Joseph R. Maridon’s Answers

Joseph R. Maridon

Las Vegas Speeding / Traffic Ticket Lawyer.

Contributor Level 9
  1. I recently took out a car title loan. The place doesn't have my title what should I do?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    In Nevada, a car title loan requires the loan company to perfect the lien. They do that by sending the title to the DMV in Carson City and having their lien recorded on the title. The DMV then sends the title back to the loan company. That takes anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks. When you pay off the loan, they sign off that the lien has been released and they return the title to you. If you stop paying, the loan company can repossess your vehicle. In this particular case, you should not be...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. Is trail by Written Declaration for traffic ticket approve in Las Vegas

    Answered 23 days ago.

    1. Jessica M. Goodey
    2. Joseph R. Maridon
    3. Jay Scott Finnecy
    3 lawyer answers

    The answer to your question is no. There is no such thing as "trial by declaration" in the State of Nevada. If you want a trial, you will need to appear in court. If you hire a lawyer, the lawyer may enter a plea on your behalf. If you want the lawyer to enter a plea deal, which will likely result in a reduction of the violation (depending on what the ticket is for) and a fine, you will not need to appear in court. The only other way to avoid court is to plead guilty and pay the fine. On the...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  3. If two people sign a lease, can just one take the landlord to court and sue without the other party who signed?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Matthew T. Cecil
    2. Joseph R. Maridon
    3. Michael Brian Lee
    3 lawyer answers

    You can definitely sue without her being involved in the lawsuit. The problem is that the judge may decide that you are only entitled to half of the security deposit. You could have your girlfriend testify, and assuming that she says you should all of the deposit, then that may not be an issue. If you lose, you are the only one that could be exposed to paying the costs of the defense. Generally in Nevada, disputes over security deposits are small claims matters. Attorneys are permitted in...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  4. If checks I have written to payday loan companies go to my bank and don't get paid, can I go to jail?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    In short, if you write checks that will not be honored by the bank, you can be held criminally liable and go to jail pursuant to NRS Chapter 205. In your specific situation, I do not have enough information to state one way or the other what may happen. My best advice is that you should seek the advice of a criminal defense lawyer in your area.

    2 people marked this answer as helpful

  5. I moved out of my apt. my landlord kept my cleaning deposit of $350.

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    You may want to look at NRS 118A, the Nevada statutes that deal with landlord/tenant issues. To answer your question, however, it depends on what your lease says. You mention "cleaning" deposit. Many leases will state that a cleaning deposit is non-refundable. If the deposit was non-refundable, then the landlord has no obligation to tell you why it was not returned. If, however, the lease specifies that the cleaning deposit is refundable, then, yes, the landlord is required to give you an...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  6. Judge order to pay or move out. How long it will take for the constable to come and kick me out in north lasvegas nevada.

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    At a minimum, 24 hours from the time the judge signed the order. The judge will sometimes allow more time, but the constables office will usually come and lock you out when the judge says to lock you out.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  7. Live on property and pay rent what rights do i have

    Answered almost 4 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    Your rights may be subject to your employment agreement to a certain extent, however, because you pay rent, you are a tenant. If the landlord wants you to move out they will have to evict you. They will have to serve you with a notice which will state the reason that they are evicting you and it will also state how many days they are giving you. You can contest that in court. You may want to look at NRS 118A. You may also want to contact a lawyer to discuss your options.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  8. Can I get out of a lease agreement if the house I have rented has been broken into twice in less than a month?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    2. James George Dibbini
    2 lawyer answers

    I have helped a tenant get out of a lease under very similar circumstances. As soon as I was hired by the tenant, I send a written notice pursuant to NRS 118A to the landlord giving them 2 weeks to fix the problem. The landlord agreed to let my client out of the lease. I was eventually able to secure the return of the security deposit, plus some additional damages. Every case is different and the result I obtained in my case does not guarantee that it will work in your case. If you don't...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  9. Can an employer record audio & video of their employees without their knowledge?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    Yes, it is legal for an employer to video and audio record your actions while at work. The only exception may be if video cameras are placed in the restrooms.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  10. What is the statute of limitations for filing a claim on a tenant for unpaid rent?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Joseph R. Maridon
    1 lawyer answer

    It is four years if the agreement was verbal, six years if in writing. It may be only five years if the landlord is no longer in possession. NRS Chapter 11.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful