Your friend can go to the Clark County Family Courthouse located at 601 So. Pecos. There is a self help center there with forms that he can fill out to get divorced. He can apply for a waiver of the filing fees (in forma pauperis).
The information is also available online if you type in "Clark County Family Court Self Help Center".
While a written retainer agreement is not required in Nevada, it is preferred.
Not all needed work is necessarily authorized by a client. Sometimes, you have to trust the judgment of the lawyer.
That being said, if you have a question about the bill, make an appointment to see your lawyer and discuss it. Be able to specifically state where you have the problem and why.
If you are not satisifed with the result, then you can file a fee dispute with the State Bar of Nevada. Their...
In Nevada, child support typically ends when the child emancipates. Emancipation usually means 18 and no longer in high school.
If you file the necessary motion and have it put on either the UIFSA (child support calendar) or the Family Court calendar, then either the Child Support Hearing Master or the District Court Judge will recalculate your child support based upon 18% of the non-custodial parent's gross monthly income.
Unless otherwise provided in your divorce decree or prior...
You need to file a peition to terminate his parental rights. If he cannot be personally served, he can be served via publication. Assuming the court grants the termination, you would then do an adoption petition. Since it is a step parent adoption, homestudies are normally waived.
You really should consult with an attorney in the Reno area. This is too important of an issue to handle on your own and possibly make a mistake with.
There is no guarantee that the judge will grant your request, however you seem to have good facts on your side.
Your husband's promotion and the reason for the move are your best facts. The father's disability is a mixed bag--on one hand it substantiates your claim that he can't parent the chidl and/or exercise visitation at the present time and on the other hand, there's an argument that the court should defer a ruling until he is able to defend himself and present his side of the case.
If you live in Las Vegas, Clark County, Nevada, then you should follow the procedures outlined for a minor name change in Clark County. Below is the link for the family court self help center name change packet.
The other two attorneys who responded to your question, while well intentioned, are licensed in Illinois and California, respectively, and are not familiar with Nevada name changes. Do NOT go to...
1 to 4 years and a fine of not more than $5,000.00 for each charge. See below.
NRS 193.130 Categories and punishment of felonies.
1. Except when a person is convicted of a category A felony, and except as otherwise provided by specific statute, a person convicted of a felony shall be sentenced to a minimum term and a maximum term of imprisonment which must be within the limits prescribed by the applicable statute, unless the statute in force at the time of commission of the...
If and when the baby comes whome with bruises on her thigh and blood in her diaper you need to contact CPS (Child Protective Services ) and LVMPD Abuse and Neglect.
If your lawyer can't make himself heard in court, then perhaps you need a new lawyer.
The only way to change a judge's mind is to have the appeals court change it for him/her via a writ or a reversal on appeal or new evidence which would necessitate a new hearing.
You might look into filing a complaint against the judge...