Luke Aaron Williams’s Answers

Luke Aaron Williams

Fort Worth Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 4
  1. Two 1st time DWI convictions possible?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Luke Aaron Williams
    2. M Elizabeth Gunn
    3. James C Forslund
    3 lawyer answers

    For the State to convict you of the Class A Misdemeanor of DWI-Second, the first must have become a final conviction before you picked up your second. It is possible that you can get two convictions for DWI-1st (both being class B misdemeanors). If you are convicted on both, your third DWI will still be a felony charge (DWI-3rd). You should hire an attorney to evaluate your cases and try to get at least one of the cases dismissed (or both depending on the circumstances).

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. How do I fight a speeding ticket in Texas

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Luke Aaron Williams
    2. George K. Mazmanian
    3. Samuel E. Bassett
    3 lawyer answers

    I am an attorney in Texas with experience specifically as a former prosecutor (including prosecuting traffic citations). You have the right to take any case against you to trial and require the State prove their case beyond a reasonable doubt. While that right may exist, I would disagree that it's always better to fight the ticket. If you think that the facts of your specific case warrant taking it to trial (i.e., the citation is incorrect or there is some other legal defense to your...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. What is a good defense for aggravated robbery charge?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Luke Aaron Williams
    1 lawyer answer

    Texas Penal Code Sec. 29.03 states that "(a) A person commits an offense if he commits robbery as defined in Section 29.02,and he: (1) causes serious bodily injury to another; (2) uses or exhibits a deadly weapon; or (3) causes bodily injury to another person or threatens or places another person in fear of imminent bodily injury or death, if the other person is: (A) 65 years of age or older; or (B) a disabled person." The State can proceed against parties to an offense and charge the party...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  4. I was recently arrested for Criminal Trespassing & Neglect/Abandonment Endangerment to a child in Denton Tx,

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. M Elizabeth Gunn
    2. Luke Aaron Williams
    3. Cynthia Russell Henley
    3 lawyer answers

    You should contact an attorney about this matter. Criminal Trespass can be either a Class A or B misdemeanor depending on the specific facts of your case. That means on the Criminal Trespass alone you could face up to a year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. On top of the Criminal Trespass, Abandoning or Endangering a Child with the intent to return for the child is a State Jail Felony. With a State Jail Felony, you could face between 6 months and 2 years in a State Jail facility and up to a $10,...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  5. I have a warrant for a class c, theft under 50 in Texas. How should I go about removing it from my record with limited funds?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Luke Aaron Williams
    2. Cynthia Russell Henley
    3. Richard C. Southard
    3 lawyer answers

    If you have a warrant out for your arrest, you'll have to contact the court in the jurisdiction where the citation was issued and find out how much it will cost to post bond to get the warrant lifted. The court will require you to post some amount as bond (usually the close to the maximum cost on the citation) before the warrant will be lifted. It's likely that if you allowed this citation to go to warrant, you were also issued another citation for failure to appear for court (incurring another...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  6. My boyfriend was out on probation for robbery had 60 days left and got charged with poss cs pg 1 <1g.

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Luke Aaron Williams
    2. Cynthia Russell Henley
    2 lawyer answers

    The answer to your question depends on how much underlying time he pled to. That would be the maximum amount of time the judge could sentence him to serve if he revokes his probation. If he is on deferred adjudication for the offense, then the judge has the full range of punishment to consider when assessing how much time he will be sentenced to. Also, his probation has to be revoked. It is not automatically revoked even when a person picks up a new charge (although it is extremely likley...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  7. A friend of mine was arrested for theft <1500 2/prev convictions and it was set at state jail felony whats gonna happen?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley
    2. Luke Aaron Williams
    2 lawyer answers

    If you know what specific court the theft case is in, you should contact that court to find out when the next court date is scheduled. Because it is a state jail felony, it will be in a District court. In the meantime, you should contact an attorney to have him advise you of the process and the procedures that will take place over the coming months and to advise you of your options under the law.

  8. Arrested with no conviction dismissed case but on arrest record shows the class A misdemeanor shows up on arrest record?

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. M Elizabeth Gunn
    2. Cynthia Russell Henley
    3. Luke Aaron Williams
    3 lawyer answers

    You can file a petition for expunction of the arrest record. Article 55.01 governs expunctions. You would need an attorney to evaluate whether you would be able to file an expunction immediately or if you would need to wait. The new expunction guidelines allow for a Class A misdemeanor to be expunged after only a year has passed.

  9. Is intrapment against the law

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Ben M. Sifuentes Jr.
    2. Luke Aaron Williams
    2 lawyer answers

    Entrapment is a defense to prosecution in Texas. Texas Penal Code Section 8.06 states that, "it is a defense to prosecution that the actor engaged in the conduct charged because he was induced to do so by a law enforcement agent using persuasion or other means likely to cause persons to commit an offense. Conduct merely affording a person an opportunity to commit an offense does not constitute entrapment."

  10. Worried mom... Son received 2 tickets.. Indecent exposure & urinating in public

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. Luke Aaron Williams
    2. Cynthia Russell Henley
    2 lawyer answers

    If he was just cited for class c misdemeanors, he won't have to register as a sex offender. If he paid the amount to the court as bond, then you can hire an attorney to fight the citations. If he entered a plea of guilty and paid the fines, they will be on his record. If he received deferred adjudication, he may be able to get them expunged. You should consult with a local attorney so that he can analyze the specific facts and circumstances of your son's cases.