Gene Wook Choe’s Reviews

Gene Wook Choe

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A man should be allowed to be redeemed, especially when all the facts are known

    Posted by TS, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene more than 3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and I actually retained Mr. Choe through his office in San Jose in about April 2012 for the purpose of saving our home which had been placed in foreclosure unlawfully. The manager of his office took our information, and our money, and assured us that he would be able to help us. We specifically asked how long the process would take to secure our home. The office manager/lawyer said about 3 months, and also assured us that we would be able to recoup the retainer fee and monthly payments at the end of the process. Neither was done. In addition, this manager/lawyer committed a number of unethical acts in the process - one of which has lead to the need to file criminal charges against him.

    I realize this doesn't sound flattering at all for Mr. Choe, but I want to make the point that in actuality my wife and I were dealing with a lawyer Mr. Choe entrusted to manage his Bay Area office. I cannot judge whether Mr. Choe had good reason to choose this lawyer to manage his office. In my opinion, Mr. Choe simply made a bad hire.

    After communicating all that had transpired with this attorney to Mr. Choe, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised by how quickly and well Mr. Choe took over the reins of our case. We are very close to hopefully resolving things with the bank, and I need to credit Mr. Choe's efforts in allowing us to get to this point.

    Yes, I realize that Mr. Choe has been disciplined by the State Bar. However, based on my personal experiences with Mr. Choe he has demonstrated all the qualities that a lawyer should. I believe he has redeemed himself, and I hope the best for him moving forward. I think he is still an excellent lawyer!

  2. Thank you!!!!!

    Posted by Amy, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene more than 3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When i came to Gene Choe's law office, i was desperate to save my home from foreclosure and from being sold at auction. I had received numerous mailings from various law offices, but decided to call his as i had just received a notice that day. It took a little over a year and a half to come to a resolution on a home loan modification after being lied to and basically taken for a ride by other organizations over the past 4 years. Everyone at this firm was compassionate, encouraging, supportive and empathetic to my plight. They all were extremely professional and provided excellent quality service. Not only did they diligently return my phone calls and ease my fears (which were constant), but they were able to reduce my principle mortgage balance by almost $200K and helped get me back on track financially by attaining a more manageable monthly mortgage payment.
    Constantly receiving notices on my door that my home would be sold at auction month after month was demoralizing and humiliating. I have completed my trial period payments and have now been approved to pay a more manageable monthly payment. I am forever grateful to Gene Choe and his highly capable staff for their achievements in saving my home and assisting me with my bankruptcy and foreclosure issues.

  3. Gene Choe Attorney at Law

    Posted by Thomas, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene 1-3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    At issue was recovering my foreclosed home and preventing eviction. I had hired an attorney after foreclosure to deal with these issues but after several months he told me he could not help me recover the property or prevent my eviction. I went to Mr. Choe in a desparte conditon. My family was to be evicted within days. Mr. Choe was able to injet new life into my claim for the foreclosed property and he was able to prevent the eviction. Because of Mr. Choe's efforts, I was offered a reinstatement of my property by the bank with a very favorable mortgage modifacation. MY FAMILY AND I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON THE STREET WERE IT NOT FOR MR. CHOE'S SERVICES. I shall be forever indebted to him.

  4. Excellent Foreclosure/Loan Mod Attorney

    Posted by Byron, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene 1-3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My wife and I hired Mr. Choe at a very difficult and stressful time. We were in the middle of an extended illness in the family which had wreaked havoc on our finances. We were behind on our mortgage payments and facing foreclosure. Like many other homeowners, our property value had tanked, and we couldn't sell.

    The bank (one of the big ones) was constantly "losing" the documents we'd faxed them as we attempted to negotiate a modification ourselves. Finally, with the foreclosure sale date set, my wife located Mr. Choe's offices online. We retained them, and all the screwing around by the bank stopped. Choe's attorneys went into court, filed motions, and played hardball.

    The end result is that our loan was modified. We now have a note payment that is 48% less (yes, I just used the calculator) than our original monthly payment. While results are never guaranteed in the legal profession, competence, work ethic, and quality of service tend to remain consistent.

    Mr. Choe and his staff handled our case, kept us informed, and gave us a real sense of comfort during a very dark period. We would recommend them without reservation.

  5. RIPP OFF LAWFIRM

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene 1-3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This Guy will do anything for money including rip his clients off. He files phoney loan modification. He used JAY to draw you in for the kill. He allowed our house to be foreclosed on and the WANTS MONEY TO RESEND THE FORECLOSURE THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED IN THE BEGINNING. He MUST constantly change Attorneys which is why he uses Attorney's fresh out of school. do not trust him!

