Douglas Cannon Smith’s Reviews

Douglas Cannon Smith

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Efficient, professional, ethical

    Posted by Isabel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Smith.

    Mr. Smith is the best lawyer we have encountered! He is an efficient communicator, honorable in his dealings, and highly ethical. He worked extremely hard on our case, and he got us an incredibly favorable resolution. His team was wonderful, he and his team kept us abreast of the goings on, resolved our case fairly quickly. I will no doubt use him again, for any civil issues we may have! Thank you Doug, Monica and Susie!

  2. Subpar Service

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.

    Everytime I called to speak to Mr. Smith about my child support case he was always so busy, never there, or with other clients at court. How busy can he be everyday? He was payed to answer questions with knowledge and truth, instead he never returned our calls and his emails were not informative. His emails just reinstated what was already covered in the court documents I received in the mail. I also believe he never asnwer the questions in person because he had no clue and needed the extra time to research the basic questions I had. He always overcharged to show up 5 minutes before court without having a meeting with me to discuss any issues or answer any questions I may have had. I wouldnt recommened him to anyone.

    The office has very poor customer service, his legal assistant rarely answers the phone, it's difficult to get an appointment, and once you do get an appointment Mr. Smith will tell you he will call you to follow up on paperwork which he never does. NO ONE ever returns phone calls. Is that too much to ask.

    Simply put, I received subpar leagal service from an inept lawyer! Keep looking around, because his he completely got ran over in court by a plantiff with no legal representation. Finally, after the case was over and he only charged me for $800.00 of legal service. I got a final bill for $1200 exactly to take every penny of the retainer.

  3. Advice from a former client

    Posted by Santana santos, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    At first when you meet him, he seems genuine enough. The girls in the front, Monica and Susie, also put up a very welcoming front. As soon as you are locked in and you pay your retainer, and there's no going back because you spent all that money, all is lost. What was supposed to have been a "quick issue" (per mr. Smith) has becoming a dragging 3+ years of bad customer service, last minute notifications, and on going reschedules (and it has nothing to do with the court or other party). Save yourself the money, the anxiety, and having to deal with snotty paralegals/receptionists who don't know the meaning of empathy and can't even answer a simple question without feeling like you are bothering them. This is the first time I ever had to hire an attorney . I should have done more shopping around and done my research and looked at reviews. The service is so terrible, it raises my blood pressure just thinking about it. I am glad my case is near it's close so I don't have to deal with insensitive, inconsiderate people who forget that it is the paying client who is providing for their salary.

  4. The True Measure

    Posted by Paul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was pleased with the service he provided to me handling my divorce. The negative reviews do not match the lawyer that represented me. He genuinely cares and he worked with me on an affordable payment plan. I recommend him.

  5. By FAR the worst lawyer in El Paso, TX!!!!!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    First, let me start by saying terrible customer service! Getting information about the status of my divorce was nearly impossible, neither Doug nor his staff would return phone calls I would have to call every single day!!! All he cares about was taking my money right away. This lawyer should be banned from his practice! Really!!! I would extremely NEVER recommend this ridiculous worthless person if he is one!!!! -5 if you ask me!!!!!

  6. Bad Mormon Worse Lawyer

    Posted by Holly, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    What a disappointment. I went to him in a time of need. He knew I was a good person and what I put into my marriage. He didn't fight for me at all. Shame on him.

  7. Hire someone else!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Terrible customer service! Getting information about the status of my divorce was nearly impossible, neither Doug nor his staff would return phone calls or emails. Doug promised to have my divorce decree prepared so that we could file once my waiting period was over and instead it ended up taking an additional sixty days. I definitely would not recommend them for an uncontested divorce.

  8. Lazy lawyer interested in your money!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This guy seems interested in your case until you deposit money to his account. I hired him to win a custody battle with my ex husband and he only wanted me to fight for one child and not the other. He knew the case was not going to be in my favor since the judge hates splitting siblings, yet he still did it after I dissagreed. He ended up cancelling one of my hearings because it was his anniversary and he had a colonoscopy scheduled with his wife which was more important than my case. He takes your money and looses interest, then has his secretary handle your case. Does not return your calls then scolds you for things you did wrong in trials after he never took the time to counsel or prepare you for trial. He keeps your money even if you did not use it all. Would never ever recommend him to anyone!

  9. I don't think he cares

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Douglas Smith.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired this Attorney for a divorce case. I'm currently on the east coast while he was representing me in El Paso, TX. The divorce just got finalized and absolutely nothing went my way. I will say, probably not his fault the deck was stacked against me from the get go. My biggest gripe with this guy is his complete lack of communication. I hired him nearly 2 years ago after filing the the initial petition I heard nothing from him for months. I kept myself up to date by checking the court records to see when the cases were. After almost 6 months of literally not a word from him, I called his office to see what was going on. I got a brief run down of what was going to happen and when from the secretary. The only time Mr. Smith contacted me was the day of or the night before a court date was coming up. He never had a clue as to what my case was about and his "notes" were often wrong. By the time the meetings came about I was never 100% sure he was going in with all the right info, even if I had him repeat what I just told him back to me. He is a nice guy to talk to but he never seemed genuine or like he cared if we won or lost. Unfortunately in my original interview with him none of these characteristics came out, it wasn't until he got my deposit that he basically stop trying. I honestly think he did the bare minimum required to fight my case and rolled over at any opposition. I have a grip load of my initial deposit left in some account that they wont get back to me on. I've completed all the necessary "you lose" procedures but I don't know if he's received any of them because he wont return calls or answer emails. In the end, find someone else he did a piss poor job at best. I hope he sees this and realizes that communication with your customers is paramount.