Kevin M. Prendergast’s Reviews

Kevin M. Prendergast

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hired Prendergast in 2009

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired him to help get my son back as he was held from me by my ex in another state. I wanted to hire him again now and saw that he's no longer in practice..... I knew back then that he was alittle eccentric and a bit of an narcissistic a - - hole but I never imagined he would of screwed up so bad they'd yank his license. WOW!!!!! Sorry about that Mr Kevin, you really should of pulled yourself together even back then you were late to court twice making me look stupid and made me wait an extra two months for my son because you didn't have my ex served in the other state. I tried telling you then.. I guess you reaped what you sowed...

  2. The worst lawyer ever !!!!!

    Posted by Bonnie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I don't know even where to start. I hired him in June of 2013, paid him $1200 when I had no job and was broke raising 4 kids on my own. Every time I would ask him if he has filed anything at court, he would never respond. His anwers were always vague and it would take him forever to respond. I mailed him all of the financial proof he needed and he never responded if he received it after I asked him several times. It took me a very long time to gather all of that information and all for nothing.

    I had no job for a long time because I was a stay at home mother for 4 years and I told him that I was desperately looking for a job to feed my children. I told him that I needed the child support enforced immediately. He never did that and I was told by other attorneys that that is the first hing they do. With my first divorce, my childsupport was in place after two weeks of seperation and he I am almost a year and still no child support in place. This is so upsetting and sad.


    I told him that he has not a good lawyer and it seemed not to matter to him. I told him that I was concerned about his practice, and not once he showed that he cared about our lawyer relationship. He would tell me that he couldn't reach the other atty. Everything was a bunch of lies. To this day, he never ever sent me a copy of anything that he submitted to court if he submitted anything to court. Now my trial is in two weeks and I don't know squat. I'm so upset .. I am going to sue this attorney and I'm glad he is no longer practicing.

  3. He is a crafty lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I found him on LegalMatch. He had many good reviews with a few bad ones. I thought nobody was perfect so I ignored the few bad ones.

    Here is what went on. He told me not to talk about certain details in the court. And he told me all these small details would be covered by the agreement. Yet the details he made with my lawyer were the not the same he told me. And the details on the agreement is almost killing me. Later when I asked for his note, he refused to show it. I asked him to contact my ex-‘s lawyer, he said he couldn’t. Everything would be according to the transcript. And the transcript didn’t have details I talked with Mr. Prendergast because he told me not to talk about it on the court.

    After the court, he claimed he couldn't talk to my lawyer anymore (that was before I terminated our contract).

    He refused to give me an itemized sheet after I terminated the contract, writing “With regard to my time, you paid a non refundable retainer which etained my services. I can give you the cases law on this but I follows exactly what is needed. Therefore if you "fire me” you don't get "your money back" Many many people do that and that is why we have non refundable retainers. That basically is a scam and you are not the first person to try that.”

    So I wrote him this email “I had great memories. I remember how we signed the contract and how you didn't give me a copy with page numbers written by me. And you substituted with other papers and said it was because of printer problem. You said all the stuff on the substitute was the same as the original. I remember you said you would return what was left. You know what you did to trap me. And when I ask for a time sheet it is common sense not spam. Yes you are a lawyer and proof is what you count on. And that was why you took pictures that day. May God deal with you.” And to this he responded “you have a new attorney so I cannot speak to you.”

    He surely was not for me. Once he felt he secured the money from me, he avoided doing anything . I ended up in a situation like this: I need to move out in 2 weeks as set in the agreement but have no money to do so. My ex- actually earns $130K/year. We have a condo that was paid off. And I have no money to move because of Mr. Prendergast's service.

  4. Not fit to be anyone's lawyer

    Posted by Karie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had hired Kevin and he charged me very little to do my case... He knew how sensitive it was and I had to ask him how things were going then after about a week I would get a response and it would be very vague so I would ask what he meant and never get a response...he knew my husband was up for parole and I had a special needs child but it didnt seem to matter... He never volunteered any information and didn't want to do his job .... Having to hunt down your lawyer is not the way to get a divorce and they should explain what they mean in more detail if you don't understand....

