Melody Hartman Cooper’s Reviews

Melody Hartman Cooper

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Would not use Melody Cooper again!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.

    This woman seemed a bit "lost", for lack of a better word during our 1st meeting, but i thought well, this is about a child support issue and it can't be that hard...a common task for an atty. i should have trusted my instincts. she is "lost" in her words and doesn't come off as being very astute at even communicating, let alone looking out for her client's best interest. i must agree with several other reviews on here regarding her. she got her money in full and i never heard from her until i saw her in court the day of the hearing. she literally sat there and looked lost as to what the other atty. was telling her. she had to look at me like a child caught in a lie for simple facts she should already know!!! i don't know if it's medication or if she's just like that, but whatever it is...(besides basic greed).. she needs to revisit basic life skills and common courtesy for others and not leave her clients out on a limb to sink or swim...meanwhile your money is already in her bank acct. i would never advise anyone to hire her for any reason, esp. in any matters regarding the welfare of your child(ren). when she was on the city council board..she was bright eyed and with it!

  2. REVIEW

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody 1-3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Child Custody matter.

    She kept asking for more and more money but did nothing. i hired her for a disputed child custody case. My son wanted visitation with his daughter. When he went for child support the attorney general got him his visitation. She charged over $4000 and actually made things worse. When I tried to get her to do something else she would just ask for more money. She always was in a rush and acted flustered and confused.

  3. Only cares for $$$$$

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody 1-3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Child Custody matter.

    She did not seem to represent me but the other party she was on their side instead of mine the one who hired her. She likes to make decisions for her clients that are not what the client is asking her to do. I hired her to defend my rights as a mother and to defend my child and all she seemed to care about was how much money I could give her her starting the cases is $1,500.00 her retainers are biweekly $750 plus $350 the only thing she did in my case was file and I paid her over $2000.00 She does not care for the childs best interest all she cares is about the money. I thank God I hired a different attorney to represent me in court and fought for my childs well being. Having Melody as your attorney will leave you with no money and her false promises to fight for your case.

  4. Melody Cooper is a great attorney

    Posted by John, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody 1-3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She really puts in a great effort to make sure she does whatever it takes to win for her clients. I recommend her.

  5. She is determined to win

    Posted by Christy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody 1-3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you are looking to get a divorce, Melody is the attorney you want handling your case. Trust me, these other attorneys in town are nothing but a hassle who seem to look out for themselves more than anything. Melody is very determined to win. Great Job!

  6. UNLESS YOU WANT TO RUIN YOUR CHILD'S LIFE, MELODY COOPER IS NOT RECOMMENDED

    Posted by LEILANI, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody more than 3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    This woman did nothing for me and my family but took all the money she could get out of us. we hired her for my daughter's custody case back in 2006 and expected some kind of good change in what was current PP. My daughter is now 14yrs old, going to crime victims counseling and her dad is undergoing investigation of sexually abusing my daughter from the when she was 6 to 11. Now Melody Cooper is handling my son's custody case for my unfit ex-husband. This woman ruins children's lives and does not care for your child nor cares for the best interest of the child. Not to mention she takes every single penny she can squeeze out of you and then she is done with you.
    My daughter wants to go to her office to let her know that she was the one that helped ruin her childhood. i do not blame her at all. She is a horrible over priced lawyer that should not even be a lawyer. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS WOMAN TO ANYONE!

  7. DON'T USE HER!!!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody more than 3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Melopy Cooper was a horrible attorney. She is more concerned with getting paid than she is with her clients. Every appointment I had with her she came up with more reasons to collect additional fees. She is always in a hurry, and when the decree was actually set in stone, she was hurrying through the process to get to her next appt. I would NEVER utilize her services again nor recommend her to anyone.

  8. Very Satisfied customer.

    Posted by Christi Kirkpatrick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody more than 3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went to Melody Cooper in 1995 for a divorce,and child custody,as well as a restraining order.
    She charged me a total of 3,000.00 dollars.1500.00 to begin,and the rest before going to court. Which I happily paid.
    She was ALWAYS available,responsive,helpful,kept me informed.I paid her in full very quickly,and she never sent me a bill, or asked for more money.
    My case was in court and settled,even with some extenuating circumstances in less than 4 months. I was VERY pleased with, her performance. I have recommended her many times.She seemed to care a lot about my Childs welfare,as well as my own.
    However the last time I saw her in 2007,she looked very ill. Had lost a lot of weight. This could account for her poor reviews.

  9. Money Hungry

    Posted by Corpus Concern, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody more than 3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms. Cooper was late to both my court hearings (even after it was re-scheduled about four times due to her being out of town and for personal reasons). However, she was never late when she would call me in to the office, which she always needed more money. I paid her over $5,000.00 and she basically agreed with my husbands attorney because if we didnt then it would cost me $10,000.00 to go to a contested court hearing. All she cares about is being money hungry she has no respect for anyone else's life. This was the biggest mistake in

  10. incompetent

    Posted by Shannon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Melody Cooper.
    • I hired Melody more than 3 years ago.
    • Melody handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am still waiting for the Final Order of my custody case, since June! I thought she was a good person for serving on the City Counsel, but now realize she just served for exposure for her failing law practice. She shouldn't be representing any families because she ruins lives! She failed me and my family by putting us in unessary debt. The day will come when all of Corpus Christi will know not to retain her services for nothing.