Shelly A. Merchant’s Reviews

Shelly A. Merchant

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A great and dependable attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ms Merchant helped me with my divorce case, she went above and beyond to help me. I would definitely rehire Ms Merchant, especially recommend her to y'all. She's very polite, and is always keeping you posted on your case. Thank you very much Ms Merchant.

  2. Great lawyer

    Posted by Evangelina, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Family matter.

    Shelly is a great lawyer. She is very helpful, understanding, and responsible. Since the first time I met her for my divorce case she was so focused on my case that I felt she was more than my lawyer. She helped me understand what my rights were and I felt comfortable with her and her staff. If Shelly was not available, her staff would do what they could to keep me informed. I really enjoyed the office atmosphere and I have recommended her to my friends.

  3. Awesome Attorney!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly 1-6 months ago.
    • Shelly handled my Family matter.

    Shelly Merchant has represented me on multiple cases and has always been very professional and accessible. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Mrs. Merchant has always taken her time to explain any questions I have had about my cases. She is a great lawyer and I highly recommend her.

  4. The worst attorney ever!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly 1-3 years ago.

    Shelly Merchant does not know what she is doing. She gives you very bad advice concerning your case. She overcharges and charges you for services not obtained for you. I had to hire another attorney to take over my case.

  5. Outstanding Results and Communication

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Merchant was able to help retain custody of my three children and I received Sole custody. She helped every step of the way and was strong and decisive in court. She is very knowledgeable and impressive.

  6. Surprised about some of these reviews

    Posted by Pat, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly more than 3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm surprised to see the negative reviews. I have hired Shelly for several legal matters within the past years and have never been disappointed. She does a wonderful job and her staff is also great. She seems to have a busy practice, but she returns my calls or emails within a reasonable time if not the same day. I felt her fees were reasonable and I was never charged for work she didn't do.

  7. A for Awesome

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly more than 3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shelly is extremely knowledgeable about family law and did an outstanding job with my case. Her office staff was also very helpful and professional and did whatever they could to answer my questions when needed. Her fees are quite reasonable for the work performed and I would certainly recommend her to anyone!

  8. Terrible experience.

    Posted by Astonished., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly more than 3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Shelly to handle my divorce and that was the worst thing I could have ever done. I ended up retaining another attorney to complete my divorce Shelly was a complete waste of money and time. She then had the nerve to bill me for services not provided once my divorce was complete by another attorney. I have filed a complaint with the Texas legal Misconduct board.

  9. Very Merry Christmas for a Single Dad!

    Posted by Brandon, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly more than 3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Merchant and her staff were very professional. Even though I was 1,200 miles away from Houston her office kept me informed and gave me a strong since of comfort. Any missed calls or emails were promptly returned by Shelly or one of her staff. Shelly was with me at all my court appearances. With her help, my Christmas in 2010 was very memorable and a blessing.

  10. CHOOSE SOMEONE ELSE!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shelly Merchant.
    • I hired Shelly more than 3 years ago.
    • Shelly handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Choose to someone else! I should have gone with my gut feeling upon meeting her and not chosen her to be my attorney. She is very impersonal and seems to only care about how much money she can squeeze out of me.

    My visitation case has been reset 5 times already for various excuses of hers . She did not even show up for court one of those times and charged me anyway. She still has not given me a spending report for my retaining fee.

    I plan on reporting her to the State Bar of Texas for many reasons.

281-476-9929