Ruth L. Vernier’s Reviews

Ruth L. Vernier

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent results from a hard working attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.

    I was seeking a modification to a current agreement which I knew going in was difficult but as a Mother knew was in the best interests of my child. I met with Ruth and her team, explained my situation and they made me very comfortable in pursuing my modification as well as informing me this was going to be a difficult case. The case ended up going to trial after almost 10 months, 2 mediations and a temporary hearing. At the end Ruth was able to obtain an excellent result.
    Throughout the entire process I always knew she had the best interests of my child in mind and that she truly felt the anguish I was going through. She and her team really understood the emotional toll these cases take and always were very comforting. Ruth was always honest with me as we did have some bumps in the road and she had no issue explaining to me how difficult this was going to be. She never pressured me into any situation and it was always my decision on how to proceeed. Furthermore, Ruth always was prepared with the information I gave to her and her team.
    I would highly recommend Ruth to anyone.

  2. If you need a lawyer who will take your money without working for you, hire Ruth Vernier

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Ruth Vernier when she replied to my email as I was looking for a lawyer in a divorce case. She said she would be happy and proud to represent me. For the first few months she did a mediocre job, but after that all she did was collect as much money from me as she could. Requests from my ex's attorney were forwarded to me w/o comment. She did no investigation of my ex's banking, spending, or outrageous claims from my ex's lawyer. But that was just batting practice.

    Six weeks before the final mediation she wrote me an email saying she was dropping me as a client. Aghast, I asked her why and she told me she was ill and couldn't work. But in reality I found she routinely went to the office. She even said I was "to call them and let them know she wouldn't be at the mediation." Me? The client?? Call who? She also promised me she would help me find a lawyer who would take my case. That was also an untruth. Neither she nor her paralegal lifted a finger to help me.

    In one conversation she admitted to me that she felt she probably should not have taken my case, some 2 years prior. She told me this 6 weeks before the final mediation. Does that sound right to you? It didn't to me either. Apparently, she has done this before.

    Reader, if this is the type of attorney you want, go ahead and hire her. You will get what I got.

  3. Ruth did a great job!

    Posted by John, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ruth and her team did a fantastic job on my case. They saved me a ton of time but more importantly they got me the result I was looking for. I highly recommend them!

  4. Best Attorney in Houston!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have already recommended this attorney to many people and will continue to do so. From the very beginning when I was very emotional, Ruth showed caring, compassion and the sensitivity that I needed during a very difficult time in my life.

    I am a man who was in the middle of a custody battle, which in the state of Texas usually always goes to the woman. Ruth was instrumental in helping me win my case and most importantly always had my childrens best interest at heart. She even went as far as giving them gifts, as she was very compassionate to them and what they were going through as well.

    Ruth was very professional in all that she did, and always kept me very informed answering all of my communications very promptly. There were many times she got in touch with me before I could contact her. Every step of the way, she kept me updated on what was going on and what the charges would be. All charges where explained to me before I hired her, which to me was very important.

    Ruth's knowledge and contacts within the legal industry will far exceed your expectations. She is straight forward and honest with staunch uprightness and sterling character.

    There are many attorneys out there who are just looking to get paid and do not represent their clients with 100% of their ability. Ruth cares about her clients and their cases more than anything else, and when it comes to money I cannot begin to explain how much her help meant to me.

    Ruth is worth way more than what she charges. If you are reading this and looking for an attorney, look no further, go talk to Ruth Vernier. Tell her you heard she eats red meat for breakfast.

    My case was not the first custody case for a man she has won, and it certainly will not be the last.

  5. Custody Case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ruth has been there for us on every time we needed We have had to be in court multiple times due to opposing side coming after us. She has risen to the occasion each time. She is awesome and wins over and over!

  6. Best money can buy

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ruth, Brooke and their team did a fine job during my divorce proceeding. Ruth was compassionate and took time to understand the pain I was experiencing during the time I filed. She is a pitbull and a solid advocate for her client...as long as you stay current on your fees :-) She sometimes did more than I thought was necessary which got pretty expensive pretty fast but again, Ruth, Brooke and team are rock stars and will represent you aggressively and ethically.

  7. Do not hire this attorney!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a former client of Ruth Vernier, I was very disappointed in her as an attorney. I did not like that my case was dragged out for over a year and then the day before our court appearance she requested a meeting to advise me I should mediate my case. I do not feel she or anyone in her office had my best interest at heart. In addition, Mrs. Vernier and her paralegal do not return phone calls or emails in a timely matter. I DO NOT recommend this attorney or any other attorney in her office.

  8. awesome

    Posted by Melanie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I thought Ruth was an amazing advocate. She knew how to handle opposing counsel and the judge and I had an amazing outcome to my matter. I would highly recomend Ruth to any one!!

  9. Bad Lawyer don't hire her

    Posted by Angie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ruth Vernier and her staff gave the court sworn affidavits about meeting with me to discuss our family matter. However, I have never meet with this attorney nor her staff as I was out of state. She met with my husband only. This misrepresentation hurt my case. And the advice she gave my husband was poor, as I eventually went pro se went I got back to Texas and was awarded the judgment I was seeking. I would not recommend this lawyer to anyone.

  10. No Words

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Vernier.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met with Mrs. Vernier twice. Both times we entered her office, she
    sat with her legs crossed up on the corner of her desk and seemed
    more interested in the questions she asked than my responses.
    I scheduled a second meeting a few weeks later and I would have expected her to at least review my file in order to be prepared. Well,
    she thought my Grandson was my daughter's husband and that my Daughter's husband was my husband. Absolutely ridiculous not to take the time to get your facts straight. She gave me the impression that she only became a lawyer just to be able to say that she is a lawyer. I ended up walking out of her office because she kept
    talking over me and was more interested in hearing herself speak
    than my answers. It was very disappointing, but there are attorneys
    available that are in the profession to truly help people.