Felix Rippy’s Reviews

Felix Rippy

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Keeps demanding more money

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very expensive with no results in my opinion. Allows case to be continued over and over with no objections, then charges more fees. He wasn't my "attorney", he "represented" a family member of mine. Nothing happened so they hired a new attorney after paying thousands of dollars for nothing.

  2. NOT A GOOD ATTORNEY - DON'T RECOMMEND HIM

    Posted by Scott Bingham, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix 1-3 years ago.
    • Felix handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Rude and disrespectful liar. Will do anything for a buck. Does not promote co-parenting. he likes to continue cases that are urgent. Never looks for reconciliation in child custody, in fact promotes Chaos, confusion and no end until children are 18 and the parents are depleted of funds at the expense of children! And I did I mention, HE IS A BULLY! No class

    He was very passive and allowed the spouse to go 7 months without getting child support or spousal. He never remembered my case and would get dates wrong and he was timid and afraid to speak up. Too amicable when the other side is vicious and too rough with his clients.

  3. NOT ACTUALLY BOARD CERTIFIED

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix 1-6 months ago.
    • Felix handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Fortunately I didn't pay this attorney any money before I checked and learned he wasn't actually board certified. I could have lost a bundle, and maybe lost my kids, too. He is NOT BOARD CERTIFIED in Family Law or anything else. Google Texas Board of Legal Specialization and look him up--he's not there--before you pay him anything or trust him to represent you. He's also had his license suspended for a year.

  4. Nope

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix more than 3 years ago.

    Incompetent. Failed to notify me of a hearing in one instance that led to a warrant for not appearing. Bad mouthed me to the prosecuting attorney and gave him facts about my case in order to cause me harm. My new attorney informed me of this and urged filing a grievance with the bar. Threatened me.

    He gives information to the other side and works with them. He has been disciplined by the bar. Board Certified does not mean anything.

  5. Politically Connected - that's about it

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix more than 3 years ago.
    • Felix handled my Child Custody matter.

    Unprofessional and shady. He lost his bar card for a year in 2012. Being Board Certified does not mean a lot. He also has bad reviews removed. All of his golfing buddies post good reviews for him.

    He emailed contacted my ex spouse directly and shared information about my case with opposing counsel after I fired him off my case. My new attorney urged me to report him to the bar. I was like the other reviewer and too emotionally spent to even care at the time. Hopefully he will get his act together or lose his bar card for good.

  6. Felix Rippy proves Texas can be and "alimony state" --great job!

    Posted by rg, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix 6-12 months ago.
    • Felix handled my Family matter.

    Like many of the happy clients on this and other sites, I hired Mr. Rippy because I had been told by the other child like lawyers that I was just ineligible for alimony and Texas was a "non-alimony" state. Well, thank God I hired Mr. Rippy, since I am getting $150,000 in alimony... post martial support for me. That's the difference in hiring Mr. Rippy and not--litereally the roof over your head. There really is NOT another firm in Round Rock where 100% the partners either have been Judges or are running for Judge now, and it shows! This firm is great!

  7. I'm glad I saw his reviews before we got to deep in my case!!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix 1-3 years ago.
    • Felix handled my Child Support matter.

    At the beginning, he sounded strong end aggressive against the other party, after a couple of emails he was recommending me to sign the papers the other party have sent me, I went to his office to talk about this and he pretty much was on the other party's side. He kept telling me "If we go to court, it's better for me, more money for me" What is that??? I know you studied a lot to get where you at but remember, your profession helps people or destroys them and if I wouldn't have seen your reviews I bet you wouldn't have care what happened to me as long as you got your money you're good right!!! Wrong!!!

    I hope I CAN help people by telling them: GET YOU ANOTHER LAWYER!!!! he was ready to sell me out, many people can't be wrong about this guy and his reviews are here for a reason. All he cares is the money and I can say that because when I tried to tell him that I'm not going to need him anymore, he said only a judge can take him out of my case but as soon as I told him that I didn't have more money to pay him, he withdrew my case, LMAO.

  8. I didn't want my hand held, I wanted results. I got them.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix 1-3 years ago.
    • Felix handled my Family matter.

    I will only deal with board certified professionals and Mr. Rippy had that as well as experience. He kept me informed (even gave me his cell number - took calls even on weekend). I questioned him about the sanction and looked it up which resulted from a conflict in representation due a former partner's failure to inform the firm of client representation. He doesn't sugar coat the facts but is aggressive in representing you. I don't want my hand held - I want results. and I got them.

  9. Better than Expected Outcome

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix more than 3 years ago.
    • Felix handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While arrogant & somewhat condescending, a great attorney and that's why we hired Mr. Rippy to represent us - not to be our friend. Not at all cheap, but never nickel & dimed us and I was constantly in contact with him regarding our non-traditional child custody case. He was very transparent in that his focus was in the best interest of the child. He knowledgably guided and swayed us from making brash decisions which could have caused severe anguish to our child and cost substantial amounts of money. In the end, I have and will continue to recommend Felix Rippy.

  10. Direct, Honest, and Not for the Weak Soul.

    Posted by Jolene, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Felix Rippy.
    • I hired Felix 1-3 years ago.
    • Felix handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This will be the 3rd time I have hired Mr. Rippy to represent me in my child custody case. I have a very High Conflict Parent who likes to sue me when he does not get his way, so unfortunately I've had to seek representation on multiple occasions. I initially had another attorney and after $1400.00 I found out how she was truly worthless! Mr. Rippy came highly recommended and I'm grateful to have found him. He is extremely knowledgable and with that comes a bit of arrogance, but he's an attorney, if he wasn't a bit smug I'm not sure I'd trust him nearly as much. He has always steered me in the right direction and if what I wanted wasn't going to be a feasible plan, he told me then and there, rather than trying to milk me for additional money. I for one prefer the brutal honesty as opposed to being told that it will maybe work and then getting slammed in front of a judge and feeling like an idiot. If you are looking to be coddled you may be insulted by his direct manner. He's a busy man and we all, or most of us, have busy lives so I appreciate the direct and matter of fact approach in the shortest amount of time possible. I would highly recommend Mr. Rippy, but not for those who think it is a counseling session, as he's not going to ask you to lay on his couch & complain about your ex for an hour. *As a side note, I am not in a law enforcement/the court/ or in a public servant role, so he does not exclusively serve these individuals better than the general public.*