Troy Slaten’s Reviews

Troy Slaten

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great lawyers, awesome people, excellent results!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Troy Slaten and his partner Robert Dudley and their amazing team are hands down the best DUI defense team around. I was in the horrible position of being accused of DUI. They immediately sprung into action contacting the DMV for me. They contacted the DA and convinced them to not even file my case. OMG!!!! I believe that is the best thing a defense attorney can do for their client. I thank goodness a trusted friend steered me to them. It seems that DUI and criminal defense attorneys are a dime a dozen. But I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw Troy Slaten on TV as one of those talking heads on the news talking about some cases!! I was like, "That's my lawyer!!!!" Troy and Bob were so kind, caring, responsive to my needs and effective at getting the job done that I would not hesitate to recommend them to my friend and family. Did I mention they got the DMV to give me back my license too? All in all, they made a horrible situation turn out for the best. I cannot sing their praises loudly enough. I cannot thank them enough.

  2. Outstanding Attorney for DUI Defense - Fantastic Results Achieved!!!

    Posted by Steve, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Troy Slaten is outstanding in his specialty of defending LA County DUI cases. Troy not only got my case dismissed and driver's license restored by the DMV, but he got my case dismissed in LA County Superior Court without a plea bargain and before it went to trial. My case was not an easy case to dismiss. I salute Troy for a job well done; I also highly recommend him. Troy is also great at explaining the law and options, etc., and at keeping the client well-informed. Troy is willing to spend time to answer questions in terms that the layperson can understand. This guy is great!

  3. AMAZING....

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.

    I hired Troy after reading his wonderful reviews on AVVO and they were not wrong. I was very scared and nervous about my case. From our first initial phone call to my case being closed, Troy and his staff were always there to help. They walked me through everything step by step. I could not have been happier with my choice. Troy even gives out his cell number to all clients! What attorney does that. If you need an attorney hire Troy and his staff. You cant go wrong.

  4. Quite an experience

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    They were prompt to sign me up but after that communication was dismal. I get e mails from the secretary and not from the lawyer. He basically acted like a well paid administrative assistant. In the future I recommend open and good communication. Also I didn't see him show confidence in the court room.

    1. Troy Slaten

      Troy Slaten

      Lawyer Comment:

      I pride myself on good, open lines of communication with all of my clients. In fact, I even provide my personal cell phone number to every single client. I have a policy to respond to calls within 24 hours. I am extremely disappointed that this person didn't contact me to address their concerns because there may have been a way to fix whatever it is that they were upset about. Because this poster choose to remain anonymous (as is their right), it is difficult to respond specifically. I invite whomever posted this information to contact me asap so that I can make sure that whatever happened, to make this person not feel confident in our services, never happens again. My cell phone number is 310-892-4218.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  5. Shark Lawyer!!! Super nice guy!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Yes, I was dumb. Lets start with that. My folks (especially my mother) have given me the old "I told you so" regarding driving after drinking after I got arrested for DUI.

    I thought my life and future career were basically over. My dad's friend is a lawyer who told us that he knows "THE BEST" DUI lawyer in town. Blah blah blah... I thought "Sure. One lawyer giving his buddy a little more work...." I couldn't have been more wrong.

    First, he took our call on a Saturday night!!! Saturday night! We thought we were just going to leave a message but no, they connected us to him right away. After just a few minutes on the phone, we knew we were in good hands. His knowledge about the intricacies of DUI and DMV law are encyclopedic.

    They wanted to slap me with a DUI even though nobody saw me driving (unfortunately i admitted to the cops I was driving-DOH!!). And there wasn't only alcohol in my system because I am a medical marijuana patient and I have a valid card.

    Even though my alcohol level was below the legal limit of .08, there was "metabolites" from marijuana in my blood. I told Troy that I had not smoked in the last 12 hours before driving. The DA, of course, didn't care and wanted me to plead guilty!!! troy said there was no way he was going to let that happen. He got a court order for the blood to be analyzed by a private lab that was able to prove that there was no active metabolites. He told the DA that all they could prove was that I used marijuana (legally) within the last 30 days! BAM!!!!!! (sorry Emeril) Case dismissed. He pushed it all the way to trial and on the day we were set to begin, the DA folded like a shabby house of cards. "We cant proceed your Honor...." may be the sweetest words I ever heard.

    Troy seems like a nice, normal, kinda geeky guy (sorry Troy if you read this). But HOLY SMOKES does he tear it up in court. I found out after I hired him that he used to be a child actor. I am so glad he didnt end up like all the rest of them and instead is out there fighting for people like me who were getting railroaded by the system. BTW he also got the DMV to dismiss their case too and my license was never suspended for even 1 day. I did have to go to DMV to get a new one bct he lovely cop took mine (illegally Troy explained).

    The point is this: If you are lucky enough to have Troy heading up your defense, you are very lucky indeed. I cant thank him enough and he even has inspired me to look into law school as a second career.

