John Thomas Black’s Reviews

John Thomas Black

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Tom Black Cares And Has The Talent And Resources To Help You Solve Your Financial Problems

    Posted by Chuck Newton,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.

    I am not one of Tom Black's clients. I am a bankruptcy litigation attorney with my own practice. I have had the opportunity to work with Tom Black over the years. The main thing for me is that he cares about the financial needs and situations of his clients. Then he backs this up with a unique and detailed understanding of the law, the rules and the courts in which he practices. And, he does so in an efficient and diligent manner that strives to get the work assigned to him completed as flawlessly and quickly as possible. That really has to be appreciated because when someone or some family needs bankruptcy legal representation, it is generally urgent. The bankruptcy process can be technically complicated and confusing, and a client has to have faith that all possible measures have been explored, explained, and are being effectively utilized on his or her behalf. That faith is justified in regard to J. Thomas Black & Associates. In addition to all of this, what I appreciate overall is that Tom Black conveys a sense of calm that the financial situation, no matter how bad, frustrating or anxious can be temporary and, with some effort, will work out for the best. This calm comes from the good work he, and his office, does every day in every case.

  2. Unbelievable knowledge and experiance.

    Posted by Ziad Kaakouch, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    After meeting with Mr. Black, I felt at ease and the heavy weight had been lifted off my shoulders. He is a wealth of knowledge and many years of experiance. The best part for me was when he did not know something, he let me know and researched my needs and requirements and came back to me with answers. His staff are bar none the best complement to Mr. Black's experiance. They kept me informed on the steps and up to date on the process. Great experiance with a great team even though it was for bankruptcy.

    Thank you Mr. Black and staff for the making my life a bit easier.

  3. Review Mr. John Thomas Black and his staff

    Posted by Hong, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Mr. Black and his staff are great and very helpful. They handled our chapter 7 bankruptcy case with their responsibility and accuracy of services. We are so happy to hire them.

  4. Best Attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    My husband and I went to Mr. Black after a very bad experience. Mr. Black and his team made sure we knew what our options were and guided us through the process. Once everything was handled Mr. Black and his team have always been available for questions we had/have. If they receive anything notifications they make sure they notify us and provide us copies of everything. Nothing is a secret.

  5. John Black is AWESOME!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John Black did an excellent job providing legal advice on my case and explaining the court process. He provided me with immediate feedback to any questions and concerns that I had about my case. He kept me informed about my case through emails and phone calls and he made sure my rights and privacy was protected. He was there to defend me when creditors violated my rights. I highly recommend John Black. He has done a FANTASTIC job!

  6. Best Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Attorney in Houston

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have consulted with many Chapter 7 bankruptcy attorneys in Houston, and by far, Mr. Black is the best. He is very knowledgeable and he guided me through the process every step of the way. He is honest, direct, and I’m very happy with the overall process; Best of all, his fees is very reasonable.

  7. Thankful

    Posted by Foster, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very glad to find help with J. Thomas Black and staff. The experience was professional and I appreciate all the informed communication and commitment to my case. I can not thank you and staff enough.

  8. YOU SAVED MY LIFE...THANK YOU!!!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My life jacket because I could no longer swim!!!!
    I am eternally grateful for the knowledge and willingness that God has given to Mr. Black and his staff. Words could not express the gratitude that I have for their kindness, thoughtfulness and understanding of my situation. YOU SAVED MY LIFE!!!

  9. Life Saver!!!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Black and staff were extremely efficient. They kept me well informed. He made a difficult ordeal much more tolerable.

  10. Excellent Service and Peace of Mind

    Posted by John, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Black.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We received excellent service and peace of mind that blessed us in our time of crisis. We are suffering from an adjustment in our income due to the current economic climate. We went from over $150,000+ annual income to about $110,000. We were fearful of loosing our home and cars. Thank God we saw Attorney John Thomas Black's website. We checked out other attorneys, but Attorney John Thomas Black made us feel secure in knowing we had options that would work for us. Attorney John Thomas Black and his staff, especially Rob took care of us. His office responded to our messages and e-mails within one business day or less. The law office usually responded the same day they received my communication. We are blessed to still have our home and cars, plus we are about $100,000 less in debt. We hated having to file bankruptcy. However, once we accepted bankruptcy as one of our legal rights as a US citizen to have a fresh start we began to release a lot of stress immediately.

Call now for a free consultation.

713-772-8037