for your excellent services in litigating my divorce. The case was somewhat contentious and I have appreciated your steady hand as we went through the process. In particular, your accessibility and quick response were very reassuring. I have had friends in similar circumstances that had difficulties reaching their attorneys or felt the responses they got were inadequate or untimely. You have always been right on top of the situation. Considering that I was out of state, we only had one face-to-face meeting during the mediation, and you managed this case otherwise with solely electronic and telephonic interactions between us, you did a great job.

    There were a couple of specific occasions when you displayed admirable legal savvy against my wife’s attorney preposterous claims. You managed to beat my wife’s claim that one of our properties was her separate property and your special interrogatories were concise and discriminating. You always kept us well prepared, made clear to me what the “game plan” was, and led me through the process step by step. I am relieved that you avoided a costly trial and reached
    a settlement agreement. Thank you for your fine service, your professional yet friendly demeanor, and your dry sense of humor when the going got tough.

  8. Great attorney

    Posted by CJ, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren more than 3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you for your excellent services in litigating my divorce. The case was somewhat contentious and I have appreciated your steady hand as we went through the process. In particular, your accessibility and quick response were very reassuring. I have had friends in similar circumstances that had difficulties reaching their attorneys or felt the responses they got were inadequate or untimely. You have always been right on top of the situation. Considering that I was out of state, we only had one face-to-face meeting during the mediation, and you managed this case otherwise with solely electronic and telephonic interactions between us, you did a great job.

    There were a couple of specific occasions when you displayed admirable legal savvy against my wife’s attorney preposterous claims. You managed to beat my wife’s claim that one of our properties was her separate property and your special interrogatories were concise and discriminating. You always kept us well prepared, made clear to me what the “game plan” was, and led me through the process step by step. I am relieved that you avoided a costly trial and reached a settlement agreement. Thank you for your fine service, your professional yet friendly demeanor, and your dry sense of humor when the going got tough.

  9. A Great Attorney with a Personal Touch

    Posted by Nicole, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren more than 3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was mired in a very nasty custody dispute and had already been through a couple of lawyers before a friend recommended Warren. Custody disputes are never nice and my case was particularly difficult. I was beginning to feel like no one was on my side and worried that my situation was becoming hopeless.

    My situation and eventually my outlook changed completely when Warren arrived. He made me feel like he genuinely cared about my case and he worked tirelessly to make sure that my needs were represented.

    My case was not easy: minor's counsel was appointed, we had home evaluations and we had many court appearances spread out over many months. With Warren I always felt prepared and well informed.

    With Warren's help we were finally able to come to an agreement in my case last month, something that I wasn't even sure would ever be possible before I began this process. Incredibly we managed to come up with an arrangement that everyone was happy with and that, most importantly, put the interest of the children first.

    Warren is a true professional, but he is also compassionate and understanding and when the stakes are so high and the case is so personal that counts for a lot. My situation is much better now than it was, or than I could have even ever hoped it would be, before committing to this process and seeing it through. I could not have done it without Warren's guidance and his personal touch. For that I will be forever grateful.

  10. Great Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by Alan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Warren Shiell.
    • I hired Warren more than 3 years ago.
    • Warren handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Warren helped me through the toughest time in my life. He provided me with sound advice during a very highly emotional period. He had a network of professionals that helped me evaluate the worth of my assets in order for me to make key decisions. He was able to provide various options and presented the pros and cons for each decision. He was very responsive in returning calls and keeping me informed throughout the process. Warren truly cares about his clients and has their best interests in mind. If I decide to get married again I will be using him to draft my prenup! Thanks Warren