Susan M. Schauf’s Reviews

Susan M. Schauf

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Angry, condescending lawyer that has no time for you

    Posted by Stella,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.

    I had a very bad experience with Susan Schauf. I started with another attorney that passed away so I took on Susan Schauf who would take over the case. Various times I asked Susan if she had reviewed my case and she always said no and complained that my file was too thick. She was very unprofessional and had no people skills.

    She asked the judge to give her more time to become more prepared with my case and she never actually became familiar with my case. At one time she thought my husband was retired military (which he is not). I gave her various letters to provide as disclosures for when we went to court because I have a medical condition. When we went to court she never disclosed my medical condition. The judge had to find out (on her own) why I had so many medical costs and came to find out that Susan never disclosed this information and was shocked.

    The few times I called to talk to Susan on the phone she was very rude and/or unavailable. One time she did take my call and told me I had 2 minutes to talk to her because she didn't have time to talk to me. When we did go to court she was not prepared at all. All she had in her hand was my W-2 form and did everything possible to settle out of court. She even used unprofessional language trying to get my husband and I to agree on a settlement out of court because she was so unprepared. After the proceedings she was very angry with me because the judge had called her and my husband's attorney to have a sidebar. The judge couldn't make a decision at the time for spousal support because she didn't disclose all the paperwork she should have. When we got out of court she was very angry with me and told me that things we're going to go worse for me. I asked her why and she yelled at me, "DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND ENGLISH?" and said she would not do another thing for me until she received more money even though I had already given her payment in full. She wanted an additional $2700.

    With my medical condition I decided this lawyer was too stressful for me and was not working in my favor. She didn't even know my case.

    Also, she works from her home and you can hear her speaking to other clients from her living room and she's very rude to them also. When she hangs up her and her assistant talk about the cases and make fun of the people. Very disrespectful.

  2. Decent fights for client but expensive

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very knowledgable lawyer with many years in Tucson Law. She fought for my case in my divorce settlement, I was very happy and greatful for that. She knows the law and will fight for what's right. She is however, expensive, she constantly asked for additional money and doesn't reimburse, I had to pay additional trial fees beyond my initial fee of$4500. When the divorce was settled without going to trial I was Not reimbursed the additional $2500 or any part of it, keep that in mind. At times it was difficult dealing with her and her staff as far as communication regarding due dates and documents required. I guess I would reccomend her, because I am overall happy with my outcome. If I had to do it over I think I would call around and speak with SEVERAL attorney's before settling. Good luck, none of it is easy.

  3. Most Dependable and Honest Lawyer I've Met

    Posted by Ryan, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    That says a lot. I do video depositions for court reporters and I've met many different lawyers. I am happy to say that Susan is the most responsible and absolutely most trustworthy lawyer I've ever met. I am happy to endorse her and would recommend her to anyone I know - both family and friends.

  4. She will hound you for MORE MONEY!! That house can't pay for itself!

    Posted by Jimmie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm in the military and I knew this woman would be a problem when I wasn't able to to get off work in order to meet with her. She really wanted me to bring more money. That bothered me the way I was being treated so I told her you work for me and asked for my money back. She yelled saying this is twice you've had to reschedule and for that reason you can't have your deposit back. I informed her that our career fields are totally different, and I can't just leave my job or make my own schedule. We got through all that (Because I had already started paying her and couldn't get my money back.) only for her to show up on the day of my divorce mediation and not even remember my name. I'VE PAID YOU THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND YOU GET HERE AND DON'T EVEN KNOW MY NAME??? Then she got an attitude when I try to jog her memory. My divorce didn't go as planned at all. My children only receive $160 a month from their mother who is a full time nurse. Thanks to Susan and AZ courts, my ex has shared joint legal custody and daddy has had to continue picking up the slack. I paid over 6k in daycare alone last year.

  5. Great Experience

    Posted by Edward, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very nice to me and truly fought hard for my children and I to be together.

  6. Excellant Service

    Posted by john, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great lawyer and incredible results in my case. Everyone I've talked to about her seems to say the same thing - professional and results driven.

  7. Great Experience

    Posted by Patrick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am so pleased with the result from this horrible divorce. We are both happy and are no longer fighting over everything, Susan truly got us a solution that made us both satisfied.

  8. child support

    Posted by jennifer, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Susan handled my post dissolution termination of child support. I was due a refund because I overpaid child support. Susan got me a judgment for the full amount of the refund and has now begun garnishment proceedings to collect the judgment. This is the third time I have used Susan for child support matters. I have been very happy with her services.Susan handled my post dissolution termination of child support. I was due a refund because I overpaid child support. Susan got me a judgment for the full amount of the refund and has now begun garnishment proceedings to collect the judgment. This is the third time I have used Susan for child support matters. I have been very happy with her services.

  9. Celina

    Posted by Celina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was an out of state divorce client. Susan received permission for me to appear telephonically at all my hearings. My matter was settled at the Mandatory Domestic Settlement Conference. I was very pleased with the Settlement Conference to take place almost three months earlier than originally scheduled. I highly recommend Susan Schuaf.

  10. Susan Rules

    Posted by lucy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Schauf.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was forced to leave my home with my daughter when my husband and I separated. I had no job and no money. Susan Schauf helped me through the entire divorce process which included a full trial on the merits. I enjoyed being in court with Susan. She was always prepared and ready for anything that came our way. Susan and her staff responded promptly to my many calls and emails. I would not hesitate to recommend Susan to anyone seeking a divorce.