  6. TRUE SALES MAN WITH A LICENSE! BE CAREFUL!!!

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene more than 3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    *True story with all the documents, vmails, emails and cashed checks to prove my story, next up State Bar*

    Client of this firm for 2 1/2 years with zero results and a lot of headache. This firm has had so many employees go in and out that they do NOT even know what is going on with their clients homes until the client calls them to let them know there's a sale date posted on the door.

    Long story short, went to this sales man to save my home. Paid upfront 7k, paid in three installments. Started working on my loan mod got a trial plan within 6 months. My trial payments last 11 months, in that time I called them almost everyday after the last trial payment was sent to follow up on my loan mod. They were all over the place, I worked with about 4 different lawyers from that firm cause they all end up leaving. No one knew what was going on, I had to call them almost everyday for 1.5 years to get them to call the bank and finish my case. At the end the bank denied my permanent mod and refunded my trial payments. This salesman took the check, deposited into his trust account, took out about another 7k to sue the bank. His jr attorney loses the case in court and basically tells my family he will buy us another 6 months after filing bk. But this great guy said BK's on him. *joy*

    It took my wife three months to save our home with all the missed payments added to our loan and got us a loan mod. We suspected this law firm dropped the ball on our case with missed documents and lack of follow up with the bank. We were right the bank sent us detailed analysis o f why we never got our permanent loan mod. This firm is incompotent and needs to concentrate more on the clients than their marketing.

    Every time we went in to complain this sales mans answer to everything is "well you lived for free!" Mr Gene W. Choe, I never hired you to live for free. I don't think that is the service you provide, if so, you will be in alot of trouble.

  7. unsatisfactory

    Posted by Graciela, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene 1-3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    February 2012 I did talk to Eugene he told me how woderful this office was and how they can help with my invested property, I feld gave him $3600.00 and so on. On march 30, 2012 my husband and I went to mr choe office Where 4 atty.s advsed us to let our property go. On 4/6/12 went back and mr. choe adv. me to let him to help me I said I need to talk to my husband and if he said no, is no he said ok, if you desided not to continue with us we refund your money, a lot of calls till now they haven't refund my money. Mrs Garcia

  8. Great Attoney's

    Posted by Linda, a Arbitration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene 1-3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Arbitration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The Law Offices of Gene Choe really helped me with my home loan
    modification problems.. I have been promised in writing, after I pay my Trial modification on time i will get a permanent one. Christopher
    Hoo is great!!! Ask for him.....

  9. Loan Modification

    Posted by Rose,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.

    I was assigned to Denys Rivera and thank you Denys for saving my home! Since my Husband's death, ten years ago, I have had much to deal with. I placed a fraud alert on my accounts and the Bank I did business with, bounced all of my checks and all my client checks while they cashed thousands of dollars of fraudulent checks which caused a loss of clients, as they depended on their rent income to make the house payments, some owners also on trial basis for modifications. When some funds were returned to me, my office person of two and a half years, stole all the funds plus my personal funds, while I was dealing with hospital and & medical issues for myself and a son that required brain surgery. Losing my home where I operate my business would have put me in a terrible position at my age of 74 and self proprietor, not at an age to start over. So thank you for never making me feel like I called you too many times or that I was a bother! You were always so professional and courteous and willing to go above and beyond to help me out. When I first met Gene Choe I found Mr. Choe credible and a true professional. Being in the property management business, I have found that a lot of homeowners reached out for help, to no avail. Thank you again Denys for your skills and professionalism! Kudos to the office that hired you.

  10. GENE'S HELP WITH MORTGAGE LENDERS UNFAIR ATTEMPT TO FORECLOSE ON PROPERTY

    Posted by JOHN, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gene Choe.
    • I hired Gene more than 3 years ago.
    • Gene handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    WITH GENE AND HIS LAW FIRMS GUIDANCE AND SUPPORT WE WERE ABLE TO AVOID AN UNFAIR AND UNREASONABLE ATTEMPT TO FORECLOSE ON THE HOME ON WHICH WE HAVE RETAINED OWNERSHIP FOR 20+ YEARS. MY WIFE AND I HOPE TO BE GENE'S CLIENT'S FOR MANY YEARS TO COME, THE BENEFICIARY OF THE VARIOUS FACETS OF LAW IN WHICH HIS COMPANY SPECIALIZES SHOULD WE REQUIRE SUCH GUIDANCE AND ADVICE IN FUTURE.