Skip to main content
John Lawrence Buckley

John Buckley’s Legal Guides

11 total


  • Common Misconceptions about Statute of Limitations in Colorado DUI Cases

    SOL for DUI charges in Colorado The statute of limitations in Colorado for filing a DUI case is 18 months from the date of the offense. The SOL prevents a criminal defendant from defending against st

    Read more 

  • Common Misconceptions about Statute of Limitations in Criminal Cases

    Most crimes have a fixed SOL While the SOL may differ between jurisdictions, a range of 6 months to 3 years is common for most offenses. However, extremely serious crimes such as murder and kidnappi

    Read more 

  • DUI and Social Media

    Consider the effect of your Social Media posts If you have been charged with an alcohol related offense, there may come a time when your attorney needs to stand with you in court and inform the judge

    Read more 

  • Colorado DUI and Your Right to Remain Silent

    Officers are not required to read you your rights during the investigation stage of a traffic stop A Miranda advisement is only required during custodial interrogation. During most traffic stops, yo

    Read more 

  • Colorado DUI - "But I wasn't driving"

    Many clients report that they weren't actually driving but are still charged with DUI. In Colorado, and many other states, you need not be driving but only be in "actual physical control" of the vehicle. What does this mean?

    Read more 

  • What happens if the arresting officer doesn't show up for court?

    First Court Appearance This is often an arraignment where the court formally informs you of the charges against you and your legal rights. In Colorado, officers are not required to appear at your ar

    Read more 

  • Colorado DUI's and Private Property

    Private Property is not a defense to DUI in Colorado Colorado statutes do not specify that the alleged drunken driving take place on a public roadway. It can occur anywhere in the state...your drive

    Read more 

  • "I was arrested for DUI in Colorado and was never read my rights."

    When is a Miranda advisement required? Miranda advisements are only required when the police are subjecting a suspect to 'custodial interrogation.' This means that you are in custody, essentially un

    Read more 

  • Challenging Field Sobriety Testing in Colorado

    Do I have to perform these field sobriety tests? Absolutely not! Nor should you. These "tests" are designed for failure. They are an abnormal test used to decide if you are normal. Studies have s

    Read more 

  • What to Expect from a Colorado DMV Hearing After Being Charged with DUI

    Did you provide a breath sample? If so, and your breath alcohol level was greater than .08, the officer likely confiscated your driver's license and provided you with a yellow copy of your "Notice of

    Read more