Troy Slaten’s Reviews

Troy Slaten

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Strong attorney - HIGH PRAISES

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.

    Troy provided exceptional support during a very stressful time. He intimately understood the details and processes related to the case and put me at ease. This allowed me to focus on what I needed to do. I HIGHLY recommend him and will continue to refer friends and family to his firm.

  2. Aggressive representstion that gets results

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with a dui after having a prior. Troy aggressively represented me at the dmv hearing and effectively cross examined the cop exposing many inconsistencies in his report. He came up with the idea of creating a transcript from the dmv hearing which we gave to the prosecuting attorney so he could see the flaws with the case were it to go to trial. As a result we were able to negotiate a wet reckless instead of a dui. I will never drink and drive again but if it happened to you I would not hesitate to call Troy Slaten!

  3. Reliable, Trustworthy and Diligent Lawyer!!!

    Posted by Larry D, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My experiences as Troy Slaten's client has been all positive! The process of my minor incident was handled seamlessly. The whole time I was at ease as he handled my case. I would personally recommend Troy to all family and friends in the future! Thank you Troy!

  4. One Good Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by Scott, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Troy beat two unbeatable traffic tickets for me. I would not even have thought of challenging these tickets except that a friend strongly suggested that I talk to Troy before paying up. Faced with DMV points on my license for at least one of them; I talked to Troy. A few months later, cases dismissed, both cases. No points on my license and LASC will be mailing to me a refund check for the bail I posted. Troy really knew what he was doing and kept me informed all the way through. He is a caring, competent lawyer, and I highly recommend him.

  5. Gets the Job Done

    Posted by Scott Anthony Holy, Esq., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Troy works hard, knows what he is doing, and keeps his clients informed. He is a caring, competent lawyer, and I recommend him without reservation.

  6. Great lawyers, awesome people, excellent results!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Troy Slaten and his partner Robert Dudley and their amazing team are hands down the best DUI defense team around. I was in the horrible position of being accused of DUI. They immediately sprung into action contacting the DMV for me. They contacted the DA and convinced them to not even file my case. OMG!!!! I believe that is the best thing a defense attorney can do for their client. I thank goodness a trusted friend steered me to them. It seems that DUI and criminal defense attorneys are a dime a dozen. But I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw Troy Slaten on TV as one of those talking heads on the news talking about some cases!! I was like, "That's my lawyer!!!!" Troy and Bob were so kind, caring, responsive to my needs and effective at getting the job done that I would not hesitate to recommend them to my friend and family. Did I mention they got the DMV to give me back my license too? All in all, they made a horrible situation turn out for the best. I cannot sing their praises loudly enough. I cannot thank them enough.

  7. Outstanding Attorney for DUI Defense - Fantastic Results Achieved!!!

    Posted by Steve, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Troy Slaten is outstanding in his specialty of defending LA County DUI cases. Troy not only got my case dismissed and driver's license restored by the DMV, but he got my case dismissed in LA County Superior Court without a plea bargain and before it went to trial. My case was not an easy case to dismiss. I salute Troy for a job well done; I also highly recommend him. Troy is also great at explaining the law and options, etc., and at keeping the client well-informed. Troy is willing to spend time to answer questions in terms that the layperson can understand. This guy is great!

  8. AMAZING....

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.

    I hired Troy after reading his wonderful reviews on AVVO and they were not wrong. I was very scared and nervous about my case. From our first initial phone call to my case being closed, Troy and his staff were always there to help. They walked me through everything step by step. I could not have been happier with my choice. Troy even gives out his cell number to all clients! What attorney does that. If you need an attorney hire Troy and his staff. You cant go wrong.

  9. Quite an experience

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    They were prompt to sign me up but after that communication was dismal. I get e mails from the secretary and not from the lawyer. He basically acted like a well paid administrative assistant. In the future I recommend open and good communication. Also I didn't see him show confidence in the court room.

    1. Troy Slaten

      Troy Slaten

      Lawyer Comment:

      I pride myself on good, open lines of communication with all of my clients. In fact, I even provide my personal cell phone number to every single client. I have a policy to respond to calls within 24 hours. I am extremely disappointed that this person didn't contact me to address their concerns because there may have been a way to fix whatever it is that they were upset about. Because this poster choose to remain anonymous (as is their right), it is difficult to respond specifically. I invite whomever posted this information to contact me asap so that I can make sure that whatever happened, to make this person not feel confident in our services, never happens again. My cell phone number is 310-892-4218.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  10. Shark Lawyer!!! Super nice guy!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Slaten.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Yes, I was dumb. Lets start with that. My folks (especially my mother) have given me the old "I told you so" regarding driving after drinking after I got arrested for DUI.

    I thought my life and future career were basically over. My dad's friend is a lawyer who told us that he knows "THE BEST" DUI lawyer in town. Blah blah blah... I thought "Sure. One lawyer giving his buddy a little more work...." I couldn't have been more wrong.

    First, he took our call on a Saturday night!!! Saturday night! We thought we were just going to leave a message but no, they connected us to him right away. After just a few minutes on the phone, we knew we were in good hands. His knowledge about the intricacies of DUI and DMV law are encyclopedic.

    They wanted to slap me with a DUI even though nobody saw me driving (unfortunately i admitted to the cops I was driving-DOH!!). And there wasn't only alcohol in my system because I am a medical marijuana patient and I have a valid card.

    Even though my alcohol level was below the legal limit of .08, there was "metabolites" from marijuana in my blood. I told Troy that I had not smoked in the last 12 hours before driving. The DA, of course, didn't care and wanted me to plead guilty!!! troy said there was no way he was going to let that happen. He got a court order for the blood to be analyzed by a private lab that was able to prove that there was no active metabolites. He told the DA that all they could prove was that I used marijuana (legally) within the last 30 days! BAM!!!!!! (sorry Emeril) Case dismissed. He pushed it all the way to trial and on the day we were set to begin, the DA folded like a shabby house of cards. "We cant proceed your Honor...." may be the sweetest words I ever heard.

    Troy seems like a nice, normal, kinda geeky guy (sorry Troy if you read this). But HOLY SMOKES does he tear it up in court. I found out after I hired him that he used to be a child actor. I am so glad he didnt end up like all the rest of them and instead is out there fighting for people like me who were getting railroaded by the system. BTW he also got the DMV to dismiss their case too and my license was never suspended for even 1 day. I did have to go to DMV to get a new one bct he lovely cop took mine (illegally Troy explained).

    The point is this: If you are lucky enough to have Troy heading up your defense, you are very lucky indeed. I cant thank him enough and he even has inspired me to look into law school as a second career.

If you need the BEST POSSIBLE RESULT in your case. Call us now! We are available 24/7

310-824-8896