  6. Attorney Troy Slaten was invaluable in helping me through my DUI nightmare!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Back in November 2012, I experienced one of the most horrifying nights of my life. I went out with a friend and had a few drinks. On my way home, I was pulled over by a L.A. County Sheriff’s deputy for making an illegal U-turn. The deputy asked if I had anything to drink. I replied, yes 1 drink. At which point, I was given Field Sobriety Tests and asked to blow into a breathalyzer. To my knowledge everything went well and I was fine. But I couldn't have been more wrong. Within 20 minutes, my life was turned completely upside down and would be forever changed. Although I only had a few drinks and didn't “feel” drunk, my B.A.C. was well above .08, the legal limit for driving. I was arrested and taken to jail! I had NEVER expected to find myself in such an unfortunate disaster. Being a law abiding professional person and suddenly arrested for DUI is a nightmare and very stressful.

    I was beyond devastated, absolutely crushed and literally thought my life was over. As a government employee, I was in danger of losing my job and would likely be inadequate in obtaining another public service job. The possibility of being unemployed brought me much anxiety and worry. I was a wreck.

    My situation was dire and would require hiring a skilled DUI attorney. I blindly began pursuing attorneys, I Googled - “DUI attorney in L.A. County” and found countless pages of DUI sites. I read tons of reviews, made several phone calls and even met with a few attorneys. It was an exhausting and daunting task. I quickly learned that it wasn't difficult to find an attorney, but it would be difficult to find the RIGHT attorney. I was looking for someone who understood my severe mental anguish and the importance of preserving my employment. I really needed someone who was going to be a strong advocate for me. I didn't feel comfortable with most of the attorneys and was losing hope. Until one night I called a number from a DUI truck.

    I immediately received a call back, it was Attorney Troy Slaten. Even though it was 9:30 p.m., he still took the time to speak with me for one hour free of charge. After our conversation, I immediately knew TROY SLATEN WAS THE RIGHT ATTORNEY for me. What a HUGE relief! The difference between him and the others was that he was so sincere, compassionate and truly understood the human dynamics of the despair I was feeling. He didn't treat me like a "criminal" - he treated me more like a friend. Further, he explained everything so thoroughly, it was evident that he is an expert in handling DUI cases. Mr. Slaten provided me with peace of mind & assured me that he would represent me at BOTH the DMV and Criminal Court Cases.

    DUI cases are quite complex and confusing. It’s difficult to understand the differences between the DMV case and criminal case. He was there for me every step of the way during BOTH cases. I honestly don’t know how I would've survived without him. He’s a true DUI expert who knows exactly how to navigate through the criminal court system and bureaucracy madness at the DMV.

    My B.A.C. was 0.13 and it was pretty cut and dry. A 30 day mandatory suspension of my Driver’s License and DUI conviction seemed pretty much inevitable. But Attorney Troy Slaten is so skilled at DUI law that he was able to produce unbelievable and OUTSTANDING results!! He prevented the suspension of my driver’s license AND got both DUI charges against me dismissed and reduced to a “Wet” Reckless.

    Bottom line is, don't depend on the a public defender, don't just hire any attorney, hire an expert to give you the same passion and perseverance that someone like Attorney Troy Slaten is going to give to you. He’s sharp, extremely talented and a wonderful human being. I am forever grateful to Attorney Troy Slaten & his team for helping me through one of the darkest times in my life. Today I still have my job and can finally see things moving forward in a positive way. People like Troy truly make the world a better place.

  7. Wrongfully Charged, Slaten Got the Case Rightfully Dismissed!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy more than 3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was so dispirited by having been wrongfully accused. I had broken no law and done nothing wrong. I was ready to plead and just get it over with, then I talked to Slaten. He worked for a year and, in the end, won a dismissal. Nothing on my record. He's terrific.

  8. Great lawyer

    Posted by Larissa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had 2 duis, the second one being while on probation and I saw really no hope of getting out of this without jail time. Troy took on my case and worked with me with the million questions I had. He has a lot of knowledge he told me everything I need to do and I didnt have to go back to jail. I was just terrified of everything and he walked me through it every time that was so important. I strongly recommend him he's sharp!

  9. Best Lawyer Ever!

    Posted by Adeline, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Troy did an outstanding job in representing my brother. My family does not have enough words that can show our appreciation for Troy. He was superbly efficient and professional in our case. My brother’s case was victorious due to his dedication and perseverance throughout the entire time handling our case. I would recommend his services to anyone who needs legal assistance. I offer my heartfelt thanks and appreciation.

  10. AMAZING!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I got my DUI I had no idea what I was supposed to do. I had a buddy tell me about this amazing lawyer that was able to help him out with his case. Troy went after my case like a shark and represented me like I was family. I wouldn't ever recommend any attorney except Troy. Thank you to him for helping me in a time of need.

If you need the BEST POSSIBLE RESULT in your case. Call us now! We are available 24/7

310-824-8896