Susan M. Schauf’s Reviews

Susan M. Schauf

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Decent fights for client but expensive

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very knowledgable lawyer with many years in Tucson Law. She fought for my case in my divorce settlement, I was very happy and greatful for that. She knows the law and will fight for what's right. She is however, expensive, she constantly asked for additional money and doesn't reimburse, I had to pay additional trial fees beyond my initial fee of$4500. When the divorce was settled without going to trial I was Not reimbursed the additional $2500 or any part of it, keep that in mind. At times it was difficult dealing with her and her staff as far as communication regarding due dates and documents required. I guess I would reccomend her, because I am overall happy with my outcome. If I had to do it over I think I would call around and speak with SEVERAL attorney's before settling. Good luck, none of it is easy.

  2. Most Dependable and Honest Lawyer I've Met

    Posted by Ryan, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    That says a lot. I do video depositions for court reporters and I've met many different lawyers. I am happy to say that Susan is the most responsible and absolutely most trustworthy lawyer I've ever met. I am happy to endorse her and would recommend her to anyone I know - both family and friends.

  3. She will hound you for MORE MONEY!! That house can't pay for itself!

    Posted by Jimmie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm in the military and I knew this woman would be a problem when I wasn't able to to get off work in order to meet with her. She really wanted me to bring more money. That bothered me the way I was being treated so I told her you work for me and asked for my money back. She yelled saying this is twice you've had to reschedule and for that reason you can't have your deposit back. I informed her that our career fields are totally different, and I can't just leave my job or make my own schedule. We got through all that (Because I had already started paying her and couldn't get my money back.) only for her to show up on the day of my divorce mediation and not even remember my name. I'VE PAID YOU THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND YOU GET HERE AND DON'T EVEN KNOW MY NAME??? Then she got an attitude when I try to jog her memory. My divorce didn't go as planned at all. My children only receive $160 a month from their mother who is a full time nurse. Thanks to Susan and AZ courts, my ex has shared joint legal custody and daddy has had to continue picking up the slack. I paid over 6k in daycare alone last year.

  4. Great Experience

    Posted by Edward, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very nice to me and truly fought hard for my children and I to be together.

  5. Excellant Service

    Posted by john, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great lawyer and incredible results in my case. Everyone I've talked to about her seems to say the same thing - professional and results driven.

  6. Great Experience

    Posted by Patrick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am so pleased with the result from this horrible divorce. We are both happy and are no longer fighting over everything, Susan truly got us a solution that made us both satisfied.

  7. child support

    Posted by jennifer, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Susan handled my post dissolution termination of child support. I was due a refund because I overpaid child support. Susan got me a judgment for the full amount of the refund and has now begun garnishment proceedings to collect the judgment. This is the third time I have used Susan for child support matters. I have been very happy with her services.Susan handled my post dissolution termination of child support. I was due a refund because I overpaid child support. Susan got me a judgment for the full amount of the refund and has now begun garnishment proceedings to collect the judgment. This is the third time I have used Susan for child support matters. I have been very happy with her services.

  8. Celina

    Posted by Celina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was an out of state divorce client. Susan received permission for me to appear telephonically at all my hearings. My matter was settled at the Mandatory Domestic Settlement Conference. I was very pleased with the Settlement Conference to take place almost three months earlier than originally scheduled. I highly recommend Susan Schuaf.

  9. Susan Rules

    Posted by lucy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was forced to leave my home with my daughter when my husband and I separated. I had no job and no money. Susan Schauf helped me through the entire divorce process which included a full trial on the merits. I enjoyed being in court with Susan. She was always prepared and ready for anything that came our way. Susan and her staff responded promptly to my many calls and emails. I would not hesitate to recommend Susan to anyone seeking a divorce.

  10. Outstanding results from my paternity case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms Schauf handled my paternity suit as well as I could have imagined. She posed tough, realistic questions, preparing me fully for my testimony and cross examination by the respondent's counsel, which undoubtedly contributed to our success. Every time we met at the courtroom, she came prepared, and she fought tooth and nail for me once inside. If you want a pushover attorney who will just tell you what you want to hear, go somewhere else. Hiring Ms Schauf is one of the best decisions I have made in my entire life.