  5. Trying to reach this Attorney ?

    Posted by Ben, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I've tried numerous times to get ahold of my attorney but. Still haven't got a call back, even after leaving several messages over 1-2 months. He is no longer in friendswood. I don't know where is current location / office is now. If you see him please have him check his voice messages and call me back.

  6. Great Attorney! :)

    Posted by Linda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used Kevin in 2010 for a Divorce case he was very attentive and acted on my request in a timely matter; however, I decided not to go through with it. In February of 2013 I contacted Kevin for the same reason and he not only remembered who I was but knew the situation surrounding my circumstances, now that is a great lawyer. This case was going to be complicated as my husband was suing me for custody of my children and tried to get dirt on me; if that wasn't enough Kevin was up against Jimmy Philips who rarely loses in Brazoria County. However, Kevin was AWESOME at the hearing, he knows his stuff and will stand up and object when there is BS coming from the other side. At the end of the day, I won custody of my children and my spouse had to pay child support. He went up against a very high dollar attorney and WON!!!! That just goes to show that it is not the money that wins you the case it's the ATTORNEY who has the knowledge! YEAH, Kevin.

  7. A satisfied client!

    Posted by Georgia, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Kevin represented us In a modification. We live 3 hours away and found him on legal match. We had read some of the reviews but dont always believe what is posted on the internet especially as there are many different personalities and sometimes you cant make everyone happy. We met with him and felt comfortable with him. He handled our issue and was very professional with us. I am sure we will be using him again. Thanks again Kevin for the great work you did in court. We were very impressed with him in the court room. Brazoria county is very slow moving with there court cases so now that we know how they work we will stick with him as our attorney.

  8. Mr. Prendergast was my attorney in my divorce 3 months before I finally caught on to him

    Posted by Louella, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Prendergast became my attorney of record in my divorce, Feb., 2009. By May he had allowed me to be in contempt of court and fined $800,00 because he had not filed my discovery which I had filled out and hand carried to him so it would be on time for the court deadline. I had given Mr. Prendergast an external drive which had information off my husband's and my home pc. I found out from my husband after the divorce was final, that the information was given to my husband. Prendergast was my attorney a little over three months and I replaced him. When my new attorney and I met with my husband and his attorney to give my deposition, Prendergast showed up at the invitation of my husband and his attorney, Mr. Schmitz.They wanted him. Prendergast to be the one questioning me. My new attorney didn't allow it. Both Mr. Schmitz and Mr. Prendergast insisted upon Mr. Prendergast being able to ask me questions. The contract that was presented to me at that time, which was supposed to be the one I signed when I hired Mr. Prendergast. I state in my deposition was not the one being presented to me at the time of my deposition. At the time I hired Mr. Prendergast there something of a contract but when Prendergast left to go make copies of the contract in another room, he returned saying it was out of ink and he would mail it to me. I since have seen a copy of what I was supposed to have signed and it is not my signature. My daughter in-law was with me at the initial meeting, he has her name on the contract as well. She said she did not sign it either. Prendergast filed a suit against me for attorney's fees of $54,000.. Being in the middle of a very nasty divorce my attorney representing me in that case advised me to settle. I felt I owed him nothing, he had already gotten $2,500. and nothing was done to my benefit. I settled for $25,000. Hiring Prendergast for my divorce attorney cost me a lot of money, he worked more with my husband and his attorney then he did with me. It was impossible to get him to settle down and talk about my case, it was always about something he had done or was doing, not concerning what was going on with my divorce yet I was charged for the time as if it was legit. I regret I feel it necessary to write such a review but time has passed enough that I can look at the situation without emotion and believe I owe it to those in the future that might want to hire Mr. Prendergast of my experience with this attorney. At first glance, he appears almost to be on the same order as Andy Griffith was in Matlock. That surely is not the case.

  9. Good job at a fair price.

    Posted by James, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He did a good job for me at a fair price..

  10. happily divorced

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Prendergast.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was so pleased with the work of this lawyer that I decided I must write a review and was completly shocked when I read other reviews of Mr. Prendergast that contained less than happy review ,however for me the experience that I had was extremly pleseant. I was going through a nasty divorce and having an easy going level headed attorney was definatly a breath of fresh air in the end Mr. Prendergast helped get me a lot of my husbands money and I couldn't be more thrilled with the out come of my divorce.