Skip to main content
Gary F Pirosko

Gary Pirosko’s Answers

59 total


  • Will I get sentenced to jail time in court for my first DUI I am 20 years old and blew a 0.28 and I have one MIP on my record

    Ist DUI, one MIP on my record

    Gary’s Answer

    Jail is mandatory in Colorado when you plead to or are convicted of a DUI with an alcohol content of .200 or higher. This does not necessarily mean that there is not something an attorney can do to argue that the reported test result is inaccurate. You should have a competent DUI attorney look over the police report.

    See question 
  • Do you go to jail on the spot for driving under revocation in Denver, CO?

    First DUI

    Gary’s Answer

    An officer has the option to arrest and jail you until you post bond.

    See question 
  • What is the deadline for a DMV hearing officer in Colorado to make a ruling?

    Originally arrested for DUI which was dropped. Attended the dmv hearing, no ruling yet.

    Gary’s Answer

    The express consent hearing must be held within 60 days following your request for a hearing. There is no time limit for the Department to issue a ruling after the hearing.

    See question 
  • License suspended due to FTA in different state.

    Received speeding ticket while vacationing in Douglas County, CO in April 2011. Driving with GA license. Paid ticket/plead guilty. Had confirmation of payment. Went to renew my GA license (April 2013) and found that it had been suspended du...

    Gary’s Answer

    Call the Douglas County Court Clerk's office and have them send DMV an amended transcript.

    See question 
  • I got a misdameanor DUI in california went to court,jail got summary probation,never went to dui class nor paid fines though

    decided to move left state i aint never had a dui nothing before do i have anything to worry about

    Gary’s Answer

    You need to check with the Court in California to find out the status of the case. You may have a warrant out for your arrest. Your California driving privileges may be under restraint which could result in you being cited everywhere else for driving under restraint. Your ability to obtain driving privileges in any other state may be affected.

    See question 
  • Is there a such thing as getting my interlock device out early?

    I got my dui in feb 2010. I got my interlock installed in may 2012 and have to have it for 2 years. Im coming up on my first year, without any problems, no negatives. My classes are all finished and so is my community service.. I was wondering if ...

    Gary’s Answer

    There is no early termination allowed on a 2-year interlock requirement.

    See question 
  • What is the criminal punishment for refusing a breath test in Colorado. Is there any benefit to refusing?

    I have already requested a hearing from the DMV. I received a DUI and refused to take a chemical test. Therefore no BAC amount will ever be known or what drugs (prescription) quantities that were in my system. My friend got a DUI two nights later ...

    Gary’s Answer

    Because other defendants may read this I want to caution you and them that there is no sigle best answer to the question of whether it is better to refuse a test or not. Usually a refusal will hurt your outcome if you lose the DMV administrative case in Colorado. A refusal may hurt or help in the criminal case but there would be several things that would factor into the answer, including what your BAC would have been. A refusal could be worse on a first-time DUI in the criminal case if you get convicted of the 12-point DUI or the points in your case add up to 12 or more after conviction of plea. BAC alone does not determione the outcome in a case. I agree that you both should contact a defense attorney who dedicates all of a significant portion of his or her paractice to DUI cases.

    See question 
  • How can I retrive my compition recaords cause beavior health only goes back 10 years

    i got a dui back in1997 and I have had my license after that but now motor veicle wants prove

    Gary’s Answer

    Your question is unclear. It is probably best that you call a local DUI attorney on the phone.

    See question 
  • What is the typical penalty for speeding 33 MPH over the limit in a school zone? Points? Cost? Other Penalties?

    I received a summons with no points or fine amount indicated. Other than this infractions I have a clean record. I was late for work and did not realize that I was in a school zone. Thank you.

    Gary’s Answer

    Your fines will depend in part on the jurisdiction and your driving history. Your fines for speeding in a school zone at that speed, plus court costs, will likely be $300.

    See question 
  • My daughter was recently charged with driving while intoxicated. She blew a .06 but is only 20 years old.

    Is it possible for her to get license to drive back and forth to work? This is her first offense. Does it matter which lawyer we hire? We're in Kinston, NC and have never had any dealings with attorneys. One person says that they're all the sa...

    Gary’s Answer

    Defending DUI charges is a specialized area of the law. You should concentrate your search for the best lawyer on those who limit the majority of their practice to DUI defense. Ask a few Non-DUI attorneys who would they hire. When you receive one referral's name mentioned several times, that may be the right attorney.

    See question