James D Leavitt’s Reviews

James D Leavitt

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. D.A.M.'s Lawyer

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Leavitt is truly a hard working and honest Lawyer, if ever a situation arises I would definitely hire him for his services. Even though ours was a difficult case, Mr. Leavitt was very patient with me explaining over and over again the system. I praise him for his patience and his knowledge of the law. Without Mr. Leavitt I'm not sure what our outcome would have been. Thank you for all your help Mr. Leavitt.

  2. I HIGHLY recommend James. He's an honest, realiable, hard-working lawyer!

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    You should know that I've know Mr. Leavitt for more than a decade. Unfortunately, for me, I've got some major anger "issues" and I get into legal trouble more often than I care to admit. Mr. Leavitt has been assisting me with my legal problems for more than a decade. I would NEVER consider hiring another Las Vegas criminal defense attorney and I'll tell you why.

    If you want a slick, weasily attorney - the type of lawyer that gives lawyers a bad name Mr. Leavitt is definitely NOT your lawyer. Mr. Leavitt is completely honest and professional. And most importantly, he will defend you looking over every piece of evidence and talking to every witness. You know those attack dogs that are trained to never let go of a person they catch until their owner arrives? That is the kind of energy Mr. Leavitt uses in defending cases.

    Mr. Leavitt is not a perfect lawyer, but he is EXTREMELY good. At times he can get busy, and then he might take a day or two to get back to me on a matter. And there are probably smarter lawyers. I might not hire Mr. Leavitt if I had an very complicated civil legal case that had a number of thorny legal issues. But, Mr. Leavitt only does criminal cases and he he has the exact skills necessary to handle this type of legal work.

    The reason I'd only ever use Mr. Leavitt for criminal cases is because he is a GREAT people person! He gets along well with everybody and he is extremely friendly. EVERYBODY likes, trusts and rspects James. These skills are essential to have to be a good defense attorney. I can tell that police, prosecutors and judges ALL like and respect James. And James know EVERYBODY in the criminal world in Vegas. That's because he has been practicing for a number of years. As you probably know most criminal cases are "settled' in a negotiation. James negotiates better deals for me than other lawyers. Simply put - because prosecutors and judges like and respect James he gets lighter sentences and penalties for hisclients.

    I have two pieces of advice for your: 1) Try to stay out of legal trouble, 2) If you do get in legal trouble call James Leavitt before calling any other lawyer.

  3. THE BEST LAWYER I EVER HIRED

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went to a local casino pool and drank a little too much. When I got a little rowdy a security guard came over and told me to calm down. I told the guard that they were out of line and that I was not causing any trouble, then out of the blue the guard hit me on the head with their night stick. The guard then said that I struck her. I was arrested for battery. I hired another attorney and I waited months and nothing got resolved. He told me that it would get dismissed and nothing happened. I then met James Dean and told him about my situation. James spoke to the assistant DA who was handling the case and worked out a deal to get the charges dismissed. He could not have done a better job and I am so thankful that I met him. Since then, I have referred a number of my friends to James and they all agree with me that he is the very best!!

  4. Saved me at midnight

    Posted by Tanner, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My friends and I went to a dance club and I tried ecstasy for the first time. I was only 17. We went to a gas station at 2:00 am to get food and the police figured out we were underaged. We were going to be given a curfew violation but the police could tell we were whacked out on drugs. They let me call my mother. She was able to find Mr. Leavitt at 2:00 in the morning and had him come to the gas station. Amazingly, Mr. Leavitt knew the officer and after a long talk the officer only gave me a warning. I was sure I was going to be charged with a felony. Thank you Mr. Leavitt. All my friends now have your number.

  5. THE PUBLIC DEFENDER WILL WORK HARDER FOR YOU THAN THIS GUY. NUF SAID.

    Posted by Jennie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    James Dean Leavitt is nothing but a joke. As soon as he snatches up your retainer fee, he will treat you like garbage. He will make comments like, um, why have you been calling me (ah duh stupid my court date is tomorrow) after twenty times in a row calling him to finally get him to answer that's all he can say. He's nothing but a fake and a liar. Promises you the world, he's cocky and arrogant. Don't give him a dime! The public defender will work harder for u than he will, guaranteed.

  6. I do not recommed Attorney James Dean Leavitt

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired James Leavitt for a criminal case. He put on a good show for me before I hired him. He promised to file motions and get the criminal charges dismissed. I had to take out a second mortgage on my house to pay him. I qualified for a public defender, but James Leavitt insisted that I would get better representation if I hire him instead of using a public defender. Once he got my money, he then stopped returning phone calls, and the only time I spoke to him was during court where he tried to talk me into taking a plea bargain and pleading guilty. I told him that I thought he was going to file motions to dismiss? He ignored me. I refused to take the plea bargain, and asked the Judge for a public defender to take James Leavitt's place. I was given a public defender at no charge. My public defender filed all the necessary motions to dismiss and the felony charges against me were dismissed accordingly, as I was not guilty. Meanwhile, I still have a second mortgate on my house that I have to pay even though Attorney James Leavitt did nothing to deserve the money.

  7. Wonderful

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Leavitt has went over and beyond to help me with my case and restored my freedom. He speaks with immense knowledge of the system and works with a great deal of passion. I live every day with gratitude for what he has done for me. Thanks Mr Leavitt!!

  8. Poor communication after full payment had public defender appear with me in court

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Intially this lawyer was incredible. I thought him an excellent attorney. He would come to greet me when I appeared at his office to make payments. He would always come to the phone or return my call in a timely manner. He would always ask how I was doing. He made me feel comfortable and secure as my attorney and that he really cared.

    After he was paid in full he was not avaliable. His wife, who is his secretary (at his admission), would drop my calls when it was important that I speak to him. He did return my one call on a Saturday stating that "he heard I was calling asking silly questions." I wonder how the person answering calls at the front desk determined that my "calls were silly."

    During the conversation that ensued I learned, from Mr. Leavitt that I had another court date to attend. "Pretty silly." The discussion also had to do with the courts calling me, not him, saying they were going to issue a bench warrant for my arrest.

    I hired him for many reasons. I do not understand law that is why this attorney was hired and when I needed to speak with him I was told I was "silly." After about 3 months of dealing with his office, his wife would not put through my calls and began answering my questions. There is nothing to indicate that Mrs. Leavitt has a law degree.

    Further, Mr. Leavitt was too busy to attend a court date and had the public defender come to court with me. I could have had the public defender for free. Mr. Leavitt responded that he had call the prosecuting attorney and "made a deal with him." The public defender and judge were horrified that I had paid Mr. Leavitt a large retainer and he did not come to court with me. This is in court documents.

  9. Would not hire again

    Posted by Mihai, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Leavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Had the right anwsears. At first was very reponsive, once I made full payment, was very hard to get a hold of. He did not take the time to make me feel comfortable about my case. I did how ever, hired Chip Siegel, and got a lot better result. Some of us are not familiar with the justice system, so when you get in trouble you need someone to be there and help you to the stressful time, specialy if you paid them. I tought that beside the legal reprezentation that's what an atorney is for. I did not get that from MR. Leavit.